Horses and barns in winter

Hello everyone !

I guess you could say I love horses and barns, since it is the second time I share photos of them.  Last time they were summer photos and now with the winter landscape they are just as beautiful as the summer ones.  I love winter sceneries, and when framed, some photos here would make a nice wall decor.   These horses and barns are close to my home, the red barn is just a 5 minutes walk, so one sunny morning I went to see the horses, accompanied, of course, by little Winny.  When we arrived they were lying on their back, rolling joyfully in the snow, the same way dogs do.  It was so funny watching them.  Unfortunately I couldn’t take pictures of it because I don’t have a tripod and telephoto lens (yet…) and they were just too far to make a nice photo.

According to Wikipedia “the Percheron is a breed of draft horse that originated in the Perche valley in northern France.  They are well-muscled and known for their intelligence and willingness to work.”  They are beautiful horses.  One day I was walking along the road when six of them arrived running at high-speed and I could feel the ground shaking under my feet as they approached.  When I experience magical moments like this, I call them “moments of grace”.

This beautiful horse is not a Percheron, I don’t know which breed he is.

Old barns are an integral part of the country landscape. They are a wink to the past and by-gone days.  I can’t imagine a country landscape without them.

With their rustic simplicity, barns comfort me.  As I watch these old shabby buildings I feel a need to slowdown things in my life and take more time to appreciate all the beauties around me.

I love this photo.  This horse had fallen in love with my boyfriend, he was following him every time he would move.  He wouldn’t even look at me.  It’s so beautiful to see how they look into each other’s eyes.

If you want to attract horses close to you, bring your dog.  If the horses are not shy they will come and greet him or her.  Here they are with my Duncan who passed away 3 years ago this week.

I hope you enjoyed these photos and collages, I had great pleasure creating them.  If you would like to see my other post of horses and barns in summer it’s here.

I wish you all a very nice week-end !  Mine will consist mostly of cross-country skiing, tomorrow we have an open house activity at our ski club and I will be patrolling the skate-ski trails for the most part of my day.

Jocelyne

I’m joining The Little Red House for Mosaic Monday

Bluff Area Daily for Barn Charm and

McDougall’s photography for Fabulous Friday                                                   

69 comments on “Horses and barns in winter

  1. Lovely photographs, Jocelyn! We haven’t had any snow her this year, yet! Oh, my goodness! Can’t quite believe it – it has just started to snow! Well, can you believe that!!! I wonder if it will actually cover the ground? I know what you mean about the power of the horses. We live near a racecourse and when you stand near the winning post and the horses come thundering by, it is an amazing feeling as you see the size and the speed and feel the ground shake under your feet. Your post also reminds me of visits to Switzerland where they store the winter wood in neatly arranged piles just like yours!

    Cheers

    John

    • Thank you John ! It’s a little late to have the first snow in February ! I never saw this here but we don’t have a lot this year. I like winter when it has lots of snow !
      How fun that you live near a racecourse, you can go often and see the horses. They are amazing ! I’m glad my post reminded you of Switzerland, it must be so beautiful there ! Have you seen Heidi hiking in the mountains while you were
      there ? 🙂

  2. Gitanjali says:

    Thank you for sharing such a wonderful part of your life! Horses and barns are beautiful, i agree completely with you. These horses especially look so magnificent. My favorite photo is the one with your dog! A priceless moment captured. Hope you have a great weekend skiing.

    • Thank you Gitanjali ! Isn’t the picture with my dog beautiful ? It’s my favorite too ! When I took this picture I had to be quick, the horses and Duncan wouldn’t stay in place !
      A nice weekend to you too !

  3. Snow, open fields and horses = breathtaking! Enjoyed my stroll through your backyard.

  4. Jenna says:

    Another wonderful post. Horses are very special animals, and it’s a dream of mine to have one of my own someday. I used to have a pony named Danny when I was a teenager, and he was a wonderful guy. There is something about these big draft breeds that truly amazes me though. The size, the grace they move with, the strength, and yet, the gentleness. They are amazing animals, and I wouldn’t mind taking in a retired draft team if they needed a home to live out their days. How wonderful that you live so close to these horses. Your dogs probably like them, too. Your Duncan was a beautiful dog. I am sorry to hear he passed away. Pets never live long enough.

    Wonderful photos of the barns, too. Thank you for sharing these.🙂

    • Another wonderful comment ! Hi Jenna !🙂 Thank you for your kind comment on the passing of my Duncan. It is so unfair that dogs have such short lives…
      I agree with you, horses are special animals. I never owned one but there are many many horses where I live. When I go for a bike ride I often stop to talk to them, they are so gentle ! I also stop to talk to cows, I love them ! I nicknamed the Holstein breed “les belles filles”, “The beautiful girls” !
      I hope your dream come true, you would have new wonderful friends. I hope they live longer than dogs !
      Have a nice week Jenna.

  5. Judy says:

    Jocelyne….these are lovely photos. I love the collage at the end too., such a great collection of country photos. Old barns are a favorite of mine also. Such old treasures they are, and what stories they could tell.
    The horses are gorgeous. I love Percherons, Clydesdales, and Belgians because they have that stocky, strong look that work horses need to have. The same thing happened to us when we’d walk our Schnauzer….the horses across the road had the same look on their faces! They were so curious about our dog. I love the way the horse is cozy with your boyfriend too! All in all a refreshingly different take on winter in the country! Thanks for sharing!

    • Thank you Judy ! That is all I can do, country photos ! I am surrounded by the country and I don’t travel much sooooo….country it is !
      So many people love horses, how can we not do ? They are so sweet !
      I’m glad you liked these photos.
      Have a nice week !

  6. Elaine says:

    Wonderful collection of photos! The horses are so beautiful in the winter background with their lovely shaggy coats.

  7. genie says:

    Jocelyn….I love this rustic old barn. It is so vintage looking. The horses you photograph are always so beautiful. Magnificent animals. This is such a wonderful series. Lots of lovely snow, beautiful horses, and a great old barn. genie

  8. Judy says:

    Wow, wonderful photos here. Those horses are beautiful!

  9. Carletta says:

    A beautiful series of shots!
    Love the snow, the gorgeous horses and the red barn against that stunning blue sky!
    Your last mosaic is beautifully done.

  10. carol says:

    Great photos! You have outstanding images of the horses….and beautiful collages.

  11. what great shots there. i love them all … the barns & the horses. & on top of all that snow. so great!! i sold. where am i moving? ha. ha!! thank you sharing with us at barn charm. (:

  12. Mari says:

    Beautiful, beautiful pictures!!! The horses and barns are perfect together and that shot of the horses with your dog is amazing!

  13. Kim,USA says:

    The horses are beautiful!!! And your shots are awesome!

    Red Barn

  14. Susan says:

    Beautiful, beautiful photos. The horses, the barn, everything. Wonderful!

  15. Anyluckypeny says:

    I love horses! I really enjoyed looking at your pictures🙂 I hope that someday I can have my own horse🙂

  16. carol says:

    Forgot to tell you that the barn is a bright red but the evening sun glowing on it makes it look orangy.

  17. Bek says:

    Barns + Snow = wonderful
    Adding the horses is topping it. Gorgeous pictures!

  18. Tanya says:

    these are all so great! i’m a sucker for a horse!

  19. Keetha says:

    Horses and barns – – – maybe only cows and barns go together as well!

    I LOVE those draft horses – – – WOW.

  20. Wonderful photos.

    Regards and best wishes

  21. Rose says:

    I really did enjoy these photos…love the photos with the snow, etc. And the horses. All good additions.

  22. I just love your images. They invoke a feeling of serenity and peace. Lovely, lovely. I found you through Barn Charm. Blessings.

    • Thank you so much Nancy ! That’s what I feel when I go see the horses. During these moments I don’t think of anything else and it is so peaceful. I’m glad this feeling was passed on my photos. Thank you for visiting !

  23. Tammy says:

    Beautiful horses to go with your barn. I especially like your last mosaic.

  24. tomwhelan says:

    The horse photos are lovely – and I envy you all that snow. No snow around Boston, no matter how much I wish for it.

    • Anonymous says:

      Thank you Thomas ! I have never had a winter without snow in my entire life. When you love snow and you don’t get some, it’s sad. I hope you have some soon !

  25. Porch Days says:

    Your photos are very nice, especially the barn ones. No snow here in CT when last winter we had so much that buildings were collapsing.

  26. How deligful, just so charming…each could make a winter’s postcard!

  27. Margaret says:

    Lovely capture of the Belgian and barn covered in snow! The pop of red peaking out in the one is charming.

  28. Tricia says:

    Welcome to Barn Charm & what a fantabulous post! The barns are beautiful & I love both the summer & winter posts! The horses are definitely an awesome addition!!!

    Thanks for joining =)

  29. Ansku says:

    Such lovely images!!! Extremely charming barns…
    Thank you for your visit at my blog – your kind words really, really made my day ♥
    See you around!🙂

  30. Oh boy, first of all, I love your banner! The photo of the collie looking up at the horses is absolutely adorable. You definitely have an eye for composition my dear. I love the photos in this post and the fact that they are winter scenes makes them so appealing. winter shots can be so glorious. Nice job! Margie

  31. seekraz says:

    Beautiful horse and barn shots…love the winter element. Are you sure your boyfriend hasn’t been slipping some sugar-cubes to his new friend when you weren’t looking? 🙂

  32. Dan Miller says:

    Those are some excellent shots of the horses. I love some of the action shots you have here.

    • Thank you so much Dan ! I will try some more action shots when I get my new camera (finally !!) in a few weeks. It’s something I don’t do very often but when I try and get a nice shot it’s very satisfying !
      Thanks for visiting and commenting !

  33. Just lovely photos Jocelyn ! I particularly like the one where he is looking at you, and the snow is blowing in the wind around his body. I almost dare to tell you the breed, but think I’m probably wrong. I’m thinking Haflingers.

I'm always happy to read your comments :) Vos commentaires me font toujours plaisir :)

