One of my favourite flowers : Lilacs

#Lilac flowers, #Lilac

It may not be the prettiest, elegant and majestic tree if compared to oak trees or maple trees, but common lilacs have qualities many other trees lack :  They produce beautifully abundant flowers which exhume the most exquisite of perfumes.  Each year a bouquet graces my home, filling the air with its exuberant fragrance.  Flowers are so therapeutic.  Looking at them and caring for them makes me feel lighter and happier.  And a few bouquets of lilacs is a wonderful way to add a note of cheerfulness in my home.

#Lilacs, #flowers, #bouquet of lilacs

#Lilacs, #Bouquet of lilacs, #Flowers, #lilac still life

#lilacs, #lilac still life, #flowers, #bouquet of lilacs

Climbing honeysuckle is in bloom at the moment, and in the coming days irises will reveal their beautiful blooms, and shortly after, peonies and roses will make their grand entrance in the garden.  What a delight for the eyes it will be !

Happy Summer dear friends !

Jocelyne

53 comments on “One of my favourite flowers : Lilacs

  1. Love these lilac images! I have about a dozen bunches of lilacs around the perimeter of the yard. I agree Jocelyne, the fragrance is one of the products of spring I look forward to. Your last image is my favorite. Great composition and light.

    • Thank you very much Mike ! That’s a lot of lilacs around your yard, I imagine the scent, it must be wonderful ! I only have three and two of them are very little. I don’t know what happened this year but many blooms wouldn’t fully open. I hope you have a great week-end🙂

  2. Beautiful pictures, Jocelyne. The lighting is just perfect!

  3. montucky says:

    I love lilacs too; always have. Yours are so pretty!
    When I was a kid there was a very large and old lilac tree in our back yard and I put a hammock up in it and spent a lot of time up there reading. What a place it was!

  4. Pantxika says:

    Une façon bien romantique de nous proposer tes bouquets de lilas… une fleur colorée et parfumée … que j’aime particulièrement, mais qui a toujours refusé de pousser dans mon jardin… donc, j’en profite chez toi !!😉
    Bonne journée !

    • Quel dommage que le lilas ne veuille pas pousser chez-toi Françoise ! C’est tout de même curieux ? Eh bien je suis contente si tu as pu en profiter un peu à travers mes photos🙂
      Bonne soirée !

  5. 1cruzdelsur says:

    Poetry is sometimes spelled with a photograph. Lovely photography. Adiós Jocelyne
    Carlos

  6. Lisa Gordon says:

    One of my very favorite flowers, and your photographs of them are truly so beautiful, Jocelyne.
    Happy day to you!

  7. Lizzy says:

    Beautiful pictures and unique colors and very well taken and presented … great details and clarity too!
    Lizzy

  8. photocris says:

    les lilas sont fannés déjà depuis plusieurs semaines …..une belle façon à toi de les faire revivre dans mes yeux !!! que de romantisme dans tes photos ! j’adore !

    • photocris says:

      es lilas sont fanés déjà depuis plusieurs semaines …..une belle façon à toi de les faire revivre dans mes yeux !!! que de romantisme dans tes photos ! j’adore !

    • Merci beaucoup Christian ! Beaucoup de fleurs ont ce côté romantique que j’essaie de faire transparaître dans mes photos. Je suis bien contente de constater que j’ai réussi !
      Passe une très belle semaine🙂

  9. My lilacs are finished, but it is a treat to enjoy yours, Jocelyne.

    -Karen

  10. Oh my. I love the last two images very much! You do have a gift for still lives.

  11. Gracie says:

    These are beautiful, Jocelyne! I can almost smell the sweet fragrance of the lilacs. I love them too, both for their beautiful colors and their heavenly smell.

  12. Lovely pictures; really nice colour.

  13. David says:

    Such prettiness. Excellent photos.

  14. drawandshoot says:

    Lilacs are among my favourite, too.
    A symphony for the eyes. : )

  15. JimR says:

    Beautiful images Jocelyne.

  16. J’aime aussi le lilas, la teinte mauve et l’odeur si agréable, même si ma préférence va à la rose… Belle semaine à toi ! Biz

  17. janxxgeist says:

    Beautiful, dreamy still life photos with a perfect arrangement and lighting! The last one is my favorite.

  18. Jenna says:

    A happy summer to you as well! These are stunning and so delicate. What a way you have with a camera. Thanks for bringing some cheer to my day. These are lovely!

    • Thank you very very much Jenna ! It is so good to know these photos could cheer your day. I don’t always think about that, how a photo can impact people, but if these could brought cheerfulness, it’s great !
      Have a nice week-end Jenna🙂

  19. Love your work as always Jocelyne🙂 I’ll try to make more time to see your blog, it is always a joy when I do🙂

  20. Hi Jeffrey, it’s nice to hear from you🙂 I’m so glad to know you enjoy my blog. I have the soul of an artist, and many times I doubt my work and think I have no talent in photography. Thank you for saying that seeing my blog is a joy, I really appreciate that !
    Have a beautiful day tomorrow🙂

  21. Great shots. I really like how you composed your images. The small details you added to your photos (the ribbon, sheet music, and fallen flower on the table) really bring them to that next level.

  22. Emily Gooch says:

    I love lilacs and your photos. Your photographic style is so beautiful.🙂

  23. Anne Jutras says:

    Leur arôme parfumé nous enchante. Et en faire un bouquet pour le plaisir de nos yeux est une joie qui se répète année après année. Ici, tu nous offres ta touche de romantisme et ton talent unique à créer des images de magazines. J’aime beaucoup tes compositions et la douceur qui s’en dégage. Super extra jolies!!!

    J’espère que tu profites bien de l’été qui est maintenant bien entamé, mais qui demeure pluvieux. Moi, je prends mes vacances ce vendredi, prions le ciel pour que Galarneau soit de la parti. HIhi!

  24. Merci beaucoup pour ces beaux compliments Anne, ça m’a fait vraiment plaisir. Des images de magazines… Wow, je suis très flattée🙂 Je devrais me faire un portfolio et les envoyer à Victoria Classics, hi ! hi !
    Oui je profites bien de l’été, je vais en profiter plus lorsque nous serons en vacances au mois d’Août. Ici on nous annonce beau pour la prochaine semaine mais avec des possibilités d’orages à tous les jours. Passe de très belles vacances Anne, avec ton amoureux j’espère, et je te souhaite que du soleil et de la chaleur !

  25. I had been saving your posts for a few quiet moments….that was 6 weeks ago! I love your lilac creations. My favourite is the lilacs in the silver vase with the music stand nearby.
    I find lilacs very difficult to photograph. You’ve done an amazing job.

    • Thank you so much Jane ! I’m sorry for the late response. It’s true, lilacs are not easy to photograph. that’s why I love to create still life photos with them. I hope you have a nice week-end.

    • Quel beau poème Steve. Triste et lourd, mais très beau en même temps. Une chose m’a frappée en lisant le texte qui explique le poème, lorsqu’on dit que c’est facile pour nous, avec notre connaissance de cette période, d’oublier que pendant la plupart de la guerre, la victoire semblait un rêve vague et loin de la vie quotidienne. Je n’avais jamais pensé à ça. Ça devait être vraiment lourd de vivre au travers cette guerre au jour le jour et de tenter de garder espoir.
      Merci de m’avoir mis ce lien !
      Bonne fin de semaine🙂

  26. So stunning! I love the music sheet in the background🙂 I really love how you set them in different places, so pretty!

  27. Thank you so much Adri ! Still life is what I enjoy the most, I had a great time doing these photos🙂

I'm always happy to read your comments :) Vos commentaires me font toujours plaisir :)

