Portraits sessions

Hello everybody !

I would never have thought I’d be interested in doing portraits.  To me, portraits were a little boring, often taken in a studio with no accessories and a colourless or black background.  I realized I wasn’t interested in these kind of portraits and that I much preferred portraits taken in natural light and in beautiful locations.  When my niece and her boyfriend visited and stayed a few days last August, I thought it would be a nice opportunity to try portraits.  Fanny was such a good model, she naturally knew how to pose.  She really has a talent for this, it was so easy working with her.  I had a great time taking these photos even if we ended-up with a few mosquito bites, especially Fanny !  From now on, at each of her visits a portrait session will be on the agenda.  She has become my muse in portraits🙂

Fanny and Francis

This autumn I also did a session with an acquaintance of mine who wanted photos of her six months old baby girl.  When I arrived at our meeting place she was also accompanied by her mother and by her dog, a very friendly bulldog named Major.  It was another great experience, I took 220 photos on that session !  For now, I only have permission to show a photo of her mother and one of her and her dog.  I do hope I’ll have permission for more, and if so I’ll make another post to share photos of her baby girl.

These portraits sessions were great experiences and I hope I can find more people who would like to have a session with me.

From time to time I like to share blogs I really love, and today I’m introducing you to Christian’s blog.   In his blog you will see photos of nature, flowers, insects, birds and landscape.  I especially love his landscape photos, they are so beautiful !  Christian lives in France, his blog is in french but there’s no need to speak french to look at his beautiful photos.  You can go to his blog here.  You can also see much more of his photos here

I hope you all have a lovely week-end ahead !

Jocelyne

51 comments on “Portraits sessions

  1. And what an honor it is when someone trusts you to take their picture. It is so personal and so special. Lovely photos.

    • You’re so right Linda, it’s such an honor. And we have to be attentive to the person’s desires for their photos and not only do what we would prefer. That is something I learned. Thank you for your kind words !

  2. Pantxika says:

    Ma préférence… la photo du tête à tête entre le gros toutou et cette jolie demoiselle !… et j’ai aimé aussi la jolie “fiancée” aux chaussures rouges… jolie gestuelle ! bravo !

    • Merci beaucoup Françoise ! Ce chien était tellement gentil, je ne savais pas que les bulldogs pouvaient être si amicaux. Ah ! les chaussures rouges… Cette photo ne serait pas la même sans ces fameux souliers !

  3. Jenna says:

    How wonderful! You made portraiture beautiful and very interesting to look at. You’ve got a knack for portraits! I hope you get a lot of interest with these, because they are wonderful!

    Just recently, my brother and his family had me photograph them for a Christmas card image. I did all outdoor shots. It was overcast and chilly, but we had fun with it. My nephew Kaden, at four years old, is such a sweetie and loves having his picture taken, so that was fun.

    These are so lovely! Excellent photos, Jocelyne.🙂

    • Jenna, your comment make me so happy, thank you so much ! These are my very first portraits and I was wondering what people would think of them. I know that my niece and Michelle and her mother loved them !
      It sounds like you had fun doing a session with your brother’s family. Isn’t it great to photograph people we love ? Taking photos of a four years old must be a challenge as they’re always moving !
      What I love most about portraits is that people are so happy when they see their photos, it’s such a reward !
      Thanks again for your kind words !

  4. Evelyne says:

    Tu as tous les talents ! Bonne journée, Jocelyne ! Biz

  5. JimR says:

    Great portraits Jocelyne. Your subjects are very “comfortable” in front of the lens. You definately have the “knack” for this.

  6. photocris says:

    comme c’est gentil ça !moi aussi je vais partagé ton lien…je suis presque amoureux de tes belles photos ! bonne fin de semaine …bise !

  7. I’m so impressed with how your challenging yourself with portrait photography, and with with lovely results!

    • Thank you Karen ! I was a bit nervous when I went to this photo shoot, it was my first experience in portraits and I didn’t know what to expect, but it went so well and I had fun with this session. And most importantly, I’m very satisfied with the results. Thank you for your kind words !

  8. David says:

    Very beautiful portrait work.

  9. 1cruzdelsur says:

    Many congratulations are fabulous shots and lots of art. I loved seeing these pictures, the variety makes it interesting to your blog.
    Carlos😉

  10. Drenagoram says:

    Beau Jour Jocelyne ,

    A la Lueur des Reflets , Muses & Sujets en Hors ,
    Rehaussent la Vue en Flore , Par une Certaine Beauté ,
    Ton Art Force le Respect , Subtil en est le Décor ,
    Le Tout semble en Accord , Lumière & Légèreté .
    ~
    NéO~
    ~
    Becs Nature

  11. Anne Jutras says:

    Jocelyne, quels merveilleux portraits! Les poses et les couleurs sont superbes. J’adore la pose avec les souliers rouges, comme c’est romantique! La dame assise sur le banc avec son pitou à l’arrière plan est vraiment sympa, quel bel photo. Tu es vraiment douée!

    En passant, je voulais te dire que j’adore ton header, wow, le bokeh est superbement réussi. Bravo!

    • Un gros merci Anne pour ce beau commentaire qui me fait vraiment plaisir🙂
      J’avais hâte de savoir ce que mes amis bloggeurs penseraient de ces photos parce que ce sont mes tout premiers portraits. Ton commentaire m’encourage à continuer ! Et merci aussi pour le header ! Bonne semaine xx

  12. Judy says:

    Jocelyne….you are an amazing and natural portrait photographer! I love all your images. They are so soft and the lighting is fantastic! I’m sure you will be sought after as a portrait photographer by many after seeing all the ones you’ve done. I love these new ones! You have amazing talent, my friend! Hugs!

    • Judy, a huge thank you ! I am so glad you love these photos. These are my very first portraits and I was eager to know what people would think of them. You are always so appreciative of my work and your comments are always so encouraging and kind, I thank you for that and know that they mean a lot to me ! Happy week dear friend ! xo

  13. I share your views on portraits, I’ve never had much interested in them, except for ones like these. The lighting and the landscape are just perfect, and your models are very natural at it. You’ve inspired me to give it a try🙂.

  14. thephotographerinside.com says:

    Lovely photos, Jocelyne! Love the light and how you captured it! I Like!!🙂

  15. drawandshoot says:

    Jocelyne, these are all truly beautiful – Well done!

  16. Lisa Gordon says:

    Jocelyne, these are just beautiful!

  17. Hi Jocelyne! I have to agree with everyone, they are very beautiful!! I love how the colors came out! I have always wanted to take a picture in the meadow like the one you took of your niece! Is this in Quebec? If only Los Angeles had a meadow🙂

    • Hi Adri ! Thank you so much🙂
      The photos were taken in St-Georges de Beauce, not very far from Quebec which is an hour drive from my home. Come to St-Georges Adri, I’ll take your photo in a meadow, we have plenty of them here ! What fun it would be !🙂

      • 😀 That would be awesome!! I tell my sister to take pictures of me and I think I kind of ask her to take a lot and she gets mad because I am picky🙂 but it’s just so much fun! And how you can edit them and change the color! I think I want to take some for Christmas🙂

  18. PhotosAbitibi says:

    Superbe !!! J’adore l’éclairage et les milieux dans lesquels sont fait les photographies, vraiment Génial !

  19. ce sont de très jolis portraits Jocelyne🙂 Les couleurs sont magnifiques ! aaahh si j’étais au Québec, j’aimerais ca avec une séance photo😉

  20. Phil Lanoue says:

    Those are truly outstanding portraits Jocelyne! Very nice work!🙂

  21. tomwhelan says:

    They all look great – I particularly like the one of Fanny seated in the grasses, with the camera low to the ground. Very natural poses, full of life.

  22. Your photography is magnifico!!!!!!!!!!! Serious!!! Just beautiful! I think you make a great portrait photographer…keep it coming.

    • Laurie, thank you so much for visiting back and for the kind words. It means a lot and I really appreciate ! I haven’t had a chance to make another portrait session, I hope I can do one this winter. I just have to find someone willing to have his/her photo taken, not so easy to find ! 🙂

  23. rynnasaryonnah says:

    The last two shots are just. PICTURE. PERFECT.

  24. Grndma Chris says:

    Wow is all I can say. When I told my family about the photography love I told them I wouldn’t capture people because I know how all of them are camera shy. You will need to open a studio now once these photos get out.

    • Grndma Chris, you’re so kind, thank you ! I would love to have more people interested in having their portraits taken. For now it’s only family, friends and acquaintances, but it is definitely something I’ll be working on in the future. Yes, some people are camera shy and I understand them. It can be embarassing to be the main focus, the subject of attention. Thanks again Grndma Chris !

I'm always happy to read your comments :) Vos commentaires me font toujours plaisir :)

