Textures : An artistic touch

Hello !

The first and foremost reason why I have learned to work with layers in Photoshop was because I wanted to create artistic images.  I was seeing all these beautiful photos on blogs which were displaying a gradation or hint of colour and scratches in their backgrounds, some had a wonderful vintage look and others looked like paintings.  I so loved these photos and I was so inspired by all these blogs.  When I finally learned how  to work with layers, a whole new world opened before me.  I had discovered a way to be creative and give my photos a more personal touch.

When I choose a photo to work with, I envision and sense what I want the image to convey.  And from that, the choice of textures will infuse the image with an ambiance, an emotion or a surreal feel.  While I love transforming my photos, I try not to denature them to the point where the qualities of the photos are lost, but rather just transform them in a subtle and gentle way while conserving their essential qualities.

Here are a few photos I took this summer.

St-Simon Les Mines

A barn at St-Simon Les Mines

Autumn path in a wood near my home.

St-Lawrence River at Cap De Bon Désir where I have seen the great blue whale.

Chaudière River at Notre-Dame Des Pins

Covered bridge on Chaudière River in Notre-Dame Des Pins

My greatest inspiration in art images is professional photographer Sarah Gardner.  She has mastered the art of textures and each of her images are pure beauties.  To me, she is the high priestess of textures  :)   and I’ve learned so much from her in her beautiful and wonderful new book “Art Beyond The Lens”.  If you would like to learn how to work with textures then this is the book to own.  It’s a beautiful book filled with many of her photos, tutorials and tips on how to apply and work with textures, and the book is beautiful enough to sit on a coffee table.  You can buy it here  and visit her blog here.

I hope you are all doing fine and having a nice end of autumn.  Here the weather is great, it’s 16°C and guess what ?, I’m off on my bike to take more landscape photos !

Have a nice week everybody !

Jocelyne

58 comments on “Textures : An artistic touch

  1. Wonderful work. I too love applying textures.

  2. 1cruzdelsur says:

    A very artistic and beautiful work … Thanks for sharing your art.

  3. Judy says:

    Jocelyne…..you always do such lovely work. You never have to worry about “going too far” with your textures. Your work is stunning. Hard edges are softened, deep colors are muted and everything is easy on the eyes…. Beautiful.

    • Hi Judy ! 🙂 Oh…thank you thank you ! You have given such a nice description of what textures can do to a photo. Mostly that’s what I aim for, softened, muted and a vintage feel.
      I didn’t forget you, I still have to send you the links where to buy textures. I’ll do that this week.
      Hope you’ll have a nice week !

  4. JARDIN ANGLAIS - Evelyne says:

    Bonne semaine à toi également, Jocelyne. Quelle belle série de photos encore ! Un bonheur pour les mirettes ! Biz

  5. photocris says:

    que c’est beau ! bravo ! du travail de grand art …

  6. JimR says:

    Beautiful images Jocelyne. The “autumn path” and ” the barn” are lovely compositions.

  7. thierryjan says:

    très joli travail😉

  8. These are a relly terrific set of images Jocelyne and the simplicity of the first shot has me repeated returning to look at this stunning image and the textural finish. It is just perfect!

    • Thanks a lot James !
      It’s funny how we often look for grand landscapes to photograph and overlook simpler ones like this photo. Yet, they make beautiful photos too. It’s a good observation and it makes me want to capture more of these simple scenes. I like how they convey a serene feeling.
      Thanks again James for such nice compliments, it is greatly appreciated !

  9. Photography by Gisele Morgan says:

    I love every single one of these images. Your use of textures really compliments your already beautiful work. Sarah Gardner is awesome – I love her elegant style ♥

  10. Beautiful Photos – thanks for sharing! Happy Monday:)

  11. Anne Jutras says:

    Superbe! Les textures ajoutent une belle touche artistique. C’est très réussi! Et ta signature est très belle. Est-elle nouvelle? Je n’avais pas remarqué…

    • Merci Anne, tes compliments me font très plaisir !
      Ma signature n’est pas nouvelle, c’est celle que j’utilise depuis quelques mois et je crois bien que je vais la garder pour un bon bout de temps, je trouve qu’elle me va comme un gant ! 🙂
      J’espère que tu as passé une belle fin de semaine à ton exposition !

  12. Madeleine says:

    Jocelyne tes photos sont superbes,Tu nous aides a aimer encore plus notre belle Beauce….

  13. Wow, very inspiring work!🙂 Difficult to choose a favorite, but I think the covered bridge image in very special. Thanks for sharing such beautiful art Jocelyne!!!

    • Jeffrey…Thank you a thousand times ! I wanted to photograph the covered bridge for quite some time and I’m glad I finally did it. It became one of my favourite landscape photos.
      Thanks so much for visiting and leaving such nice compliments on my photos🙂

  14. Lisa Gordon says:

    Jocelyn, these are just beautiful!
    You have done such wonderful work here.
    I especially love the last two.
    Have a fantastic week ahead.

    • Thank you so much Lisa🙂
      I saw that your blog got a new facelift, it’s beautiful ! It seems I don’t get your posts in my reader anymore so I’ll follow you through my e-mail. I’ll visit your blog soon to catch up with your posts.
      Have a great end of week !

  15. These are exquisite! I especially love the top one, and the one of the river. Gorgeous and also inspiring.

  16. David says:

    The autumn path is very, very pretty. Beautiful collection of work.

  17. Beautiful work Jocelyne. Love them all.

  18. Georgianna says:

    Jocelyne, these are simply gorgeous images. Every single one. And your use of textures is perfect. What a treat to see these! So nice of you to acknowledge Sarah, too. She’s wonderful. xo

  19. Marceline says:

    j’aime beaucoup ce traitement sur tes photos, elles sont belles et empreintes de nostalgie comme les vieilles cartes postales.. merci de ton passage sur mon blog, a bientôt Jocelyne, bisous à toi

  20. Jenna says:

    Excellent photos, Jocelyne. Without a doubt, you have got the artistic touch that makes an already beautiful photograph a masterpiece. I love the Chaudiere River one the most. Truly breathtaking! Well done!

    • Oh Jenna, thank you so much ! A masterpiece, wow ! I’m amazed to see how people view my work. Sometimes I think a photo is just ordinary and someone else will find it very beautiful, how funny ! Saying that my photo is a masterpiece is such a great compliment, I’m amazed ! You made my day ! 🙂

  21. I love the vintage/antique look of your pictures. I’ve recently tried this look out on some of my pictures and I really like the results.

  22. Hi Jocelyne! Love love love all of your pictures🙂 you capture every beautiful moment in every picture you take!

  23. Beautiful. I love the way you use texture overlays.

  24. Fantastic recommendation and what you do with your photos are absolutely amazing. I love the artistic effects you give them. I have so much to learn from you.🙂

    • Bella, thank you so much for these kind words, they mean a lot !
      I am so humble you can learn from my photos. A part of blogging is to connect and share our knowledge with others, I am glad I can contribute to that. I have learned so much from other bloggers,and I’m sure I will learn something from your photos too🙂

  25. innamazing says:

    I really like these! J’aime beaucoup (was that right?)

    • Hi Innamazing ! I’m so sorry I’m responding so late, but I never received your comment in my notifications or in my e-mail. WordPress glitch….
      Thank you very much, I really appreciate and yes, you got it right !
      Have a nice week !

  26. Grndma Chris says:

    Photoshop is a wonderful tool and one that I am learning to use. It’s so complex that it will take me a while to figure it out. Great work.

    • Thank you Grndma Chris 🙂 Yes, Photoshop is complex but there are many many tutorials on the net on YouTube and also on Adobe website. There’s also many great books, look for those from Scott Kelby, he’s really good. And if you have questions, don’t hesitate to ask me, I’d be glad if I can help🙂

  27. Love the rich tones and textures, the effect really enhances. Wonderful landscapes🙂

I'm always happy to read your comments :) Vos commentaires me font toujours plaisir :)

