The Christmas spirit

Hello everyone !

First, I would like to thank everyone who shared my posts on facebook and twitter, these social networks help a lot to get known, so a big thank you to all of you ! I appreciate it.

Christmas.  What a wonderful time of year it is.  I have always loved Christmas, not for religious reasons, I admit, but for the many little things that are part of the season’s spirit.  For me, December is the only month of the year when I slow things down.  I don’t train, I don’t watch saturated and trans fats, I drink wine more often, I go shopping more often, even if I don’t have anything to buy but just for the pleasure of having my scone and Van Houtte coffee (no Starbuck’s in my town😦   ) and enjoying the ambiance.  I take longer walks with Winny and I do less house cleaning.  I allow myself to relax.

What I really enjoy during the holidays is watching Christmas movies on television. When I decorate the tree I put on my favorite Christmas movie “Home Alone : Lost In New-York”  There are so many fun things to do during the holidays.  There are Christmas concerts, the Nutcracker ballet, the Christmas parade, and when I lived near Montreal I would go window-shopping downtown to see the beautiful store displays.

All the stores are filled with goodies and it’s a real treat for me to go to my favorite coffee shop and have some eggnog.

Last year, on December 29, we had the most extraordinary one and a half hour sleigh ride in the fields and woods of a private land in St-Anges.  What a beautiful name for a small village, St-Anges.  We were pulled by two big Percherons , a Dalmatian was running with them and had great fun !  It’s a memory I will cherish forever, it was so beautiful !


Images 
source

These things are all part of the season, as the decorations in our homes, and I hope you can capture the spirit of the season from my home decorations pictures.

(Don’t look at the village under the tree, it’s not finished ! lol)

I wish you the most happiest of holidays and the most wonderful time with your family and friends. These are special times to cherish and everlasting memories to behold.

Take care

Jocelyne

7 comments on “The Christmas spirit

  1. Jenna says:

    Hi Jocelyne. What a wonderful post! Your photos are simply beautiful, and I like what you had to say about Christmas, also. It is a wonderful time of year. I haven’t had a chance to decorate yet, but it’s at the top of my list. I love that part of Christmas. Your decorating is wonderful and so creative! I love the photo of the tree through the window. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the season. I hope you have a wonderful, joyful Christmas.

    Your story about the sleigh ride is so great. It sounds so wonderful. How I would love to do that someday.🙂

    By the way, “Home Alone: Lost in New York” is one of my Christmas favorites, too.😀

    Thanks for the kind comments on my blog. It means a lot.

    • Thank you Jenna, I’m glad you liked my photos and decorating. If you ever get a chance for a sleigh ride, don’t miss it ! When I went it was very cold, -18°C, but we were dressed warmly and had blankets on our laps. But it was so beautiful and enchanting that I forgot about the cold.
      Have a nice day !

  2. kate1975 says:

    Hi Jocelyne,

    I especially love the pics of the fence with wreaths. So evocative. I hope you have a lot of good holiday spirit. Thanks so much for giving me some.

    Kate

  3. Jocelyne–after having read this post I find that we are simpatico on many levels–I even have potted greens on the bookcase! I do like all the excitement of the holidays and not for religious reasons. Beautiful photos–all of them.

    • Thank you Teresita ! And I would add we are also simpatico for our love of photography. In my case, I can’t wait to have my new camera, the one I use at the moment is not a DSLR .
      I wish you a very Merry Christmas !

I'm always happy to read your comments :) Vos commentaires me font toujours plaisir :)

