Dear lavender

Hello dear friends !

Lavender is very high on my list of favourite flowers.  How I would love to travel to Provence to see its magnificent lavender fields !  Much closer to where I live are the beautiful lavender fields of Bleu Lavande located in the eastern townships in Fitch Bay.  After two and a half hours drive from home I can walk in Bleu Lavande’s fields and admire their 110,000 beautiful lavender plants.  On some days they have open air concerts, and walking or sitting in the fields with the lingering sounds of a violin floating in the air and enveloping the fields is a most calming experience. It’s a marvelous way of leaving all worries behind and spend a few hours relaxing and wandering around the fields.  They also have the most gorgeous boutique filled with exquisite products made with essential oil coming from their plants.  This is where I bought my lavender plants.  It was out of question that I was going to buy them from my local green house, they had to come from Bleu Lavande !  I bought three plants and a few weeks ago, when they were blooming, I sacrificed a whole plant just to make photos.  One must really love photography to sacrifice a whole plant of lavender, I’m telling you !  But now I have a beautiful bouquet of dried lavender.

A portion of Bleu Lavande’s fields

My lavender

I’m heading towards the first year anniversary of this blog.  When I started last September, the orientation and main focus of my blog was to be about decoration, crafts, painting projects and antique and vintage finds, all of which I am passionate about, and I never intended it to be a photography blog.  So what happened ?  I had always been interested in photography but I had put it aside for the past six years.   Starting this blog re-ignited my interest in photography and now it has grown to become a great passion.  You cannot imagine all I have learned in the past ten months.  From my new camera to photography basics and more, to photo editing with Corel then Photoshop.  It has been an amazing ten months of creativity and learning.  I hope you will follow me along in my photographic journey.  And I would like to say a big thank you to all my followers and subscribers, and to all who take the time to leave me comments, without you it wouldn’t be the same.  All your comments and visits are greatly appreciated and mean a lot to me.

I’m wishing you all a great end of summer !

Jocelyne

54 comments on “Dear lavender

  1. 1cruzdelsur says:

    Your post reminded me of a road between Grenoble and the Mediterranean in the south of France. But I would also like to know the fields of lavender in your beautiful country. Your blog is wonderful, let flow the inspiration that you have great taste in all topics and issues, everything is art and always expect us For your stories.

  2. photobach says:

    Superbe série, j’adore bravo

  3. JARDIN ANGLAIS - Evelyne says:

    Magnifiques photos et une mention spéciale pour la photo au charme ancien du sépia ! Talentueuse Jocelyne, je te souhaite une bonne journée ! Amicalement. Evelyne

  4. Beautiful post. You should indeed be concentrating on your photography. You have the eye. I learned so much from posting on flickr. What a wonderful way to get critiques , advice and the praise that encourages to go on.

    • Thank you so much Linda 🙂 I agree, Flickr is a great community of photographers and I love to see other people’s work. I never had critiques yet, but some comments made me saw my photos with new eyes. Thanks for visiting Linda !

  5. Emily Gooch says:

    You’ve captured the amazing beauty of my most favorite flower. Glad you’ve chosen the photography route. It’s obvious from your photos, you have a lot of passion and talent for it.🙂

  6. Jenna says:

    What beautiful flowers, Jocelyne! I can see why they are one of your favorites. The colors are so vibrant. Congratulations on your upcoming anniversary. It is always a joy to come to this blog and see what’s new. Keep it up!

  7. Anne Jutras says:

    Ah, l’odeur de la lavande, c’est vraiment unique! Je suis allée visiter Bleu Lavande l’année dernière, mais la floraison était déjà terminé et cette année je n’y suis pas allée. Zut de zut!!! Je vais me reprendre l’année prochaine. En attendant, je vais profiter de tes jolies photos. Ton bouquet est superbe, la photographe en toi a fait des sacrifices. hihi!

    Un an pour ton blog, bravo! Tu parles de mutation et que la photo est venue se greffer à tes autres passions. Moi aussi, de mon côté, je veux intégrer des nouveaux sujets. C’est normal, je crois. Surtout lorsqu’on a plus qu’une passion. Bonne continuité, chère Jocelyne!

    Et bonne fin d’été! xx

    • Merci beaucoup Anne ! Moi aussi quand j’y suis allée la floraison était presque terminée. Le meilleur temps pour y aller est à partir de la deuxième semaine de juillet jusqu’à la première semaine d’août. Moi aussi je veux y retourner l’été prochain.
      C’est merveilleux d’avoir plusieurs passions, on ne s’ennuie jamais mais on manque toujours de temps !
      J’ai bien hâte de voir ça ton “nouveau” blog !
      À bientôt Anne ! xxx

  8. Wonderful shots. I can even smell the refreshing fragrance through your post.😀

  9. You should follow your heart, go to Provonce, the wild lavender fields are truly a magical and beautiful. I went to study essential oils there and we spent the day up in the mountains, what a blessed visit and memory;-)

  10. I love lavender and your pictures make it looks so wonderful. I love your pictures. I am hoping to get a lavender plant from a co-worker when she digs some up this fall and then hopefully will have them in my garden.

    • Thank you so much Marlys ! And lavender IS wonderful !
      It’s very easy to grow lavender, they need a poor soil, so never fertilize them. They also love to be planted on a mound. I hope you co-worker can give you some !

  11. I once had the pleasure of visiting Bleu Lavande, in the rain. Your photos are exquisite and timeless, Jocelyne.

    • Thank you so much for such a wonderful comment Karen !
      Oh no ! Not in the rain ! I hope you get another chance to visit, but this time under the sun so you can fully appreciate the beauty of Bleu Lavande.

  12. JimR says:

    Lovely images and nice post Jocelyne. When we were in Rome a few years ago, at Villa Borghese, the garden was full of lavender. The scent was so “soothing” I was totally relaxed for the rest of the day. When we came home we bought 2 large tubs of lavender and placed them on either side of our garden bench where we often sit and “chill out” with a glass of wine and the fragrance.

    • What better way to relax ? Lavender and wine, a perfect combination ! My plants are not as near to my patio and porch as your’s but you gave me a good idea. I could buy some and plant them in containers and place them on my porch for the summer.
      Thank you for your comment Jim, I appreciate !

  13. Lisa Gordon says:

    Jocelyne, each of these photographs is so very beautiful.
    One of my favorite flowers!
    Congratulations on almost one year.
    I am truly glad you are here.
    Have a wonderful weekend!

  14. Drenagoram says:

    Bonsoir Jocelyne ,

    Votre Passion entre Lignes , se Devine Hors Saisons ,
    Sur un Fond d’Emotions , Tissées dès l’Origine ,
    Par de la Dentelle Fine , Accueillant au Salon ,
    Le Mauve à l’Horizon , d’un Brin de Lavande Sublime .
    ~
    NéO~
    ~
    Becs pour la Rime😉

  15. It is really great to read how doing this blog has re-ignited your passion for photography and it is clearly seen in your images. I really like the second, sixth and last images, oh and by the way the font in your watermark is terrific

  16. Todd Materazzi Photography says:

    The Bleu Lavande’s fields are amazing! These colors work so well together and are so easy on the eyes. I hope your end of summer and fall brings opportunities that can be shared here; looking forward to seeing more.

  17. Oh my favorite fragrance and flower in the world ! I can smell the lavender from your beautiful photos.
    Thank you so much for stopping by my blog and liking my post on Free-Spirit. Hope to see you back soon! Bella

  18. Photography by Gisele Morgan says:

    beautiful images – love lavender ♥

  19. Beautiful photos! I did the same thing, started a garden blog and became obsessed with photography! Just bought my first DSLR last week :)!

  20. A beautiful post and photos of my favourite plant and colour. I’m visiting from Ontario as Karen at My Little Home and Garden and lives in Ontario too suggested I’d like your blog.
    I think blogging has encouraged many of us to become better photographers while the professionals inspire us to learn from them.
    Judith

    • Hi Judith and welcome to my blog 🙂 I’m always happy when I find Canadian bloggers !
      Thank you for your compliments on my post, I really appreciate.
      I agree, my photography has improved since I started this blog. And now, with Internet, we have access to so many wonderful and talented photographers. I find great inspiration and I’m learning a lot through their blogs.
      Thank you for visiting !

  21. Hi! I love this purple it’s so soft and beautiful! Summer went by so quickly! I am going to miss the bright colors. Time to say goodbye to summer and say hello to fall. I’m happy because it’s my birthday season🙂
    Adri

    • I am going to miss summer too, it is so short, but fall is another wonderful season and very colourful too with lots of photos opportunities. My birthday is in summer, it is August 15th, I hope you’ll have lots of fun for your birthday Adri !

  22. drawandshoot says:

    Jocelyne, these are gorgeous images! Lavender is beautiful.

  23. I recently signed up for your blog after receiving some very encouraging comments from you about my blog which features flowers, birds, landscapes and much more.
    You have shared so many wonderful photographs of your gardens which have a soft, whimsical feeling as well as great technical expertise.
    Congratulations on having the discipline to share this special side of yourself with so many people on your blog.

    • Hi Jane !
      Thank you so much for following me and for such very kind words on my photography, it means a lot to me, really.🙂 I have signed for your blog too !
      I have plenty of time to prepare posts and share them here because I don’t work. And yet, I only post 2 or 3 times a month. I found my cruising speed and I’m happy with it.
      I’m always happy to see a new post from you and I’m looking forward to the next one !

  24. Judy says:

    I didn’t comment? How did I miss this? The lavender is stunning! Your photos are flat-out magazine quality. I absolutely LOVE this post! oo la la….

I'm always happy to read your comments :) Vos commentaires me font toujours plaisir :)

