A walk in the woods

Hello dear readers !

What  nice weather we had here in Quebec these past two weeks.  I often went for walks in the woods with my little Winny who really enjoys being off leash to run freely and discover all the hidden smells.  But what makes him happiest is when he comes upon a ruffed grouse and scares it into flight.  He then gets very excited !

During these walks I realized that the landscape in november, even if the trees are now bare, is as beautiful as october, so popular for all it’s bold colours.  In november, oranges, browns, burgundies, greens and the so luminous pale beige of grasses, evoking the fields of wheat in summer, are a real feast for the eye.  For me, these combined colors are like the perfect brush strokes of a painter on his canvas.  Here are a few pictures I took.

On one of these walks, upon our arrival at the trail we were greeted by four black-capped chickadee.  They were curious about us and jumped from tree to tree to get closer.  These birds are not afraid at all of humans and it was as if they were really greeting us.


Look at my cute little Winny !

To end this post beautifully here is a picture of the Famine river.  It is close to where I live and I took this shot this afternoon on the bridge of the future highway.  I think it’s a really beautiful picture !  It is worth clicking on it to view it larger.

I hope the weather will be nice this week too so we can go back to the woods, but I’ll have to be careful for it is hunting season right now.

I wish you all a nice week, and don’t forget to take a moment to look around you and notice all the different hues, even the subtle ones, of november.

Jocelyne

4 comments on “A walk in the woods

  1. Becky Sue says:

    Winny is beautiful! I’ve been to Quebec a few times to visit Quebec City and Montreal. My ancestors, LaFlamme’s, immigrated to the U.S. from Quebec.

    • Thanks for visiting Becky Sue ! Yes, Winny is beautiful, he is a 3 years old Shetland sheepdog and is a very playful dog ! I hope you had a great time when visiting Quebec and Montreal. The old Quebec city is especially beautiful to see during the holidays, I plan to visit this year.
      A lot of people from Quebec immigrated in the U.S. between 1920-1930, most of them in New-England, for economic reasons. The last time I was in Portland, Maine, I saw some family names that were originally from Quebec but the writing was different, like this one : In Quebec it’s “Beaudoin”, but in US it’s “Bowdouin”. Funny !

      Reply ↓

  2. Anyluckypeny says:

    I would love to visit Quebec one day! I went to Vancouver with my family in 2009 for a summer trip. Canada is beautiful, it’s such a peaceful place🙂 your dog is so cute. I have two, a Maltese and Labrador mix.

I'm always happy to read your comments :) Vos commentaires me font toujours plaisir :)

