Winter scenes

I know many people are tired of winter at this point.  But me, I’m not !  I love winter and I think it’s as beautiful and great as summer.  Even when I freeze my hands and toes when I go cross-country skiing or venture out for photos opportunities.  And even when I get caught in a blizzard.  It happened a few weeks ago as I was taking a walk with my dog.  Suddenly, and out of the blue, strong winds were blowing and snow was swirling and lashing my face, I couldn’t see neither earth or sky and I could barely walk.  I was enveloped in a muffled, furious and  white swirling cloud and it felt as if I was in another world.  In some ways it was beautiful and I loved it all !  I love to feel nature’s pulse and power, it sharpens the senses and make me feel more alive.  I had a black coat and when I arrived home it was completely white  :)

Here are some winter scenes I captured recently.

St-Joseph de Beauce

St-Joseph de Beauce

A beautiful scene in front of my house

#winter scenery #paysage d'hiver #snow #neige

Hockey time !

#hockey #winter #hiver

St-Joseph de Beauce

DSC_2541 PS CE 14 red.900

I’m happy, It’s snowing today.  A beautiful week to all of you dear friends !

Jocelyne

57 comments on “Winter scenes

  1. Sheila says:

    Your photos show the beauty of the season. I still love the snow too. It’s magical and transforms everything. And those walks in it are sure to wake anyone up. I hope you’ll be able to enjoy more snowy walks before it all melts away!

    • Jocelyne says:

      Thank you very much Sheila ! It’s true, it transforms everything in such a beautiful way. More walks are to come for sure and when it starts to melt I’ll be ready for Spring ! Have a wonderful end of winter Sheila :)

  2. Gracie says:

    These are incredible, Jocelyne! Personally, I am ready for some warmer temps and dryer ground. Cabin fever is starting to set in. Haha!

  3. Meho says:

    Belles captures de l’hiver Jocelyne. Moi aussi j’adore les manifestations de la nature tel le vent et les orages… Bonne journée.

    • I like aal of the photos but I’d have to say that the last one with the red building is my favourite.
      It’s true what you say about winter. It certainly does awaken the senses.

      • Jocelyne says:

        It awakens the senses differently from Summer. Winter energize me more but Summer is sooo
        good ! But not when it’s +30. Thank you for your comment Jane, the red building is my favourite too. I’ll visit soon, I saw you had new posts :)

    • Jocelyne says:

      Il y a une telle énergie dans les tempêtes, c’est fascinant ! Merci beaucoup Meho, bonne journée à toi aussi :)

  4. Dear Jocelyne, Your photographs are so enticing, I am tempted to depart my balmy weather in search of your idyllic winter scenes… Lovely! Viv

    • Jocelyne says:

      I’m glad I could tempted you with these photos Vivian ! The scenery is so much different from where you are, and the temperatures also. Maybe you would find it a little cold here, it was -12°C today :) Thank you so much for your lovely comment and I hope you have a wonderful week end
      ahead :)

      • You have a beautiful heart and a beautiful aesthetic, evident as you share your life thorough your photographs and your writing. Today as I was driving home, I pictured you in the storm you described, with white snow on your black coat, a lovely bit of detail which is easy to visualize. It’s funny, isn’t it, how little bits of our blogging life permeate our daydreams? I hope you have a wonderful weekend, too, Jocelyne!

      • Jocelyne says:

        That is so true Vivian, some details stay in our minds and we picture them sometimes. That’s a great part about blogging, to get to know other people and see a little of their life’s through their stories and photos. Thank you again for your kind words Vivian and a beautiful Sunday to you and your husband :)

  5. Lisa Gordon says:

    I love the winter too, Jocelyne, but this past winter has been tough. I don’t like it when it is simply dangerous to go outside for very long because of how cold it is.

    These photographs are truly so beautiful. Each one is such a wonderful winter scene.

    Happy day to you, my friend. xo.

    • Jocelyne says:

      I agree with you Lisa, it’s not fun when it’s too cold. I have frozen my fingers so many times this winter as I was out photographing. It has been a really tough winter.
      Thank you very much for your lovely words on these photos, it means a lot.
      Have a beautiful week end Lisa, and stay warm ! :)

  6. photocris says:

    j’adore la maison rouge sur fond blanc ! ici pour ainsi dire pas d’hivers cette année …ça manque un peu ! pas de gelée ou très peu pas de neige …déjà des fleurs des abeilles et même des papillons ! le monde à l’envers !

    • Jocelyne says:

      Comme c’est bizarre Christian, pas d’hiver chez-vous. Pour ceux qui aiment l’hiver c’est très dommage. Déjà des fleurs et des papillons ! C’est fou !
      Merci pour ton commentaire Christian, ça me fait toujours plaisir de te lire ! :)

  7. Your words and photos make me love winter too Jocelyne :) I could imagine being in that blizzard :) And there’s nothing like standing in an open snow filled field and hearing the snow as it falls. Great work Jocelyne! :) xo

    • Jocelyne says:

      Thank you so very much Jeff :) Open fields are always windy. I like to hear the sound of the wind whistling in my ears, and feel the snowflakes on my face. Winter is great !
      Thank you for your kind words :) xo

  8. Breath-taking as always! :-)

  9. David says:

    A snow-covered bridge in front of your house, that’s very, very nice.

  10. Céline says:

    Comment ça Jocelyne tu n’es pas tannée de l’hiver toi??!! Haha, je plaisante! Tes photos lui rendent un bel hommage en tout cas!
    Moi aussi j’aime l’hiver mais après 3 mois, mon corps est fatigué de lutter contre le froid… J’imagine que lorsqu’on reste en campagne, on trouve ça plus le fun la neige fin février… en ville, ça devient moins beau et ça donne juste envie de passer à une autre saison.

    • Jocelyne says:

      Ah, ça c’est vrai Céline. La neige en ville à la fin de l’hiver c’est pas très beau à voir. Mais ça achève, encore un petit mois et c’est le printemps ! Moi aussi je suis un peu tannée du froid, pas de la neige mais du froid oui !
      Merci beaucoup pour ton beau commentaire qui me fait bien plaisir !
      Passe une très belle fin de semaine :)

      • Céline says:

        Ah me voilà rassurée Jocelyne!! Haha! ;-)
        Courage, plus qu’1 mois (ou 2!) avant l’arrivée du printemps au Québec!
        Bon WE à toi! ;-)

  11. Jenna says:

    You’ve got a good attitude about winter. I must admit, I am getting a bit tired of winter, but your post is a good reminder to encourage me to find the beauty in the snow. :)

    Excellent photos! Did you get your camera back and repaired? I hope it’s working properly for you again. I love the final photo. Such a great pop of red.

    • Jocelyne says:

      Hi Jenna, I’m sorry for my late response. I’m glad you liked these photos. When I saw this red house against all this white I had to take a photo, I couldn’t ignore it, it’s true that it’s such a great pop or colour. Yes, my camera is back and working properly, I am so relieved ! I hope you still like your camera and have fun with it. :)
      Have a great week Jenna, and will be going to your blog soon :)

  12. You really capture winter’s beauty, Jocelyne. I like your lovely view that includes the little bridge.

    Karen

  13. 1cruzdelsur says:

    As a road in time, a white road that other people do not see, that feed the soul vibrations of the walker. ;)

  14. I don’t think anyone can look at these photographs and say winters are not beautiful :) Excellent shots as always, Jocelyne. That third photograph is an absolute gem!

    • Jocelyne says:

      Oh, I’m so happy you like the hockey photograph Uday ! I like it a lot and didn’t had any comment on it. I rarely photograph people but I really like it. It’s different from what I do and it’s a nice change sometimes. It means a lot you like it. Thank you so much Uday for your wonderful comment. Have a beautiful week end :)

  15. Anne Jutras says:

    Jocelyne, tu as raison, l’hiver est une saison magnifique. En fait, pour en tirer profit au max il s’agit de bien s’habiller. Rien de pire que d,avoir froid, surtout aux doigts, n’est-ce pas? Des chauffes mains aident à les garder au chaud. Tes photos superbes avec cette touche bien personne qui te représente si bien. Même si l’hiver tire à sa fin, je suis bien contente, j’ai hâte aux premiers signes du printemps. ;)

    • Jocelyne says:

      Oh, merci beaucoup Anne pour ton beau compliment ! Oui, il faut bien s’habiller. Des chauffes mains je n’en ai pas et je me suis gelée les mains souvent cet hiver. L’hiver prochain tu peux être sûre que j’en aurai ! J’espère que tu vas bien Anne et que tu prends soin de toi.
      Passe une très belle semaine :)

  16. drawandshoot says:

    Yes, it’s always a beautiful time of year, even if it drags on a little long…
    These are gorgeous, Jocelyne. Winter wonderlands.

  17. "Occam Blade" says:

    Greetings from New England–
    Yes, I too truly enjoy winter! In large part because I have a hard time staying cool and dry and presentable in the summer. I’m one who dresses up in suit and tie as part of my work. I enjoy the “uniform” but this time of year, this season, is all the more special to me. As well, your images are fantastic, rich in spiritual energy and texture. It’s nice to read and see posts from one who doesn’t disparage winter. Winter can be challenging, but that is supposed to make us hardy, n’est pas?

    • Jocelyne says:

      I understand your preference for winter, I am always in shorts and t-shirts in summer and would find it difficult to wear a suit ! Winter is challenging, especially with photography, but I think yes, we become more robust by being exposed to its rough climate.
      Thank you so very much for your kind words Carlo, I’ll be visiting your blog as soon as I can.
      Have a nice evening ! :)

  18. Que de belles photos sous une neige immaculée. Ici, nous n’en avons pas eu à ce jour, de la pluie, uniquement de la pluie et très peu de journées hivernales froides et ensoleillées comme je les aime… Bon week-end à toi ! Biz

    • Jocelyne says:

      Comme c’est dommage que vous n’ayez pas de neige cette année. Plusieurs personnes s’en plaignent, et aussi en Norvège ils ont eu de la neige très tard et très peu je crois. Quelle curieux hiver. Nous on en a eu beaucoup et aussi beaucoup de froid. Je n’ai jamais vu un hiver avec autant de journées très froides. Merci beaucoup Evelyne pour ton beau commentaire qui m’a fait bien plaisir. Passe une très belle semaine, ensoleillée j’espère ! :)

  19. janina says:

    The last pic defines winter for me. Beautiful.

  20. JimR says:

    Lovely images Jocelyne. I love winter scenes, but haven’t seen any snow this year since we moved to the west coast of Scotland. Not really surprising, as the Gulf Stream passes here and keeps the temperature a few degrees above freezing.

    • Jocelyne says:

      Hi Jim, I’m glad to hear from you :) It must feel a bit strange to not have snow, especially if you were use to winters with a lot of snow. I hope you like your new place and I hope to see some of your beautiful photos from this place on your blog. Thank you for your compliment Jim, and have a nice evening :)

  21. Tina Schell says:

    Jocelyne, every one of these was wonderful and each in a very different way. The scene outside your home and the hockey games could both be wonderful Christmas cards :-) I’m not a big fan of winter because of the mess that’s left a few days after the storm. But if I didn’t have to be in a car, and if I had warm toasty clothes and a fire in the fireplace when I got home, perhaps I’d feel quite differently! Anyway, wonderful job making me miss those lovely, quiet, beautiful moments of new-fallen snow!

    • Jocelyne says:

      Tina, you’re so kind, thank you so much for your wonderful comment. I’m sorry for my late response. Oh yes, the mess after a storm, I totally understand what you mean. It’s true that to love winter you have to be able to stay warm, so many people don’t dress properly when it’s that cold, and I think it’s the number one rule. I’m glad you enjoyed these photos and you could remember those moments after a snowfall.
      Thanks for visiting Tina and I hope you have a beautiful day and week end ahead :)

  22. I love winter, too, but unfortunately it has avoided me this season. All the more I appreciate this gorgeous series of winter photos. So beautiful and peaceful.

    • Jocelyne says:

      Oh, thank you so much Otto ! I’m glad if I could bring you a little of winter, if only through some photos :) I’ve read many people from your part of the world complaining about this strange winter you’re having. Here we had snow but it was also very cold, the coldest winter I have ever seen.
      Have a great week end Otto :)

  23. Lyle Krahn says:

    That hockey scene is the stuff dreams are made of – beautiful.

  24. Thanks a lot Jocelyne, for your kindness visiting. Beautiful winter memories. We missed last year and spring good winter, I meant with a lot of snow, hope the end of the year we get really good winter :D Have a nice weekend

    • Jocelyne says:

      Thank you very much Della ! I’m sorry for my late response. I hope you could enjoy winter and all this beautiful season has to offer. We still have lots of snow here.
      Have a great weekend Della :)

  25. tomwhelan says:

    All beautiful – your rolling countryside looks exquisite in snow. I love winter as well, but my eyes tire of the white – but it’s finally melting!

    • Jocelyne says:

      Hi Tom ! I envy you if your snow is finally melting, ours is still there and it doesn’t look like it’s going to melt soon ! Thank you so much for your kind words and have a beautiful weekend :)

  26. elisa ruland says:

    I know you’re tired of the snow, and I don’t blame you, but it is quite beautiful. Your photographs are so elegant…even the hockey game!

I'm always happy to read your comments :) Vos commentaires me font toujours plaisir :)

