A horse in spring

Hello my friends !

I wanted to photograph flowering apple trees last week-end and when I arrived at St-Joseph Du Lac where there are many orchards, some trees had only just begun to bloom a few days before.  I was a bit disappointed as I would have loved to have photos of an orchard in full bloom.  But on our way, I found something else.  Something as interesting to photograph as an orchard in full bloom :  Horses.

It seems I can’t resist taking photos of them.  They are so kind, friendly and calm, yet at the same time so majestic and proud.  The  view of a horse grazing in a meadow is so peaceful.  Standing there and contemplating this panorama for a little while made me feel serene and in perfect harmony with nature.

There are so many things I want to photograph this summer but not enough time to do so.  I’m also continuing working on still photography, which is very time-consuming but which I greatly enjoy doing.  I’m keeping these to share with you this fall, but to give you a hint, the last ones I did involved vintage music sheets and a beautiful violin… So very beautiful !

Here’s to a wonderful week !

I’m joining Mary at Little Red House for Mosaic Monday

Jocelyne

28 comments on “A horse in spring

  1. Prem says:

    I love that photo with the fences on both sides. It is so serene looking and brings me to a beautiful imagination.

  2. Some wonderful photos and lighting. The horse and the dandelions shot is beautiful.

  3. Tricia says:

    I know what you mean, I love photographing flowering meadows & horses, too! I take lots of pics of my mom’s horses! Wonderful captures =)

  4. I’m glad spring has finally sprung up there. Down here in Texas we didn’t really have a winter this year, so we’ve been luxuriating in wildflowers since February.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

    • I don’t know how winter usually looks like in Texas, but for many people here in Quebec, having flowers in february is a wild dream !
      Thanks for visiting Steve, I’ll make sure to check out your blog !

      • If you’re curious, you can go to the Archive section in the right-hand column of my and click on February to see what flowers and plants had already appeared here then. It’s been a precocious year.

  5. Anne Jutras says:

    Belle série d’images, Jocelyne! J’aime beaucoup le jeu des clôtures qui dirigent le regard vers les chevaux, c’est bien utilisé.

    Il faut savoir s’adapter et changer son “objectif” d’épaule quand l’inattendu survient. Moi quand je suis allée photographier les pommiers, il n’y avait plus de fleur dans les arbres. Snif! Snif!Je me suis retournée vers les pissenlits.😀

    • Merci Anne🙂 Quand j’ai pris ces photos j’ai pensé que les clôtures feraient un bel avant-plan. Maintenant que tu le soulignes c’est vrai que notre regard est aussitôt dirigé vers les chevaux, je ne l’avais pas vu de cette façon🙂
      C’est bien vrai qu’il faut s’adapter à l’inattendu, et la plupart du temps il y a toujours autre chose à notre portée, il suffit d’avoir les yeux bien ouverts.
      Ah ! les pissenlits ! Ils sont si envahissants mais, Ô comme ils sont magnifiques en photos, J’espère en voir sur ton blog ! Merci de ta visite et de ton commentaire qui sont toujours appréciés.

  6. So beautiful! Great shot, all of them!
    Anne

  7. Jenna says:

    What beautiful photos, as always, Jocelyne! I agree with you about the horses. They are incredible animals with so much poise and beauty. Really some of the most beautiful creatures in the whole world.

    I love your compositions and style of photography. Oooh! I can’t wait to see the vintage sheet music and violin! Sounds so beautiful!

    • Thank you so much Jenna, I’m always so happy to read your comments !
      Since you love my photography, if you’d like to join I have a new Facebook page where I post photos you won’t find here and, of course, photos from my posts here, but not all of them. I also have links to other talented photographers. You can find the link on my sidebar, but no pressure🙂 join only because you’re interested, not because I mentioned it !🙂
      Oh yes, the violin… It’s really beautiful ! But for now I’m concentrating on posting summer photos !

  8. very beautiful ,Thank you .

  9. Judy says:

    Finally I get back to your blog, dear friend! I’m so impressed with your photography! It’s just stunning! Your shots of the horses are so unique…between the fence planks, , looking down the fence line, in the field of dandelions….I love the series! And you did get a great shot of the apple blossoms! The forsythia is gorgeous too. I’m so glad spring has arrived! I can’t wait to see your still photography!
    PS…I just put the second coat of CeCe Caldwell’s paint on my piece of furniture. I’ll apply the wax on Monday. I’m excited! Stay tuned for a post.😉

    • What a nice praise, thank you so much Judy ! I’ve been visiting some wonderful photo blogs lately and I learned a lot from these very talented photographers. One thing I learn is the importance of the foreground and the overall composition that makes a good photo and I think that the fence was a good foreground for these photos. When I took the shot of the apple blossoms I was sure it would be a very ordinary photo but it turned out great. Sometimes photography eludes me…🙂
      Oh, I can’t wait to see your piece of furniture and how it went ! Good luck with the wax !

  10. I love horses!!! My dream is to someday have a big house and own two horses! I love petting them and combing their hair🙂 the colors in your pictures are amazing!! I was wondering how do you do your photography collage, the one with the three pictures together? I would love to do one myself🙂
    ~Adriana

  11. Thank you Adriana ! I wish you your dream come true, if you really believe it can without wavering, it will !
    The collage is very easy to do. All my collages are made with photo editor PhotoScape. You can download the software for free http://www.photoscape.org/ps/main/download.php You can download it from 3 different places, your choice. Once it’s installed you click on the icon on your desktop and when the software opens you click on the “Page” icon. There you will find many layouts ready to use, then you click the one you want. I suggest you change the size of the page you chose for a bigger one, otherwize it will be too small. You do that by clicking the little nutshell icon beside the size. I always choose 300%, that way, after I saved the collage I created, I can resize the collage whenever I want to any other size I choose. You can also add margins and change the background color.
    To your left you will see the folders from your computer where you will retrieve your photos. Once you have clicked on a folder, your photos will appear and you just have to drag them in the layout where the squares or rectangles are positioned. When you are done you click the “Save” icon on the top right. Then you go to the folder where you saved your collage and resize it the size you want.
    Good luck !

  12. Todd Materazzi Photography says:

    Horses are amazing beautiful creatures that can be compared to nothing else. I enjoy all your captures; especially of these beautiful creatures.

    • Thank you very much Todd 🙂
      I agree with you, they are amazing and beautiful creatures. I have so many photos of them, and plan to take more ! I am surrounded by horses, they are everywhere here !
      Thanks for visiting !

  13. Very interesting framing technique🙂 Beautiful as always. I really like the last photo too with the horse walking in the field of flowers🙂 Wonderful Jocelyne🙂

I'm always happy to read your comments :) Vos commentaires me font toujours plaisir :)

