Tis the season to be jolly !

Hello dear friends !

I love Christmas and all the wonderful things that come with it :  The decorations ( I have three Christmas tree in my home !), the parties, the food, the gifts.  But there’s also all these things that looks rather pretty ordinary but that are, to me, an important part of Christmas.  I can’t imagine Christmas without movie nights  in the comforts of home.  We watch a movie every night, including movies of Astérix et Obélix  :)  There’s also the wine and cheese dinners with just the two of us, the baking of pierogis, stuffed grape leaves, shortbread and doughnuts while listening to Christmas carols.  And I love taking walks in my neighbourhood with my little Winny to see the Christmas lights.  Yes, these are simple things, but they are part of my Christmas and I wouldn’t change a thing.

I’m still waiting for my camera to return, so I took these photos using a point and shoot set on manual and that’s about the best I could get out of this camera.  It’s definitely not the same quality I’m used to with my Pentax K5, I’m sure you’ll notice, but it’s better than nothing !  So here are a few photos that were inspired from the spirit of the season.

My Christmas wreath

A big gingerbread cookie, but not a real one !

Gingerbread cookie !

Vintage Christmas baubles

Vintage Christmas baubles

So Christmassy ! (At my boyfriend’s aunt)

Christmas decorations

My favourite Christmas wreath, simple and classical.

Christmas wreath on a fence

Dear friends, I wish you all a merry Christmas and a wonderful happy new year !  May the new year bring happiness, warmth of love, friendship, success in all you do and the realisation of all things you wish for !

Jocelyne xo

58 comments on “Tis the season to be jolly !

  1. Beautiful – Makes Me Jolly and in the Holiday Spirit – thanks for sharing:) Happy Friday!

  2. Anne Jutras says:

    De très belle photos, Jocelyne, remplies d’atmosphère, de chaleur et d’ambiance du temps de fête. Tes décorations sont fabuleuses! Tu as trois arbres de Noël? wow!

    La façon que tu racontes tes plaisirs quotidiens est attirant. Que j’aimerais, un jour, aller prendre le thé avec toi, et placoter, me semble qu’on aurait des choses à se dire. lol

    La qualité de tes images est très bien, même réalisées avec un point and shoot, parfois le meilleur appareil est celui que nous avons sous la main. En tout cas, j’adore la première, avec la couronne en couleur et le paysage en high-key, c’est superbement réalisée,

    Bon week-end!

    • Merci beaucoup Anne 🙂
      La première photo est ma favorite aussi et c’est une couronne que j’ai fait moi-même, sauf la belle boucle qui me vient de ma belle-mère. Oui, j’ai trois sapins ! Quelqu’un qui n’aime pas noël n’aimera pas ça chez-moi ! J’en ai un gros dans mon salon, un moyen dans mon sous-sol (ça prend un sapin quand on regarde des films au sous-sol🙂 et un petit dans ma chambre.
      La photo avec le foyer n’est pas chez-moi, c’est chez une tante à mon amoureux, ses décorations sont vraiment belles. Toutes les autres photos ont été prises chez-moi.
      Oh ! j’aimerais beaucoup que tu viennes prendre le thé, c’est sûr qu’on ne s’ennuierait pas ensemble, je suis sûre qu’on s’entendrait très bien. En tout cas j’espère vraiment qu’un jour on se rencontrera !
      Passe une très belle fin de semaine toi aussi !

  3. montucky says:

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you and your family too!

  4. JimR says:

    Lovely seasonal images Jocelyne. Best wishes to you and yours for a Happy Christmas.

  5. Pantxika says:

    Quoi de plus beau que de vivre intensément les petits plaisirs de la vie… j’ai aimé tes mots et tes images qui nous transportent dans la période magique de Noël ! Plutôt réussi tes photos avec leur côté un peu rétro !

    Bonne journée… et passe un excellent Noël si je n’ai pas l’occasion de repasser sur ton blog !

  6. wow wow c’est tellement beau ! j’envie tellement cette neige😉 ta décoration a l’air tellement jolie !!! Passe de bonnes fêtes de Noël Jocelyne !

    • Merci Marie-Charlotte ! La seule photo où la décoration n’est pas chez-moi est la photo avec le foyer.
      Oui, la neige, on n’en a pas beaucoup pour l’instant, la photo avec la couronne et la clôture date de l’année dernière, mais on nous annonce jusqu’à 50 cm d’ici une semaine. On va en pelleter de la neige !
      Passe un très beau Noël Marie-Charlotte et merci de ton beau commentaire !

  7. Photography by Gisele Morgan says:

    have a wonderful christmas. everything sounds wonderful, especially christmas movies ♥

  8. drawandshoot says:

    Jocelyne, I haven’t put up one decoration yet! Your home looks amazing. Very inspiring.
    Happy Holidays!

    • Oh ! I hope you’ll be ready for Christmas, you still have 8 more days ! 🙂
      I haven’t wrote in the post that the photo with the fireplace isn’t my home, it’s at my boyfriend’s aunt. She has wonderful decorations !
      Thank you Karen and have a wonderful Christmas !

  9. Magnificent! A beautiful Victorian look. Makes me feel all warm and cozy. I send blessings to you and yours and Joyous Noel Jocelyne!
    Debra

  10. Lisa Gordon says:

    Your decorations are just beautiful, Jocelyne, and I think you said it perfectly. Christmas is indeed about all of those wonderful little simple things.
    I wish you and your family a most beautiful holiday season.
    xo.

  11. Gretta Faun says:

    Heartfelt post! Happy Holidays!!!

  12. Hi Jocelyn,
    Thank you so much for sharing your photos as well as your thoughts about the simple but special things that you do at Christmas. You seem to have snow! I have primulas blooming in my garden here in Newcastle, Ontario! Hard to believe that it is December 15th.
    Wishing you joy in the coming year and the return of your camera!
    Jane

    • Hi Jane🙂 thanks for visiting !
      It’s December 17th and you have primulas blooming ? Wow ! I would never have thought this could be possible ! Here we have snow, it’s snowing right now and the weather forecast expect an accumulation of 50 cm by the end of the week. We’ll have a white Christmas fhat’s for sure !
      Happy holidays and a wonderful new year Jane🙂

  13. David says:

    A very, very pretty Christmas post. I especially like the vintage baubles and the snow covered wreath. Hope your Pentax comes back soon.

    Joyeux Noël!

  14. PJ Girl says:

    Great photos on a point and shoot. Merry Christmas Jocelyn!

  15. Jenna says:

    What a wonderfully cheerful post, Jocelyne! I’m sorry to hear you’re still waiting for your camera to return; these photos are so lovely even if they were taken with a point and shoot. Your boyfriend’s aunt’s house is so gorgeous and Christmassy! It’s so beautiful. Like you, I feel it’s the small things about Christmas that make it special. The music and movies, the baking, the decorating, the gifts all tucked carefully out of sight until they are wrapped. And best of all, turning off all the lights and basking in the glow of Christmas lights. It’s so beautiful. Thank you for the Christmas wishes, and I hope you have a very merry Christmas as well.🙂

    • Jenna, like you I love to turn off all the lights and just have the Christmas lights on. It’s so serene and peaceful.
      I’m satisfied with the quality of these photos, considering they come from a point and shoot, but when my camera returns I think I’m going to hug it and give it a kiss ! Lol !
      I’m glad you think this post is cheerful, altough I feel bad to have posted it the same day of the shooting in Connecticut. I wasn’t aware of it when I posted, I hadn’t watch the news.
      Thank you Jenna, your compliments means a lot and I wish you a wonderful Christmas !

  16. A beautiful post, Jocelyne!! You listed some of the things I too love about the Christmas season … it’s all the many pleasures we share with the people we love. I hope your Christmas is marvelous this year, my friend, and that Santa grants your every wish! ~S

    SANDY M Illustration
    http://oohlafroufrou.blogspot.com

  17. photocris says:

    j’aime tout particulièrement la 1, la 3 et la 5 enfin comme d’habitude j’aime tes photos et je les admire !

  18. elisaruland says:

    This is all so cozy. Your beautiful photographs are practically singing with Christmas cheer!

    I hope you are having a wonderful holiday season,

    Elisa

  19. Beautiful images. Best wishes this holiday season.

  20. Your photographs are beautiful and show the Spirit of Christmas in every one. well done and thank you for sharing!

  21. janina says:

    A wonderful Christmas post, Jocelyne, thank you! I particularly like the baubles in the glass pic, so antique-y and enticing. I never under-estimate the power of my compact digital, and as your pix show; often they produce the ‘best’ images. Merry Christmas to you too, :O)

  22. Wow, your photos are so aristic and capture the magic! Love that wreath at the top with the plaid bow.

  23. 1cruzdelsur says:

    Los mejores deseos y mucha felicidad para esta Noche Buena…
    Feliz Navidad – Merry Christmas – Feliz Natal – Joyeux Noël
    Cruz del Sur

  24. Merry Christmas and happy New Year to you too, Jocelyne! I love how you processed the shot of the vintage baubles, you can’t even tell it was shot with a P&S🙂.

  25. Hi Jocelyne, just dropped in again to wish you and yours a very Happy New Year, may it bring, peace, joy, love and continued creative success.

  26. Evelyne says:

    Belle année 2013 ! Biz. Evelyne

  27. I love your photos and I like how you write about why you take them. Sometimes I feel silly for taking pictures of what i do… You are so talented!

    • Thank you so much Diane ! How funny, I was just thinking about your blog just 3 days ago and thought I would visit soon, and here you are leaving me a beautiful comment🙂
      Oh no ! don’t ever feel silly for taking pictures ! I take a LOT of pictures and it makes me so happy ! Keep taking them, you never know, maybe some day you’ll become a great photographer and you will sell your photos ! And if it makes you happy, that’s the most important thing🙂
      Thank you again for your kind words Diane, and have a nice week-end !

I'm always happy to read your comments :) Vos commentaires me font toujours plaisir :)

