A change of heart

Hello everyone !

It seems orchids wanted me to appreciate their stunning and amazing beauty.  They somehow managed to find a way to reach me, as if they wanted me to reconsider my opinions about their beauty and show me how wrong I was.  I have always ignore orchids, I was just not into them.  The main reason I didn’t like them that much was their lack of foliage.  I prefer plants with lots of foliage and orchids, to my liking, don’t have enough of them.  But then, while visiting my family last December, my stepmother had received an orchid and didn’t want it so she gave it to me.  I thought I’d get rid of the plant when the flowers would fade, I was more interested in the pot it was planted in than in the plant, but after a few days of looking closely at the flowers and taking pictures, I decided to keep it.  The flowers had won, I was beginning to find them prettier than never before.

Then, two weeks ago, I went to the florist to buy roses, I wanted to take pictures of them.  The employee said she wanted to show me flowers she had just received and who were not displayed in the shop yet.  When she dropped the flowers on the counter I  was mesmerized.  Here were the most beautiful flowers I ever laid my eyes on :  Some beautiful, amazing orchids in the most sumptuous colours of deep purple and azure blue.  From that very moment I had a complete change of heart.  Orchids had finally found their way to me and from now on they would be among my very favourite flowers.   Isn’t it strange how life has its own way to make things happen sometimes…

I hope I didn’t do too much spelling and conjugation mistakes, usually my boyfriend revise my post before I publish (he’s perfectly bilingual but I’m not !) but he’s on a trip to Halifax, so he can’t.

Now I have to go prune my rose bushes while it’s not raining and I’m so excited, saturday afternoon we’re going to pick up our new kayaks and I just can’t wait !

Jocelyne

Texture on the last photo from El Vigilante’s Flickr account

35 comments on “A change of heart

  1. Flowers are so SEXY and beg to be PHOTOGRAPHED – ha!

  2. Jenna says:

    Wow, Jocelyne, you were so right when you told us about how beautiful your flowers are. The colors of these orchids are fabulous! Sometimes I see a certain color and can only describe it as delicious, and this rich violet is one of those colors. Your eye for photography is admirable, and that last image with that lovely quote is my favorite. I love all the photos. Great capture of this beautiful flower. Thanks for sharing.

    P.S. I’m glad you had a change of heart. It just took the right time and the right plant.🙂

    • Thank you Jenna ! Admirable…What a great compliment this is, it’s a real confidence booster ! You know how we can sometimes question our skills at something… Thank you a million times !🙂
      Isn’t the colours wonderful ? You’re right, they are delicious, that’s the perfect word !
      And I bought this flower 2 weeks ago and only 2 of them are now faded (the 2 at the bottom of the stem), and all the other buds have opened. I also had 4 roses but they only lasted a week and are now dried but still very beautiful.
      Thanks again Jenna, I appreciate a LOT !

  3. Jocelyne, a beautiful job with your post, and you clearly have a new love for orchids…beautiful! Margie

  4. Beautiful colors!! They are really pretty flowers🙂 I’m actually going to the flower district in my city on Saturday so buy some for my house! They have so many types of flowers! I can’t wait🙂

  5. Thank you for this hopeful post. Life is full of surprises indeed !! Amicalement. Evelyne

  6. These are gorgeous photographs, Jocelyne, and I like your use of light and background colour to enhance the orchids natural beauty. I, like you, was not really interested in orchids, for the same reasons as you, until Penny bought some! We now always have one orchid plant in the house, and we get lots of beautiful blooms all year long (indoors of course)! You have inspired me to have a go at some orchid photographs! Don’t worry about your language mistakes! You do very well! I can only speak and write in English and I find that embarrassing when I go abroad! You do great!

    Take care!

    John

    • A big thank you John ! Ha ! I’m relieved ! Not too much mistakes then🙂
      I was reading, just yesterday, about how to work with light when we take a photo. It’s such an important element if we want to have a nice photo. I have so much things to learn about photography yet !
      It’s great I’ve inspired you to photograph your orchid ! Your last photos of the yellow roses and the book were so beautiful, I can only imagine how splendid your photos of that orchid will be if you photograph it.

  7. JimR says:

    Great images Jocelyne.

  8. Madalina Androne says:

    I like very much the photos that you are sharing with us on your blog.
    Keep on!

  9. Je te salue cordialement en cette Fête du Travail et du Muguet ! Amicalement. Evelyne

  10. I have nominated your blog for the Sunshine Award! Thank you for bringing a little sun to my days with each post. Feel free to participate or simply enjoy the recognition of the nomination. http://printsensephotography.com/2012/05/02/sunshine-award-nomination/ ~ Sherene

  11. Judy says:

    Jocelyne! What a beautiful post! I love orchids for the multitude of colors available. We went to a conservatory (indoor plants) on our trip. The orchid room was just stunning. I’ve never seen such variety of colors, petal numbers, growth habit, etc. My pink striped orchid just died after 3 years.;( Your photos are outstanding! I love the background on the last one, the close up photos, and the ones that look like the orchids are on a clothesline! I’ll be looking forward to photos of your kayaks someday. That’s something my husband and I have longed to do.

    • Hi Judy🙂 and thank you ! Your orchid lived only 3 years ? I thought it could live longer than that. That conservatory must have been something to see, orchids are so special. Ha ! a clothesline, that’s funny, I didn’t saw it that way. It’s true, it’s as if they’re hanging on one !
      You can be sure I’ll post some photos when I’ll go kayaking, I hope next week-end. We couldn’t this week-end, we had too much work to do around the yard
      If you ever get a chance to go kayaking, it’s an experience you will never forget. On calm rivers and lakes it’s so peaceful. When I’m paddling I feel as if I am a native American who is going on an adventure !
      Thanks for visiting Judy, I’m sure you have lots of posts on blogs to catch up with !

  12. samacwns says:

    So pretty! My Mom has a simple white and purple orchid that is gorgeous as well. I want to find one like these now too!

  13. fon8987 says:

    Beautiful angle and color, very inspiring!

  14. manufacturing sea kayak Cape Town says:

    Hi, I log on to your blog on a regular basis. Your writing style is awesome, keep it
    up!

  15. Lovely images as always Jocelyne🙂

I'm always happy to read your comments :) Vos commentaires me font toujours plaisir :)

