Thematic photos

Hello everyone !

One of the things I really enjoy doing in photography is grouping objects together to create vignettes.  What I like about them is the creative aspect. I like racking my brain to think about what I could possibly put together to create a perfect match and the only limit in the process is my own imagination.  When I come up with an idea I have a clear vision of how I want the vignette to look like and when I succeed in creating an image which reflects my vision, I am truly happy.

But creating vignettes is not always easy.  There’s all sorts of aspects to deal with :  The lighting, the background, the placement of objects.  The placement is the most difficult part.  Sometimes I’m sure it’s going to be just perfect, but when I see the photo on my screen I start noticing details I didn’t see when preparing and shooting the vignette.  It can take up to 6 ou 7 attempts before I finally get it right and sometimes everything’s wrong and I have to reconsider the whole vignette.  When that happens it can take an hour just for shooting and another hour for editing.  But I love it so much because it’s creative and very satisfying when I finally obtain the desired result.

The starting point of these vignettes was based on themes I selected.  These themes are Provence, country, pastel colours and fly-fishing.  I had much fun creating them and I think it was worth the time and effort  :)

Provence theme

Country theme

Pastel colours theme

Fly-fishing theme

A little story behind this vignette.  Many years ago my boyfriend and I used to go fly-fishing. We would enter into the river and I vividly remember how peaceful and beautiful it was.  I had the sensation of being one with the river.  Walking on its rocks and feeling its water flowing all around me, sometimes as high as my waist, I felt intimate and connected to mother nature and our loving planet.  I miss these days, we don’t go fly-fishing anymore.  I am still connected to mother nature in other ways but fly-fishing is very special because there’s a great feeling of peacefulness that is very soothing.  When you’re so close to nature you feel her life force and you begin to understand that it is not just a beautiful landscape, but that it is alive just like you are and that you can reach and connect with nature within your soul.

The photo in the frame is my boyfriend Bob, the rod, reel and net are his and the salmon fly and frog are his work.  He is very talented at making flies, he has about five hundred of them.  I will have this photo printed on high quality photo paper and it will hang in his den.

I have some more vignettes I’m working on that I will share later.  Let me know what you think of these ones,

I’m hoping to go to the sugar-shack some time soon so I can take beautiful pictures  and share them.  Have a nice week-end everyone !

Jocelyne

I’m joining Cindy at Show And Tell Friday

Honey at  Potpourri Friday

And Mary at Little Red House for Mosaic Monday

22 comments on “Thematic photos

  1. Have a nice week-end too, Jocelyne ! J’aime beaucoup l’atmosphère de tes photos. Bravo ! Evelyne (JARDIN ANGLAIS)

  2. Jenna says:

    Jocelyne, those hours spent making everything just right in these photos was time well spent. You’ve got an eye. The balance is very nice, the composition interesting. The lighting is probably my favorite part of these. Very well done! I especially like the pastels one. It’s such a delicate image full of delicate items and flattering light. The flyfishing theme is beautiful too. So warm and inviting. It looks like your boyfriend is enjoying himself in that image. Your story about flyfishing made it sound like an incredible experience. You must have really loved it.

    You’re definitely onto something with these. Looking forward to seeing more of them.🙂

    • Hi Jenna🙂 I am very encouraged by your words, thank you so much ! After seeing these photos over and over again I end up doubting if they’re fine or not !
      Many people have told me I have an eye for composition so I think I should start believing that ! The pastels one is my favorite too, I just love delicate things. My flyfishing experience was so beautiful. Even if it was 12 years ago I can still see the rays of the sun dancing on the river, and hear the sound of the water flowing all around me and the sound of the reel when I was reeling. I think I’ll never forget !
      I’m so glad you noticed the lighting because it’s such an important element in the way I wanted the vignettes to look like.
      Thanks again Jenna for your encouraging words, you’ll see more of these vignettes for sure, they are now a part of my future photography projects.

  3. Judy says:

    Jocelyne…..your photos are always stunning. You have such a wonderful designer’s touch and a great feel for where items should be positioned. I love the fly fishing vignette and your pastels too. I’m partial to Provence, so the colors in that one are delightful. The country one is sweet, with the perfect background and base colors.
    I know how hard it is to do these vignettes! I’ve only posted a few so far (tea time, old camera, etc), but I’ve done several and find them to be very frustrating! I can see the vision in my head, but producing it is another thing altogether! Lighting is one of my big problems, but it appears as if you have that covered very well! I love your collage and want to learn to do that too.
    I looked up your link on Cindy’s blog! Good for you! Great post, Jocelyne!

    • Thank you so much Judy for the nice compliments ! All comments are important to me, thank you for taking time to write them. You are ahead of me, this morning I was going to write you a comment on one of your post but something came up and I couldn’t. Oh ! you’re so right, sometimes it can be so frustrating ! I’ve abandoned an idea I had for a vignette when I saw I was unable to get what I wanted, maybe I’ll try another time… maybe !! For the lighting I use a trick that is very effective. If you have photoshop or any other photo editor you can easily fill light into your photo. I also use an effect called “vignette” where you draw a selection where the vignette will be applied and then you just play with the adjustments to make the vignette appear more or less white, more or less blurr and more or less feathered. It’s that easy ! And for the collage it’s also very very easy. I have Photoscape editor (you can download it for free) and they have many collages ready to use, you just have to put your photos in them (sometimes you have to crop them so they will fit perfectly) and voilà ! You have a beautiful collage made in no time !
      Thanks again Judy for the compliments, I appreciate them !

      • Judy says:

        Ok… I need to keep this comment!! There’s so much info in it! Thanks so much! You do the best vignettes and photo shoots. And I love vintage like you do. I have ideas…just have to get them gathered! Thanks again, Jocelyne.

      • Judy, if you ever have questions don’t hesitate to e-mail me. You will find my address under Contact in my header.
        Have a nice week !

  4. Maura says:

    Bonjour Jocelyne! What wonderful photo’s and I love that you have grouped them together. That is something that I haven’t tried very often…I think after seeing your photo’s that I will have to give this a try. I have always wanted to try Fly Fishing but have never had the opportunity…maybe one day. When I lived in British Columbia we used to take our canoe out onto the mountain lakes…they were so peaceful and quite and would have been perfect for fly fishing. Maybe one day when we are up there on holidays I’ll see if someone can teach me🙂 Have a wonderful day and thank you for stopping by and leaving a comment.
    Maura🙂

    • Thank you Maura ! I appreciate your bonjour🙂 What I like about these photos is the idea of having frames with my own images in them. It gives the frames so much more meaning. Give it a try, from what I see in your blog you have beautiful photos so I’m sure you can create lovely vignettes
      Oh ! the mountain lakes must have been wonderful, British Columbia landscapes are so beautiful. I wish I can visit one day.
      Thanks for visiting and a wonderful day to you too !

  5. What a sweet and beautiful post! I love pastel colors & I love vintage things🙂 I should try this one day!

  6. Georgianna says:

    Hello, dear Jocelyn! You definitely DO have an eye for composing beautiful vignettes that tell a story. It is a skill to see among many photos those which will compliment and enhance the others. I can see that it would be addictive!

    Thank you so much again for your kind words. I hope you have a really lovely weekend coming up!

    xo

    • Thank you Georgianna ! Having a photographer like you telling me I do have an eye is certainly, and finally, convincing me that I do !🙂
      Yes, it would be very addictive and I will try diptychs photos soon.
      Have a nice week-end with plenty of sun and thanks for stopping by and leaving me a nice comment, it’s very appreciated !

  7. niasunset says:

    How nice to meet with you dear Jocelyne. Thank you for visiting my blog, I have just visited your beautiful blog. Fascinated me, I love these kind of art or beauties… It would be so nice to be your follower. Thank you once again, Have a nice weekend, with my love, nia

  8. Fred says:

    Wow, what I enjoyed yours page.
    Gr,
    Fred
    Nederland

  9. photobach says:

    J’adore ce genre de photos
    Bien réalisé

  10. You are a star, Jocelyne, and you should be in magazine advertising or publishing! The vignette is wonderful, and the individual photographs are beautiful in themselves. I love the natural creativity and artistry you obviously put into everything you do and your photography skills are excellent! Way to go, Jocelyne!

    Now just think, if I had taken heed of your comment about not catching up with your posts, just look at what I would have missed!

    Cheers

    John

    • Thank you soooo much John ! What a fantabulous comment, you made my day !
      It’s only recently that I have become aware of my creativity, I guess it was there before but I needed to find a way to awaken it and I find it through photography.
      I’m glad you didn’t miss this post and enjoyed it, now I need to find a way to get published… Hee ! Hee ! 🙂

I'm always happy to read your comments :) Vos commentaires me font toujours plaisir :)

