At the sugar shack

Hello everyone !

Two weeks ago I went to the sugar shack with Bob and Winny.  I know we see flowers all over the blogs but I didn’t want to wait until next year to share these photos so, yes, even if you don’t want to see snow anymore, you will see some here !

I was glad it snowed two days before, leaving the surroundings of the sugar shack like I’m used to and love to see :  Plenty of maple trees with buckets hanging from their trunks and some snow to illuminate the woods.  And later, when the maple water has boiled and transformed into a nice, rich, medium brown colour and it has reached just the perfect consistency, snow will be needed to pour the syrup on it so it can be transformed into delicious maple taffy.

This sugar shack is not commercial, it’s a family one who was built in the 30’s and owned, along with the land, by the same family the past 80 years.  Located in St-Frédérick, Beauce, it is now owned by one of the sons of the man who built it.

It was a very gloomy day but it was so nice hanging out the entire afternoon with my boyfriend’s family and sharing a scrumptious traditional sugar shack meal.

Arriving at the sugar shack

Upon our arrival we were greeted by Max, a sweet 3 years old Bernese mountain dog.  Winny and Max seemed stunned to be in each other’s company !

Everything around here is old and shabby… I love that !

An old hand-carved mould for maple sugar

I love this old stove and teapots !

The interior of the sugar shack feels so warm and inviting.

(Kim Klassen’s Embrace texture on these photos above)

(Sarah Gardner’s Renaissance 90 texture on the photo above and Sarah Gardner’s Artisan Press and Renaissance 05 on the photo below)

Now I cross my heart and promise you, no more snow for at least the next 7 months !🙂

Coming next time, I have some pretty photos of a beautiful flower to show you.

A happy week to all of you !

Jocelyne

I’m joining Mary at The Little Red House for Mosaic Monday

38 comments on “At the sugar shack

  1. Sofia says:

    So rustic and charming.

  2. Todd Materazzi Photography says:

    Some amazing work.

  3. Beautiful photos – thanks for sharing – I feel like I have stepped back in time!

  4. mrcarroll says:

    Wow, what a marvelous place! And your photos are divine, snow and all! 🙂. Thanks so much for sharing your talent at Mosaic Monday.

  5. Bonne semaine à toi aussi, Jocelyne, et merci pour cette jolie promenade ! Amicalement. Evelyne

  6. tingsgrove says:

    Wonderful, just wonderful!

  7. Margie says:

    I don’t mind a bit! Snow shots are always glorious, and we didn’t see much this winter at all.

  8. Jenna says:

    What a great day this must have been for you! I love how you seem to take your Winny everywhere with you. He is one loved dog.🙂 What a beautiful old place with a lot of character and charm. Thank you for sharing this with us. What a great post!

    I look forward to the flowers.🙂

    • Thank you Jenna🙂 It’s true, I always take Winny with me when it’s possible, even if he doesn’t like car rides ! I don’t have children so he’s my baby !
      You would have loved to see all the antiques inside the sugar-shack where the boiler was. There was some very old items but I couldn’t photograph them because it was too dark in there.
      I’m working on the flower…Ohhh it’s such a beautiful flower !
      Have a great day Jenna !

  9. JimR says:

    Nice story and images Jocelyne.

  10. Denise says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog……I love all your photos! Thanks again!

  11. ehpem says:

    I’ve always wanted to go to one of these places, but Victoria is so far away. Your photos are both interesting and beautiful, and the snow is a necessary part.

    • Thank you so much ! I hope you get the chance to go someday, but I much prefer a family sugar-shack than a commercial one.
      Aha…you are faster than me ! I wanted to comment on one of your post but you preceded me🙂
      Where are you, are you in Canada ?

      • ehpem says:

        I am from almost another world – Victoria, BC. Feel free to comment, I like comments🙂 You won’t find any snow pictures on my blog though, the day (or two?) we had snow this year I did not take any pictures.

  12. Great post and very descriptive photographs, Jocelyne! If you do another post on the sugar shack, can you explain what happens when you eat there? What is happening in the shot where there is what looks like ice with syrup spread on it, and people with some sort of utensil? I understand the bins on the trees, but we don’t have anything like this over here and I find it rather interesting!

    Take care!

    John

    • Hi John🙂 I didn’t thought about the fact that some of my readers may not be familiar with the sugar shack !
      First of all, when you go to the sugar shack there’s always lots of people so it’s rather noisy but it’s a fun ambience. There are no menu to choose a meal from, they serve a traditional sugar shack meal which is pea soup, ham, hash brown, omelette, baked beans, pork rind and, my favorite, delicious crepes and sugar pie. After the meal you can go outside to eat taffy on the snow. To obtain taffy you need to boil the maple water to a certain degree (higher that the one needed for syrup) and when it’s ready you pour it over snow. As soon as the liquid touches the snow it starts to stiffen, so with a corner of a paddle you prick it into the taffy and roll it around the paddle so it forms kind of a lollypop. It’s delicious but very sweet !
      Some sugar shack also offers horse wagon rides around the maple grove and that is a lot of fun !
      The sugar shack season (for the meals) don’t last long, depending on the temperatures it starts around the 2nd or 3rd week of march and ends at around the end of april.
      Have a nice day John !

      • That sounds like real fun, Jocelyne! Thanks for telling me about it! I had a look at my Fotomoto account, which is linked to my website, and you haven’t sent a free e-card. Just wondered if you could find it or whether I should put instructions in the right hand column of my blog. The option is in the shop part of the site and you get to it by clicking on the little icons directly below the photograph you want to send. That takes you into the shop front. If you choose e-card, on the right hand side, you can send copies to anyone absolutely free! It is Fotomoto’s way of trying to encourage viewers, and people the e-cards are sent to, to look at my website and, if they want, make a purchase! The e-cards are absolutely free and you can send one to all of your friends at once or as many different ones as you like to different friends! I hope you will try it out, or if you would like me to send you one, just to show you how it works, then send me your e-mail address!

        Take care!

        John

      • Hi John !
        When I first tried to send an e-card by clicking the icon under the photo I wanted to send, the photo wouldn’t appear in the little frame, so I didn’t understand what I did wrong and I didn’t realize it was probably a glitch in the Fotomoto system. So I didn’t try with another card. Last morning when I read your message I tried it again and this time it worked ! I send 2 e-cards to members of my family and another to me to see how it looks like, but when I received it there was no photo within the e-card, only a big blank square with your link at the top. I ask my aunt if she received the photo but her answer is not clear, I’ll have to check that with her today.
        Finding the icons for sending your cards is very easy, nothing complicated there, and it works just fine.
        I hope you have a nice sunny day !

  13. Hi Jocelyne! Aww Winny and Max look so cute🙂 I love snow, snow in April! Sounds like you had a lovely time🙂

  14. Anne Jutras says:

    J’aime tellement cette série d’images, Jocelyne! Certaines d’entre elles feraient de belles cartes postales. J’aime particulièrement la porte avec la fenêtre ouverte sur la forêt, la toute première aussi, dont les arbres encadrent la cabane à sucre, le montage cuisine, crêpes et tires.

    Une superbe présentation!🙂

    • Anne, ton commentaire me fait tellement plaisir, merci beaucoup !
      Avec ces photos j’ai tenté de transmettre l’ambiance environnante d’une cabane à sucre, ce qui s’y dégage, et j’ai dû m’arrêter après une cinquantaine de photos sinon je n’aurais parlé à personne cette journée-là ! Tu sais comment c’est quand on se retrouve dans un endroit et qu’on voit tout le potentiel photographique, c’est super ! Merci encore Anne !

  15. Judy says:

    Jocelyne….I love your post about the Sugar Shack! It’s so different than we have here. As far as I know, there are no meals served here. But people do make Maple sugar snow! I’ve never seen it done with paddles though. Great story and photos! I love all the vintage things…the moulds, the building, the barrels. And Winny and Max are adorable together! PS….I saw your crepes cooking!!

    • Hee ! Hee ! And Oh Boy were these crepes delicious !
      I’m surprised to see it is that different where you live. We’re not that far away, I would have thought it would be the same.
      For vintage lovers, this place was a real treat. It was filled with old stuff in there !
      Thank you Judy, I’m glad you liked the story and photos !

  16. Hello Jocelyn, the sugar shack looks a wonderful place, I love the red details.

  17. dianne says:

    charming post.. ; )

  18. I found this random post🙂 It sounds like Bob and you had a great time.

I'm always happy to read your comments :) Vos commentaires me font toujours plaisir :)

