Behind the scene of an image

I love this photo so much.  Yet, there’s nothing spectacular about it, nothing to be amazed of.  Only a barn and a snow-covered field.  But, for me, it represents something that I really love.  The country.

IMGP5181 Exposure blending red.900  tout le kit et grange -noir 2

I must love this photo a lot to have spent 6 hours only to remove two trees in the foreground.  These trees were spoiling the composition.  They were going all the way from the bushes to the barn, to the tree and into the sky.  When removing the trunks and branches it would leave some marks so I had to work these areas by drawing branches in the bushes, planks on the side and lines on the roof of the barn and many of the tiny little branches on the tree.  I had to paint colours in the sky and shadows on the snow near the barn.  I knew this would be very time-consuming getting rid of those trees and at first I didn’t want to work on this, but I just couldn’t let it go…   So it was many hours to restore this image and only then I could edit the rest of it.   This image is a blending of three different exposures using luminosity masks in Photoshop.  Christopher O’Donnell wrote a tutorial on how to work with luminosity masks, click here to read it.  It didn’t go exactly as how he explains it in his tutorial so I’ll have to practice this technique again.

I also love this photo with a more vintage look

IMGP5181 Exposure blending red.900 sharp 2 vintage DJpeg - noir 2

We’re having a little break from the cold spell, here’s a photo of Winny playing in the snow during one of these polar colds.

IMGP5093 PS CE Red.900 sharp 2 + clair 3

And since I’m ending this post with a photo of my dog, I’m sharing a link to a wonderful slide show from professional photographer Julie Clegg’s from Bailey & Banjo.  If you love dogs this will put a smile on your face, guaranteed !  (Thanks Janina for sending me this link :) )  Click here for the slide show.

I wish you all a wonderful week.  Be happy, be sweet, laugh a lot, smile and dance in the rain or in the snow !

Jocelyne

73 comments on “Behind the scene of an image

  1. Joe says:

    The reason you love the photo is because it’s a really nice shot, the composition is great and the scene is a classic winter photo. I bet a lot of people will respond positively. Winny is so cute. Have a great day Jocelyne :D

    • Jocelyne says:

      Thank you so very much Joe ! So glad you like this photo. Before publishing this post I thought “Well, I’m posting, again, another barn image, I hope people won’t get tired of seeing barns in this blog ! ”
      So I am doubly thrilled that you liked it. Have a great day too Joe :)

  2. I looked at the tutorial, you did much better job, Great photograph.

  3. oneowner says:

    You did an excellent job in removing the trees. Very well done and, judging from the result, worth the effort.

  4. Gracie says:

    Excellent work, Jocelyne. It looks like all that hard work paid off in the end. I cannot tell where the trees were removed. It is nice to see some color in the sky as well. Your dog must love playing in the snow, I could tell :)

    • Jocelyne says:

      Oh yes, Winny adores playing in the snow ! I’m glad to hear you couldn’t tell where the trees were removed because me I can see it and I was wondering if others could too. Thank you so much for your kind words Gracie and have a good week :)

  5. Kim says:

    I love seeing what you see every day. Snow is not anything familiar with living in No. CA with 7o degree afternoons this January 2014 of no rain this entire month. VERY upsetting and scary drought announcement is our reality we are dealing with this coming year ahead.
    Not seeing the trees in the before picture that you said took 6 hours to remove in the after pic. Did you not post the original before? or am I missing something in my attention to details!!!????

    • Jocelyne says:

      Hi Kim :) I’m sorry to hear about the drought in your area. It has certainly to do with the global warming. One of my blogger friend was telling me that they had a heat record in the history of his country, in the south of Argentina, a few weeks ago I think. This blogal warming is scary. I hope you get rain soon so that the lovely gardens you create stay healthy.
      I didn’t post the before photo, only the after one, you’re not missing anything ! :)
      Thank you for your comment Kim and have a beautiful week :)

  6. Meho says:

    Superbe Jocelyne! Beau pitou aussi!

  7. Elina says:

    I admire your work on this photo Jocelyne! I can imagine it wasn’t easy. The result is so beautiful… I especially like the vintage version. A very peaceful and lovely winter scene. Winny looks great! Thank you for your kind wishes and have a wonderful week too! :)

  8. It is a lovely country image. Your hard work paid off. Thanks for sharing this photo and the link for some help for the rest of us who don’t “do” layer masks…

    • Jocelyne says:

      Thanks so much Jane ! I hope you find the tutorial interesting. I found some new ones, if you’re ever interested just let me know.
      Have a beautiful end of week :)

  9. Hi Jocelyne, Winny’s little snow mask is adorable.. I was very interested in your comments about removing the trees, as I once experimented with a software to remove objects but it was such a slow job, I thought I must be doing it incorrectly! It is so kind of you to share your resource, your technique and your truly lovely results. :-) Vivian

    • Jocelyne says:

      Thank you very very much Vivian ! I think it’s important to share the knowledge or resources I have. I had other photographers who helped me, privately by emails or in the internet and I was very grateful that they helped me, so if I can help others in return I’m glad !
      Oh no, you weren’t doing anything wrong with your software to remove objects, it’s a very long job ! Thanks again Vivian and have a beautiful end of week :)

  10. 1cruzdelsur says:

    Total Beauty, the opposite continent south of here had a severe heat record in the history of our country. 45 ° C for many days. It is always good to get your lovely world of art. ;)
    Carlos

  11. Jocelyne says:

    45°C… This is extreme ! The warmest I have ever experienced is 38°C. I would find it difficult to be in such a high temperature. I hope you have access to air conditioning or a pool or a lake to help you cooling down.
    Thank you so much Carlos for your compliment, and I’m very glad you still like my little world here :)

  12. elisaruland says:

    I admire the hard work and detail you put into your photograph, but I understand why…it is quite beautiful. I like the vintage version, too!

  13. Anne Jutras says:

    Bonjour Jocelyne, 6 heures de retouche représente tout un travail. Chapeau! Si tu t’intéresses aux luminosity mask, je te recommande les tutoriels de Chip Phillips qui explique les divers façon d’y parvenir. Pour 39$ ça vaut vraiment la peine! Voici le lien : http://www.chipphillipsphotography.com/Other/Videos/21945010_GhtPKD

    Un bel atmosphère se dégage de la première image. On y perçoit les vastes étendues de la campagne, comme je les aime! Et Winny est tout simplement adorable!

    • Jocelyne says:

      Oh ! Merci beaucoup Anne, je vais me l’acheter ce tutoriel, j’ai eu de la difficulté alors il sera vraiment le bienvenue. Quand j’ai vu Winny le visage couvert de glace j’ai couru à l’intérieur chercher ma caméra ! Merci pour ton beau commentaire et passe une très belle semaine :)

  14. Lisa Gordon says:

    I think this photograph goes way beyond spectacular, Jocelyne!
    It is truly so beautiful, and your edit on it is equally so
    What a wonderful job you did here.

  15. David Patterson says:

    You can never get enough photographs of barns… especially in winter when the scene is as pretty as this. Nice work… good looking dog too!

    • Jocelyne says:

      I’m glad to hear that David ! I never get tired of photographing barns, I have many photos and I could wallpaper a whole wall with them :)
      Thank you for your compliment, have a nice week !

  16. Jane Lurie says:

    Beautiful work, Jocelyne. Barns are wonderful.

  17. Jenna says:

    Wow, you do pour your heart into your photography! It was worth the work. Thank you for explaining what you did. I’ve got Photoshop, but haven’t learned about it in depth. Great post! Winny looks as happy as can be. :)

    • Jocelyne says:

      Thank you Jenna ! Trying to learn Photoshop in depth must take a lifetime ! But it’s such a great software. Winny loves to play in the snow, he’s a happy boy !
      Thanks again Jenna and have a beautiful week-end :)

  18. David says:

    A gorgeous rework. Unfortunately I’m not that patient.

  19. Excellent and very nice work :)

  20. That is such a beautiful photograph, Jocelyne. I like both versions but the vintage one is my favourite :) It has a timeless feel that makes it special. Six hours is a lot of time. I love your passion for creativity Jocelyne. Looking forward to seeing more from you!

    • Jocelyne says:

      Uday, I am so glad you like this photo. It’s true, it is a lot of time and sometimes I thought I’d never finish ! But in the end I was very pleased with the result. It’s good to know you’re looking forward to my posts. I am without my camera at the moment, I had to sent it away for repair so I don’t have much to share right now. I hope it will return soon !
      Have a great week Uday :)

  21. I agree with Joe, it’s really a nice photo. I love the dark sky, the serenity of the winter landscape. And it’s fun to read how you got to the result (and it would have been fun to see where you started). A beautiful picture of Winny.

    • Jocelyne says:

      You’re right Otto, I should have included the before photo, I don’t know why I didn’t :)
      Thank you for your lovely comment, it’s always nice to hear from you.
      Have a great week-end :)

  22. mtphotoii says:

    I love the dog and the snow! He looks so happy!

  23. Encore de bien jolies photos… Sur ma région de nord de la France, nous n’avons pas eu de neige à ce jour de l’hiver. Ton chien est trop rigolo, il a l’air de s’éclater dans le neige… Merci pour ton passage sur mon blog et tes commentaires élogieux, ils me font grand plaisir. J’aimerais obtenir ton adresse physique sur ma boîte mail, si tu es d’accord. Surprise, surprise! Bon dimanche. Biz. Evelyne

    • Jocelyne says:

      Merci beaucoup Evelyne ! Quel drôle d’hiver cette année. Nous ici c’est très froid et beaucoup de neige et je lis qu’en Finlande ils n’ont presque pas de neige, ce qui est vraiment rare pour ce pays nordique. Mon petit Winny adore jouer dans la neige mais toujours avec son ballon ! J’espère que tu as bien reçu mon adresse que je t’ai envoyée par courriel.
      J’espère que tu passes une belle semaine Evelyne :) xxx

  24. janina says:

    Trés bon, jocelyne; I wouldn’t do it! LOL. But, I understand the need. My pleasure for sending you the link. I still play the video whenever I’m on Google Plus; it fills my heart with joy! As to Winny, well, she has a look that says “Well, I always look like this when I’m in the snow; I’m the lion king here!” (she looks like a lion, to me)

    • Jocelyne says:

      Ha ! Ha ! Janina ! You’re so funny. It’s true, Winny looks like a lion now that you mentioned it :)
      Thanks for your visit Janina. I still have to respond to your email you send me a few weeks back. I’m sorry, I’m very behind in my emails !
      Bye Janina and have a beautiful week-end :)

  25. Aldenfalk says:

    really like those photos

  26. Jocelyne says:

    Thank you so much Gavin, thanks for visiting ! :)

  27. WOW quelle patience ! tes photos sont vraiment magnifiques ! je suis fan :) et ton Winny…trop chou. On manque cruellement de neige ici..c’est triste un hiver sans neige…alors que chez vous, vous croulez sous la neige. Dis, viens-tu bientôt en Europe ? Est-ce pour cette année ? Cette année, nous serons aux Etats-Unis du 18 avril au 9 mai (en Californie)…j’ai tellement hâte. Et nous espérons aller au Québec en 2015. Belle journée Jocelyne !

    • Jocelyne says:

      Allô Marie-Charlotte !! Je suis désolée du retard de ma réponse. Merci beaucoup, ça me fait bien plaisir ton commentaire et ta visite :)
      Oui c’est triste un hiver sans neige, j’espère que vous en aurez un peu bientôt. On a encore eu 30 cm hier ! OUI ! Je viens bientôt à Paris !!!! J’espère y aller en septembre cette année, 14 jours à Paris ! On pourra se voir ! J’ai trop hâte :) Wow, la Californie, et pour 3 semaines, quel beau voyage vous allez faire ! Tu vas revenir avec de belles photos :) Et le Québec en 2015, c’est super !
      Passe un très beau dimanche Marie-Charlotte :)

      • C’est une bonne nouvelle ca : Paris en septembre, tu vas surement avoir de jolies journées. N’hésite pas à m’écrire, nous pourrions aller boire un thé. Bon début de semaine et à très bientôt Jocelyne !

  28. Sheila says:

    I love the light in both barn photos. No wonder your photos look like paintings! That’s a lot of work to put in on them but with results like that, it’s worth it. Your snow dog really makes me smile. Dogs are so much fun.

  29. Paula says:

    The photo of your dog is priceless :)

  30. tomwhelan says:

    Beautiful scene, both versions look great – the line of fence posts and the light n the clouds add a lot. Hope you and your cute furry friend are staying warm!

    • Jocelyne says:

      Sorry for my late response and thank you so much Tom ! It always surprises me how sometimes simple objects can add to a photo, like the fence posts you mentioned in this photo.
      We are staying warm :) But today is very warm and it’s raining…
      Have a beautiful week end Tom :)

  31. wildsherkin says:

    I love that photo too! The vintage version is particularly lovely but even as it is, it has a timeless beauty. Just stunning. :)

  32. joshi daniel says:

    very cool and the dog shot is so lovely :)

I'm always happy to read your comments :) Vos commentaires me font toujours plaisir :)

