November treats

Hi everyone !

When cold and rainy days of november settle in, when the bright rays of the sun trade their place for the grey and gloomy clouds, it is time to retreat to our little heaven, our homes, and do all those things we enjoy but don’t always have time for.  I appreciate these few quiet weeks before being caught up in the whirlwind of decorating and shopping for Christmas.  During these weeks I like to bake the last apples left from when  we went to the orchard in October, so last week-end I gathered all the ingredients and had a nice quiet afternoon baking an apple pie.

For many years now I have been making pumpkin puree for later use in cakes.  I also like to make some batches of applesauce and if I have time, a few more jars of strawberry jam.

On one of these quiet afternoons what could be better than cuddling up in your favorite throw with a good book, a cup of tea and a piece of apple pie ?


Baking goods and having my shelves filled with delicious homemade preserves is a real pleasure and is part of my november treats.  Each month of the year has it’s charms, some of them are more exciting and filled with great joys and wonders while others are more nurturing and comforting moments shared with family.  All these moments, the great ones and the simpler ones, when added together are the base foundation of our  dearest memories.  For me, november quiet days are certainly part of those memories.

I hope you all had a peaceful and quiet month so far and are now ready to plunge head first into the excitement of Christmas!

Take care

Jocelyne

6 comments on “November treats

  1. HI Jocelyn, I could really feel the spirit of calm coming through on this post. I like your traditions and how you make your own pies and purees and such. True, we headed to a month of many obligations and things to take care of~a real whirlwind is ahead of us! I like your chair with the magazines and books close by, I think I might have the same ones you do.

  2. Thanks for visiting Amy ! It’s nice of you to came by, I appreciate it.

  3. Judy says:

    I love vintage things, and you always have such an eye for grouping things in vignettes for photos and for your home. I love to visit your blog! Wish I had more time to do that!😉

    • Thank you Judy, I really like creating vignettes, and with nature photography they are what I enjoy most. I know, we don’t have enough time to do all that we want to do, especially when you have a blog !

  4. Anyluckypeny says:

    This looks so delicious! Yumm! Punkin pie is so good, and apple pie too🙂

I'm always happy to read your comments :) Vos commentaires me font toujours plaisir :)

