Winter pleasures

Hello !

I don’t have a favourite season, each one of them has something to offer, some memories to cherish of magical moments I had with each passing season.

In winter, my most memorable days are closely linked to the woods.  I spend all week ends cross-country skiing or snowshoeing when temperatures drops below -18°C.  Winter has plenty of fun things to do outdoors and I love them all.  Here are a few photos I shot which reflects my love for the season.

How can I not have a snowman in my winter theme ?  I had so much fun making one with Winny.

Here I am at the trails and ready to go for 15 km.


Walking in the quiet enveloping woods, only hearing the muffled sounds of my snowshoes slightly sinking in the snow is a form of meditation.  The surrounding trees fill me with a renewed energy.  This wood has lots of deers, we can see many hoof-prints but I never saw a deer there.

Arriving in the warmth of our home, tea and cookies awaits us as well as Winny who peered at the door, hoping we’d be home soon.


The first fall of snow is not only an event, it is a magical event.  You go to bed in one kind of a world and wake up in another quite different, an if this is not enchantment then where is it to be found ?  J.B. Priestley
Have a nice week everyone !
Jocelyne
Today I’m joining Mary at Little Red House for Mosaic Monday

17 comments on “Winter pleasures

  1. I really like how you celebrate winter with skiing, snowshoeing and so forth. The snowy woods look terrific!

  2. Jenna says:

    Your posts are always so poignant and lovely! How wonderful that you cherish all the seasons. That is truly admirable, as I tend to long for the spring and summer warmth. Winter is beautiful though. Thanks for reminding me of that. Excellent photos, and your Winny is gorgeous!🙂

    • Awwww…Thank you Jenna !!! Your comment makes me so happy🙂
      With my words and photography I try to put in my posts all the beauty I see all around me, I’m so glad you like them !
      It’s so much easier to go through winter when you practice a sport, I’m always sad when winter is over, but not for long !
      I realize I never really introduce Winny on my blog, since I often talk about him I will do a post on him so you get to know him better.

      • Jenna says:

        I would love to get to know him better, and look forward to more photos of him. I’ll bet he can really snag burdocks with that thick, long fur.😉

  3. Georgianna says:

    Hi Jocelyn,
    This homage to winter is absolutely gorgeous! I love the snow shoes – such a romantic way to enjoy the peace of the forest. And since you are a cross country skier, you would have loved where we stayed in the mountains – major alpine ski area. Thanks so much for visiting and very glad you enjoyed the photos. Happy weekend!

  4. montucky says:

    Great series of photos capturing some of the nicest parts of winter!

  5. Judy says:

    Oh….I love to snowshoe! I was going to take a pic of my snowshoes just like you did! lol
    But….we haven’t had enough snow to “shoe” in yet. I am so disappointed. I’m hoping Feb. will bring more snow here! Love to x-country ski too.
    I love all these photos….your snowman is so cute. The fencepost is a great shot too. All your vignettes are lovely, the chair with mittens and pinecone, the table with cookies and teapot~
    You have a great eye for design!

    • Thank you Judy, I really appreciate your nice comment on my photos ! It’s a real pleasure for me to know that other people like them !
      I understand you about your disappointment, I would be really sad if I hadn’t start skiing and snowshoeing yet. I think we have to be prepared for the scarcity of snow, it’s something we will see much more with all the global warming.
      Thanks again for all you nice compliments !

  6. I love everything about this post Jocelyne. You live in a beautiful place. I, too, love the four seasons and agree, each has something special to offer. Margie

  7. P.S. The name of your blog really fits like a glove. Margie

  8. alicia says:

    PRECIOSA LA FOTO DE EL PERRO…
    YO TENIA UNA PARECIDA….PITUCA.
    LA RECUERDO !!!!!
    SALUDITOS

I'm always happy to read your comments :) Vos commentaires me font toujours plaisir :)

