Seeing beauty in simple things

What I love about photography is how we can bring out subtle details  we don’t always notice.  How we can reveal and really see the essence, the uniqueness,  the intricate perfection and exquisiteness of simple things like branches and weeds.  And sometimes, when we look with the eyes of the heart, perceiving the pureness and the spark of life within them.  How sublime is mother nature, how interconnected we are with her.  And us and these little branches and weeds have something in common. We come from the same source…

#cedar #branches #cèdre

#tree branches #branches d'arbres

#tree branches #branches d'arbres

#weeds

A beautiful week to you dear friends :)

Jocelyne

75 comments on “Seeing beauty in simple things

  1. Joe says:

    Nicely done Jocelyne :D delicate branches with a powdery coating. Have a great evening.

  2. It is so lovely, isn’t it, the way photography encourages us to look more closely and with Divine eyes? I love these delicate portraits of subjects which might otherwise be overlooked.

    • Jocelyne says:

      Divine eyes, I love that Vivian, you found the perfect words ! I would never return to the way I looked at the world before, when I wasn’t into photography. I see so much more details than I used to now.
      Thank you for your visit and beautiful comment Vivian ! :)

  3. Jenna says:

    I feel just the same way. The rich beauty and depth of intricate detail that you can pick up with a camera makes me love nature even more. Macro photography is one of my favorites, and a macro lens is on my wish list. I love how just a plain old green leaf can look like an intricate map full of textures and colors when photographed closely.

    As always, your pictures are most excellent! I especially love the first one. It’s so frosty and cold that I can almost smell the fresh air. Beautiful post! :)

    • Jocelyne says:

      Thank you thank you Jenna ! I hope you can have a macro lens for hours of fun in nature. Your love of nature shows through your words and you certainly look at nature with the eyes of the heart. Thank you for your beautiful comment !
      Have a great week-end Jenna :)

  4. You have truly captured the essence of seeing deeply into nature Jocelyne, and when someone can see and resonate with it that deeply, as you do, the camera listens to your heart. This is a lovely post and the images are beautiful.

    • Jocelyne says:

      I am so touched by your kind and beautiful comment Rick, this is so generous of you. “The camera listens to your heart”, these are such beautiful and poetic words. I went to your blog and saw what an amazing photographer you are and I am honored to have you here. I will return to your blog to look at it more deeply. Thank you so much for your visit and wonderful comment :)

  5. Jocelyne, What beautiful pictures and post.

  6. Anne Jutras says:

    Superbe délicatesse dans ces images, Jocelyne! Et ton texte est très véridique, la nature sait nous éblouir si on sait l’observer.

  7. Meho says:

    C’est une belle pensée ainsi que de très belles images ma chère Jocelyne. De la délicatesse d’un bout à l’autre! Il me semble que ça faisait longtemps que tu n’avais pas posté… Bonne soirée!

    • Jocelyne says:

      Quel plaisir ton commentaire, merci beaucoup Meho !
      Il y a presque toujours trois semaines entre mes posts. C’est ce qui me convient le mieux. Éditer mes photos demande beaucoup de temps (je suis trop perfectionniste !) Et comme j’en ai toujours plus qu’une, c’est looooong !! Et plus j’ai des logiciels de traitement d’images, plus c’est long.
      Bonne soirée à toi aussi :)

  8. Céline says:

    Que de beauté et de douceur dans ces photos Jocelyne!! Moi aussi je suis entièrement d’accord avec tes mots: la nature nous offre tellement de splendeurs quand on prend le temps de poser son regard attentif dessus!
    P.S: j’ai ouvert un nouveau blog dédié uniquement à mes photos (de la nature principalement); si ça t’intéresse, c’est par ici: http://www.detousmesyeux.wordpress.com

    • Jocelyne says:

      Un gros merci Céline pour ton beau commentaire :)
      Certainement que ça m’intéresse ton nouveau blogue que je vais visiter très bientôt !
      Passe une très belle fin de semaine :)

  9. montucky says:

    I like all of these images, but the first one is truly elegant!

  10. candide57 says:

    c’est délicat et super beau!!!

  11. Belle semaine à toi aussi ! Quelle légèreté, délicatesse se dégage des photos 2 et 3… Encore une jolie galerie. Biz

  12. Lisa Gordon says:

    You have shown this so beautifully here, Jocelyne.
    Stay warm and have a wonderful day.

  13. Really pretty photographs Jocelyne :) I agree with you; it’s nice to be able to look deep in to the kind of things we might ordinarily ignore. Your pictures keep me looking!

  14. Your photos are breathtaking, Jocelyne. They’re like poetry without the words.

    -Karen

    • Jocelyne says:

      Oh… thank you so very much Karen ! This is such a beautiful compliment, I am very touched. A happy week-end to you and I will take the time to visit your blog :)

  15. David says:

    Beautiful photos, Jocelyne. Iced and frosted branches are probably one of the few things I like the most about winter.

    • Jocelyne says:

      Thank you David ! I agree, ice and frost creates wonderful landscapes but not so wonderful on our roads. It was raining a lot yesterday and now we are covered in ice…
      A beautiful Sunday to you David :)

  16. Beautiful photographs, Jocelyne. Fantastic use of bokeh and depth of field. Seeing the beauty in simple things and then translating it into photographs is not something everyone can do. You do it so very well. It’s always a pleasure looking at your photographs.

    • Jocelyne says:

      Each time I receive a comment from you, it’s like receiving a wonderful gift ! Thank you so much Uday for your friendship and beautiful comments. Have a lovely Sunday :)

  17. JimR says:

    Superbly simple and superbly captured, Jocelyne. It never ceases to amaze me that the simple things in life and nature are always the most beautiful, if you take the time to look for it.

    • Jocelyne says:

      So true Jim, there’s much beauty in simple things, beauty is everywhere around us. Thank you so much for your kind words ! Have a beautiful week ahead :)

  18. Wonderful images Jocelyne :) I like how the green peaks through the white of the snow in your first photo and the nice separation from the background with your choice in depth of field. The monochrome look to the blue toned images are beautiful and invoke a feeling of the cold. I also like the golden colored image and the way the focus falls off into the background. I hope you dress nice and warm for these winter treks as you discover life in nature :)

    • Jocelyne says:

      I’m glad to hear from you Jeffrey :) It’s great to hear what you liked in these photos, especially with the blue images, it is exactly what I wanted these images to convey… the cold ! Thank you for your appreciation of my photos and for really looking at their details, it means a lot.
      I do dress warm but with all this cold I don’t go out much. -30°C is way too cold for me. And when it’s not that cold it’s raining. Crazy weather… I heard in the news it is also very cold in your area. I hope you dress warm too !
      Thanks a lot Jeffrey and have a nice evening :)

      • Thanks Jocelyne, I’m glad you are staying warm and not going out in the super cold weather. It’s been very similar in Michigan, but last night and today there has been lots of rain which will go back to snow soon, lol. I stayed in as well for the super cold days as much as I could, so I’m with you on that :) Hopefully things will go back to being a normal winter soon for all of us. Next time I go out I’ll be thinking of you :)

      • Jocelyne says:

        It’s raining here too, lots and lots of rain and +2°C… This winter is making it very difficult for photography. I was supposed to send my camera away for repair :( but I was waiting because I wanted wintry images. I should have sent it in December when it was too cold. I’m suppose to go out tomorrow with my camera if it’s not raining too much. I’ll think of you too Jeffrey !
        Have a nice week-end :)

  19. David Patterson says:

    Jocelyne,

    These are all incredibly delicate and beautiful.

    • Jocelyne says:

      What a joy your beautiful comment David, thank you very much !
      I’m so behind in your blog posts, I saw you did some beautiful posts, I’ll be back soon, I promise ! :)

  20. elisaruland says:

    Jocelyne, you have such a good eye for delicate beauty. You make the cold look inviting!

  21. tomwhelan says:

    Simple, spare, and very lovely. Beautiful snowy images, Jocelyne!

  22. Phil Lanoue says:

    Seeing beauty in simple things is right! These are terrific!

  23. Elina says:

    So beautiful and delicate, Jocelyne you have a very good eye for seeing beauty in simple things… and great skills to photograph them in such a wonderful, tender and delicate way. Really lovely, both the photos and your thoughts! :)

    • Jocelyne says:

      A big thank you for your beautiful compliments Elina ! It’s the first time I have the word tender in describing my photos. What I hear most is the word softness to describe them, especially my flower photography, but I love the word tender and it’s true that they kind of look tender :)
      Have a beautiful week Elina !

  24. janina says:

    Happy New Year, Jocelyne! A lovely first post. I love the first image….you’ve captured the light and yet it has a snowy look…beautiful!

    • Jocelyne says:

      Happy New Year to you too Janina ! The first image is my favourite, it had a little frost on the leaves that reflected the light beautifully. I’m glad you like it too :)
      A happy week to you Janina :)

  25. Kathleen says:

    I love these “frosty” images Jocelyne!! Your Macro photography is inspiring to me!!!

  26. Sublime is the word, indeed, and what makes this photos so beautiful in their simplicity. I love the soft colours and the limited colour palette. My favourite picture is the second one.

  27. Jocelyne says:

    It doesn’t takes much to appreciate simplicity, only an open heart and a keen eye :)
    It’s always a joy to read your comments Otto, thank you very much !
    Have a beautiful week-end :)

  28. And happy winter abstractions to you. The muted yet still complementary colors in that first one strike me as especially appealing.

    • Jocelyne says:

      Thank you very much Steve. It is true that these looks like abstractions. It was a very cloudy day when I took the photo you like. Even if there wasn’t much light, it seemed to work for this photo. Thanks for visiting and have a nice week :)

  29. Those photos are all very beautiful…for me, they evoke a mood of peace and contentment.

    • Jocelyne says:

      Thank you so much Jane. I really like to know what my images can evoke as it can be so different from one person to another. Peace and contentment are feelings we do need in our busy lives, I’m glad if my images could bring you this, even if only for a few moments.
      Have a beautiful week-end Jane :)

  30. Jane Lurie says:

    Jocelyn, Exquisite images and words. Practicing the art of seeing shines through in your post. Thanks.

  31. Anyluckypenny says:

    Very classic and beautiful images Jocelyn! It’s really lovely how the pictures look so soft and serene it almost feels like you are there :)

    • Jocelyne says:

      That’s so sweet of you to say that Adri ! Some personality traits always shows through a photo. It’s amazing how we can sometimes perceive people just by looking at an image. I’m glad you could perceive a bit of me here :)

  32. mtphotoii says:

    Wonderful first picture!!!

    So snowy beautiful!

  33. Ajeeth Boaz says:

    Great depth and tone in every capture…

  34. ah, simple yet so complicated, interesting blog!

I'm always happy to read your comments :) Vos commentaires me font toujours plaisir :)

