He who plants a garden plants happiness

Hello everybody !

    A little garden in which to walk, an immensity in which to dream

The garden I’m showing you today is a garden dear to my heart.  It’s a beautiful peaceful garden graced by many flowers, shrubs, trees, birds and other garden delights.  It’s a garden I know well and which I’ve returned to for the past eighteen years.  This garden belongs to my in law’s and it’s always a pleasure to stroll down it’s paths toward its different areas.  The basin, the patio with its swing and all the flowers pots and herbs, the rose garden, the rock garden, the beds of hostas, the rudbeckias and echinaceas just to name a few.  All of that always accompanied by bird songs.  Everything in this garden was designed and planted by my in law’s, even the trees.  The arbour and the well were built by my father in law, as well as the rock garden and the Inukshuk.

When I took these photos, the forget-me-not were in full bloom, illuminating the garden with their delicate pale-blue flowers.  It was lovely.  I only photographed the basin and rock garden but I’m thinking of doing another post on other areas of the garden when more flowers will be in bloom.

Each year my mother in law makes a bouquet with lily of the valley

As of my garden, the peonies are about to bloom, then, in the next two weeks, it will be the rose hedge, irises and honeysuckles  which will beg to be photographed.

Do you have a special garden you hold dear in your heart and love to return to ?

Have a great week-end !

Jocelyne

I’m joining Mary at Little Red House for Mosaic Monday.

47 comments on “He who plants a garden plants happiness

  1. “The man who has planted a garden feels that he has done something for the good of the world.” — Vita Sackville-West 
 What a lovely place they have created.

  2. Absolutely gorgeous! Would love to explore your garden.

  3. Beautiful Garden – great photos – love the design elements, like the wishing well. Have a Great Weekend!

  4. JimR says:

    Nice post Jocelyne. I love the peaceful images.

  5. Gretta Faun says:

    Beautiful garden! Very romantic. Lily of the valley is my favorite flower. Thank you for this pleasure:0)

  6. PJ Girl says:

    I’d love to walk in this garden… you’ve captured the light so beautifully!

    • Thank you very much PJ Girl ! It was a beautiful day and this garden has lots of shade, so it helped to have a less harsh light and obtain this quality of light.
      Thank you very much for the follow !

  7. Shutterbug Sage says:

    Such beautiful shots!

  8. Judy says:

    Oh my Jocelyne! This is a stunningly beautiful garden! Thank you for taking us on a lovely walk through it! I just love what your in-laws have done. They are master gardeners, for sure. I would find it very hard to stay away from it! Your photos are just magnificent. I can feel the peace through your images. You always have that delightful softness and lovely bokeh in your photos.

    • Thank you very much Judy ! I’m glad I could capture the peacefulness of the garden in these photos. What impresses me the most is the fact that my in-laws are going to be 72 this summer and they’re still maintaining the garden. It’s not a small garden !
      Thank you so much for the nice compliments on my photos, it means a lot !

  9. Bon week-end à toi Jocelyne ! Quelle jolie promenade tu offres à travers tes photos de jardin. Comme le commente Judy, elles donnent un sentiment de paix comme les jardins savent en offrir. A bientôt. Amicalement. Evelyne

    • Merci Evelyne ! Je suis si heureuse de constater que la tranquilité qui émane de ce jardin ait pu transparaître à travers mes photos. Je suis contente que tu ais aimé cette promenade !
      Bon week-end !

  10. Wow!! These are amazing Jocelyne!!! You have a wonderful talent taking pictures😀 I hope you don’t mind I want to save some and add them to my computer desktop🙂 I feel like walking in a beautiful garden right now!
    ~Adriana

    • Thank you so much for your compliments on my photography Adriana !🙂 It’s great knowing other people love my work !
      It’s fine, you can save photos for your desktop, no problem🙂
      Images have that power of transporting us through time and space and anywhere we want, don’t they ?

  11. Jenna says:

    Oh, Jocelyne, how I wish I had a breathtaking garden like this to visit. It is so beautiful! When seeing this post, I can almost smell the flowers and hear the birds. It’s so wonderful! Your in-laws are very talented at gardening. What an oasis this is. Thank you for sharing it with us! The only garden I tend to visit is my own. I’m definitely not gifted when it comes to growing plants and flowers, but every year I like to try.

    Great post!

    • You have found the right word Jenna, an oasis, it’s exactly what it is. Is there any public garden to visit where you live ? Many towns have their own gardens open to public but we simply don’t know about it. I found one in my town 2 years ago, I had no idea it was there and it’s a beautiful garden.
      If you’re not gifted at growing plants it is probably because of a lack of knowledge about plants. Each plants have their own unique requirements and when you learn about it and give them what they need, you see major improvements. Some need a rich soil, like hostas, peonies and roses, you need to add compost and fertilizers, some need a poor soil like lavender, some need an acid soil like hydrangeas and blueberries, you need to add an acidifier in spring and summer. The soil is very important, if you have too much clay in it only a few plants will grow well. Sometimes the soil is so bad, we have to change it completely for a better one. So it’s only a matter of learning what they need, same thing for annuals. You should have seen my annuals in pots a few year back, I was incapable of growing them and now my pots are beautiful. Don’t lose faith ! Buy a good book on perennials and annuals and keep trying !🙂
      Thank you for your comment Jenna !

      • Jenna says:

        That’s so informative and helpful, Jocelyne. Thanks for the great information on how I can better my gardening skills!🙂

        Yes, there are some pretty garden areas around, but the nearest town to me is a half-hour drive, so I would have to make a special trip for it. I do love visiting greenhouses though. They are so cheerful.

      • You’re welcome Jenna !
        If you have questions about gardening don’t hesitate to contact me, it would be a pleasure to help. I’ve been gardening for the past 20 years and I’ve learned a thing or two about plants😉

  12. montucky says:

    My, what a beautiful garden!

  13. Anne Jutras says:

    awww…. les jardins anglais, je les trouve tellement charmant et envoûtant! La passion des fleurs est presque aussi prenant que celui de la photographie. Je craque pour ta dernière image, elle est superbe. Quel douceur s’en dégage! J’aime aussi le montage que tu as fait au début du blog, est-ce c’est créé dans photoshop, ou ailleurs?

    En tout cas, ça doit être relaxant et envoûtant de se promener dans ton jardin, tant de belles fleurs à humer.😉

    • Merci Anne !🙂 Ah oui ! la passion des fleurs est très prenante mais tellement satisfaisante, comme la photo. J’ai ces 2 passions alors je ne m’ennuie jamais ! Je suis bien contente que tu aimes ma dernière photo, j’ai réussi à lui donner ce feeling de douceur et légèreté que je recherchais et j’aime beaucoup le résultat.
      J’ai fait le montage avec l’éditeur photo Photoscape, je fais souvent des collages avec cet éditeur parce que c’est très rapide. Je te mets ici un collé/copié d’un commentaire que j’ai fait à une lectrice qui me demandais comment je faisais mes collages.
      Merci de ta visite et commentaire que j’apprécie toujours !

      The collage is very easy to do. All my collages are made with photo editor PhotoScape. You can download the software for free http://www.photoscape.org/ps/main/download.php You can download it from 3 different places, your choice. Once it’s installed you click on the icon on your desktop and when the software opens you click on the “Page” icon. There you will find many layouts ready to use, then you click the one you want. I suggest you change the size of the page you chose for a bigger one, otherwize it will be too small. You do that by clicking the little nutshell icon beside the size. I always choose 300%, that way, after I saved the collage I created, I can resize the collage whenever I want to any other size I choose. You can also add margins and change the background color.
      To your left you will see the folders from your computer where you will retrieve your photos. Once you have clicked on a folder, your photos will appear and you just have to drag them in the layout where the squares or rectangles are positioned. When you are done you click the “Save” icon on the top right. Then you go to the folder where you saved your collage and resize it the size you want.
      Good luck !

      Et ce 2ème commentaire :

      Adriana, I found a tutorial on a blog on how to make mosaics. It’s not with PhotoScape but with a site called Big Huge Labs. http://bighugelabs.com/mosaic.php

      The tutorial here :
      http://dearlittleredhouse.blogspot.ca/2009/07/making-photo-mosaics-tutorial.html

  14. musenwrite says:

    Hello, it feels so relaxing and refreshing to look at your wonderful garden. I will look forward to your photographs of rose hedges and irises! A lovely passion🙂 My passion is writing – short stories and poetry. I was wondering, if you are into reading ebooks about fiction- with a touch of adventure and inspiration, then may be you could check out my blog at your own leisure http://musewithcoffee.wordpress.com, my latest ebook: 12 Precious Anecdotes from Life – a novella of such a genre has been released at Amazon http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0087OXSS2 , and I posted the synopsis at my blog. I wish you a great week ahead.

  15. what a lovely garden. I love gardens with different “rooms” and themes – and paths and arbors that lead from one to another. Obviously this one has been a labour of love for your in-laws. Thank you for sharing it with us – it has brought a touch of summer to my otherwise wet windy and wild winters day here. and have a wonderful week.

    • Thank you so much Jill ! Yes, it was a labour of love and it still is. I’m glad I could brought a little summer amidst your winter days. Blogs are wonderful for that, we can travel around the world and see so many wonderful photos !
      Thank you for visiting !

  16. Good Morning, Jocelyn

    This garden is so wonderful. I really like the curve of the arbour, the well (and how you captured the light playing on it), the mass of flowers…
    How nice that this garden is “in the family” and that you get to visit it regularly.

    -Karen

  17. Absolutely pure loveliness!

  18. Hi Jocelyn! This is truly a magical garden and I can so see why you love to visit it. It’s lovely of you to share with all of us.

    Thank you for stopping by and I do hope you make it to Paris AND London!

    – g

    • Hi Georgianna🙂 Photographing this garden was a real pleasure, I just couldn’t stop taking photos !
      I’m sure you can relate to that🙂
      Yes, Paris AND London, I can’t wait !
      Thank you for stopping by.

  19. Sheila says:

    Thank you for the lovely walk through your garden – really beautiful.

  20. questionsansfin says:

    Very beautiful picture and garden !🙂

I'm always happy to read your comments :) Vos commentaires me font toujours plaisir :)

