The last flowers

Hello dear friends !

Now that all the flowers are gone and the trees are bare and most days are cloudy and rainy, it feels a little boring and I am so ready for snow !  But before forgetting all about flowers and plunging head first into winter, I have a few more flowers photos to share with you.  Autumn flowers of course !  I don’t have a lot of them but I have a few I really love.  As all the other flowers have stopped blooming, these few last blooms takes center stage and become my autumn stars.

John Cabot climbing roses

Wild asters

A beautiful pink bush at the Arboretum

Alma Poetschke asters

Arctanthemum

Verbena and Alma Poetschke

Two weeks ago I had to send my camera away for repair.  I was reluctant to go the camera shop knowing it will be many weeks before they return it to me.  I really miss my camera, I think I even had some withdrawal symptoms  :)

Last friday I spent the day in downtown Montreal and I would have loved to photograph the beautiful old buildings and surroundings of Mc Gill University.  I also went to the Musée Des Beaux Arts, another wonderful building with great architecture.  I saw an exhibition of the Impressionists, a lot of the paintings were from Renoir and Pissarro, and I couldn’t take one single photo.

Fortunately I have some photos in my archives that I never shared, some from a day I spent this summer in Old Quebec city, and it will probably be the subject of my next post.

Enjoy your week, I hope it won’t rain all week-long !

Jocelyne

59 comments on “The last flowers

  1. Anne Jutras says:

    Que c’est beau! Que c’est beau! Tes images ont une touche vintage que j’adore! Chaque photo est une réussite, la lumière, la composition et le soupçon de texture appliqué avec goût. Bravo!

    Oh, comme ton appareil doit te manquer! C’est quand on en est privé qu’on se rend compte à quel point ça nous est important, voire vital.😉 J’espère que tu l’auras bientôt!

    En attendant, tu peux utiliser ton cell, c’est mieux que rien.😀

    • Merci beaucoup Anne 🙂 Comme ça me fait plaisir ton beau commentaire ! Je mets ici plusieurs bonhommes sourires parce qu’en lisant ton commentaire ça été ma réaction, un gros sourire ! 🙂 🙂 🙂
      Oh oui, mon appareil me manque. Peut être que je l’aurai à la mi-décembre. J’ai un Canon aussi, ce n’est pas un aussi bon appareil, ce n’est pas un SLR, mais il fera la job en attendant,et mon cell. aussi.
      Passe une très belle semaine, ici ils annoncent beau finalement.

  2. Gracie says:

    These are really nice, Jocelyne. I like the soft colors on the photos and the textures that you used on a couple of them.

  3. elisaruland says:

    I love the soft, romantic look of your photographs. Really very pretty!
    Elisa

  4. montucky says:

    What a nice selection to remember through the cold of winter!

  5. janina says:

    I like how you capture the light. These are wonderful and my faves are the bottom and third from the bottom. Such vibrance and delicacy. Liked.

  6. JimR says:

    Beautiful images Jocelyne. Sorry to hear about your camera. It’s funny how you “see” the shots you want when you don’t have your camera with you

  7. David says:

    Beautiful, beautiful photos. I especially like the John Cabot roses and the wild asters.

  8. Lisa Gordon says:

    Jocelyne, each of these is so beautiful!
    It is surely hard to choose a favorite, but I think I will go with the second one. I love the simplicity, composition, and light in that one. Just gorgeous.
    I hope you are having a wonderful day!
    xo.

  9. PJ Girl says:

    The pink asters are so pretty and you’ve captured them perfectly🙂

  10. tess says:

    What a beautiful way to photograph flowers. I need to go out a photograph nature.

  11. Evelyne says:

    Encore une magnifique série de photos ! Amicalement. Evelyne

  12. Stunning! Your image of the Arctanthemum has taken my breathe away and as for Alma Poetschke asters wow and wow, sublimely beautiful.

  13. Whoops! I forgot to mention that I hope you get your camera back soon.

  14. You really have way of capturing flowers in the most beautiful way, Jocelyne! I hope your camera returns to you soon.

  15. Hi Jocelyne! I love these new photos (no surprise there, since I love all your work). I hope you’ll get your camera back soon. It seems to never fail, that when I go somewhere and forget my camera, or decided not to bring it, then you see many opportunities to get some great shots, lol. But I try to look at it as I’m sure you do, just enjoy the moment and look forward to when you do have your camera for the next time🙂 Have a wonderful week!

    • Thank you Jeffrey ! You have a good point about enjoying the moment. It’s good to leave the camera at home sometimes and just enjoy whatever we’re doing. When I have my camera with me I’m in my bubble and all I think of is photos photos photos ! So for a little while I’ll just relax and think of what I’ll photograph when my camera returns.
      Also, a big thank you for liking my FB page ! I hope you’ll have an enjoyable week and a wonderful Thanksgiving 🙂

  16. Jenna says:

    Jocelyne, I am late to come and comment on this post, but as always, your photography amazes me. They are so lovely, and you really have a wonderful way of giving them a patina. It’s beautiful! I just purchased a new camera and am realizing how complex the DSLR cameras are! It must be so hard waiting for your camera to come back; I hope the repairs are successful so you can get back to photography soon.

    • Thank you Jenna for these kind words, I really appreciate each of ;your visits and comments 🙂
      Oh ! how exciting ! Did you buy the Nikon D-7000 ? Yes it’s complex but I try to learn one thing at a time, there’s so much features inside these cameras ! I had my camera seven months ago and I still have to learn everything about auto-focus, I’m focusing manually for the moment. If you have questions don’t hesitate, I’d be happy to help if I can🙂
      Yes, I miss my camera, I’m hoping to get it back by the middle of December, finger crossed ! But if I had it right now I wouldn’t be able to use it, I have an injury in one of my shoulder and can hardly lift my arm. I hope this injury heals soon so I can use my camera when I get it back.

      • Oh my goodness Jocelyne, I feel your pain ! I had the same problem back in January. My camera was on the fritz and I got tennis elbow. Heal your injury quickly, or go grab that tripod!

      • Jenna says:

        You’re welcome. Your photos really do amaze me.🙂 Thank you! Yes, I chose the D7000. It is so big and complex and exciting all at once. I am studying the owner’s manual and testing out the many features. There is so much to learn (thus the lack of posts on my own blog lately – I hope to make a new post soon). Thank you for the offer to help me. It means so much, and you may well be hearing from me as I go.🙂 I hope your shoulder is healing well – it sounds painful! Take care of yourself. I hope your feeling better when your camera comes back too.

      • Hi Bella ! Oh ! So you know the pain an inflammation can cause in a wrist, an elbow or a shoulder ! I was thinking of using my tripod more often if the problem in my shoulder, a capsulitis, doesn’t heal quickly but yesterday I had a cortisone injection and it should solve the problem quickly.
        Happy week-end ! 🙂

      • Thank you Jenna🙂 Oh ! I can’t wait to see your photos with the D7000 !!

  17. Marie-Charlotte says:

    j’adore ce côté vintage de tes photos !! ces couleurs pastels sont magnifiques ! et la dernière photo me fait penser à un tableau. D’ailleurs, je cherche des vases un peu bleutés comme ceux qui sont sur tes photos pour la décoration de mes tables pour mon mariage religieux l’année prochaine.
    Courage jusqu’à décembre pour ton retrouver ton appareil photo chéri !

  18. Down here in central Texas the wildflowers linger into December, and in a mild winter even into January or February. That was the case in the winter of 2011-12, when they never completely went away.

    • Hi Steve ! Wow, it’s definitely not the case here, there’s no more flowers when we reach the end of October. It looks like last winter was mild in a lot of places, it was the case here too and we didn’t had much snow.

  19. Georgianna says:

    Hello, dear Jocelyne! Such beautiful, bright images – how wonderful to have such late bloomers in your garden. A few days ago I cut the last of the roses and now it has indeed rained every single day. But very typical for November. Have a wonderful weekend. xo

    • Thank you very much Georgianna ! The flowers were all gone by the end of October. I hope your roses come back next year as beautiful as they were this summer, you have such wonderful flowers. I hope you have a great weekend too ! xo

  20. Hope you had a great Thanksgiving and are in the midst of a great Thanksgiving weekend!

    • Hi Russel ! How nice of you to visit in the middle of Thanksgiving weekend ! Here in Canada we celebrated our Thanksgiving last October. Our Thanksgiving is not as celebrated as yours, I envy you for that ! Christmas is our most important celebration here.
      I hope your Thanksgiving is filled with fun and family reunion ! Happy Thanksgiving 🙂

  21. Sheila says:

    It’ll be nice to keep flowers like these in mind through the winter! I love the haziness of these. It gives them an antique kind of a look. I’m ready for snow now too! People think I’m crazy when I say that but I figure if it’s going to be cold then there might as well be snow to play in.

  22. PhotosAbitibi says:

    J’aime cette douceur qu’inspire tes photos

  23. Lovely! I love flowers🙂 I have been meaning to ask you, how do you make your pictures have such beautiful colors? It’s a really pretty soft and bright color! I tried to make some pictures like yours, but it just doesn’t seem to work.

    • Hi Adri ! and thank you !
      If you want to add softness and bright colours to your photos you need to know how to work with layers in Photoshop and I’m thinking of doing a tutorial to explain this. I can’t explain layers within the comments, it would be too long and a tutorial will be much better. In case you know how to work with layers, to add softness and bright colours I’ll often add textures, gradient or solid colours to my photos.
      I hope this helps. If it doesn’t, you’ll learn all about it when I’ll make a tutorial.
      Have a nice week !

      • Thanks Jocelyne! I will try this out! My sister has Photoshop on her laptop so I will ask her if I can borrow it and play around with the colors🙂 that’s really nice of you that you are going to do a tutorial! Sign me up🙂

  24. Hi Adri ! and thank you !
    If you want to add softness and bright colours to your photos you need to know how to work with layers in Photoshop and I’m thinking of doing a tutorial to explain this. I can’t explain layers within the comments, it would be too long and a tutorial will be much better. In case you know how to work with layers, to add softness and bright colours I’ll often add textures, gradient or solid colours to my photos.
    I hope this helps. If it doesn’t, you’ll learn all about it when I’ll make a tutorial.
    Have a nice week !

  25. Lovely pictures. EACH one of them!

I'm always happy to read your comments :) Vos commentaires me font toujours plaisir :)

