Little field daisies and beautiful irises

Hello my friends !

#daisies, #field daisies

Almost every day I take photos of flowers from my garden and in the past three weeks I’ve photographed little field daisies, irises and peonies.  There are many ways to photograph flowers and I like mine to look airy and light.  I’ve tried to capture them as if they appear to be floating in the air to increase the impression of lightness, but I haven’t always succeeded.  It’s not easy to find the right angle to achieve this look.  But, as with any kind of photography, one constant remains :  Practice, practice, practice…

#flowers, #irises,

#flowers, #irises

#flowers, #irises

If you love flower photography, take a look at Mandy Disher’s website.  I love her style and her photos are amazing and so unique.  Click here for her website and here for her Facebook page.  I also greatly admire Jacky Parker’s talent for floral photography.  Her images are exquisite and beautifully composed. Click here for her website and here for her Facebook page.  Another photographer whose floral images are extremely beautiful and also very unique is Lisa Gordon. I’m inserting a link to her floral gallery on her website, click here to view them.   She also has a blog here on WordPress with many beautiful photos, not only florals, click here to visit her blog.

We had so much rain lately (and it appears not only here but also in the US and Europe), that I had to make some bouquets of my favourite peonies so they wouldn’t be ruined.  It was lovely to see them on my kitchen table.

#flowers, #peonies

A happy and sunny week-end to all of you !

Jocelyne

54 comments on “Little field daisies and beautiful irises

  1. All that practice is paying off. Just gorgeous

  2. A huge thank you Linda ! I don’t know if you’re in Carmel right now, but I wish you a wonderful week-end in your lovely town🙂

  3. Pantxika says:

    Toute en douceur ce billet… pour moi, la reine des fleurs l’iris bleu avec ses gouttelettes de rosée… que c’est joli et poétique tout à la fois !
    Quel régal d’ouvrir la page de ton billet… bonne journée Jocelyne… bisous !

    • Merci beaucoup Françoise ! Je suis toujours touchée par tes beaux commentaires, ça me fait vraiment plaisir ! Et je suis heureuse de savoir que tu ais du plaisir à regarder mes billets.
      Passe une très belle fin de semaine xx🙂

  4. Always beautiful images of your flowers Jocelyne! I think you get the ‘airy and light’ look just right. I’ve tried to incorporate that lighter touch into some of mine after admiring your images. The third image of the purple iris is my favorite. The DoF and color contrast is wonderful. Have a great weekend and hopefully we will get a break from all this rain!

    • Thank you very much Mike🙂 It’s great to know you think I have the airy look just right. I like to have the input of other photographers, it helps me to learn and become better at photography. When I read you tried the same after seeing my flowers images I went to your blog and saw your photo of the bleeding heart “Heart on a string” and I think it’s perfect, it really has this airy and lightness look, a beautiful image !
      A great week-end to you too. We’re suppose to have storms but I prefer that than rain all day long !

      • I not sure how much my input would help, I’m still learning this photography thing myself. I do know what I like when I see even though I can not always express why. I’m glad you liked the ‘Heart on a String’ image… I’ll keep practicing. 🙂

      • Well, in this case your input helped me seeing I have the right approach in my attempts to obtain that airy look. We see so much our photos, especially when we edit them, that I’m sometimes not sure at all if the vision I have is conveyed to the photo. So…. let’s practice, practice, practice🙂

  5. Absolutely magnificent. Gorgeous!

  6. lisa says:

    What beautiful photographs these are, Jocelyne, and I thank you so very much for your kind words.

  7. David says:

    Beautiful photos, Jocelyne. It’s always hard to find a good angle in the garden, especially taking care not to step on anything.🙂

    Have a good weekend.

  8. Anne Jutras says:

    Le mois de juin est un régal pour l’oeil, les fleurs fleurissent à profusions. C’est beau partout, même dans les fossés. héhéhé Superbes photos, Jocelyne, tu as une vision d’experte. On dirait des images de magazines, je sens que tu aurais bien du plaisir à reproduire des images à cette fin. J’ai toujours eu un peu de difficulté à photographier les lys, je ne sais jamais comment les cadrer, toi, tu as réussi haut la main!😀

    • Anne, tu sais comme j’admire ton talent de photographe, alors ces beaux compliments me font un énorme plaisir ! Merci de m’encourager avec tes bons mots🙂 C’est vrai que j’aurais du plaisir à faire des images pour les magazines, encore faudrait-il que je sache comment m’y prendre pour les contacter et je n’en ai pas la moindre idée ! On peut toujours rêver🙂
      C’est vrai que ce n’est pas facile de bien cadrer les lys et les iris, ils sont si érigés et souvent les plantes sont très fournies. J’ai eu quelques photos ratées aussi !
      J’espère qu’il fera beau pour tes vacances🙂 xx

  9. JimR says:

    Beautiful, peaceful images Jocelyne. Superb!

  10. photocris says:

    comme d’habitude …tu nous habitues à du parfait !!! j’adore le bouquet devant la fenêtre …c’est du David Hamilton avec des fleurs ! bravo

    • Un énorme merci Christian, tes commentaires me font toujours tellement plaisir ! Je ne connaissais pas du tout David Hamilton, est-ce possible ? J’ai regardé ses photos sur le net et je suis tombée sous le charme. Quelles merveilleuses photos ! Ses portraits et ses nus sont splendides et j’ai aussi beaucoup aimé ses quelques photos de ballerines. J’adorerais pouvoir photographier des ballerines, c’est dans mes projets futurs. J’aime aussi beaucoup la photo des fleurs devant la fenêtre, et qu’elle te fasse penser à du David Hamilton j’en suis vraiment très flattée ! Merci beaucoup Christian !

  11. Beautiful images Jocelyne! Love that dreamy effect you bring into your pictures. Great composition and perfect lighting!

  12. Drenagoram says:

    Bonsoir Jocelyne😉

    Ce billet plein de fraîcheur , ouvre en beauté ses lignes,
    L’iris étant divine , rehaussée sous couleurs ,
    La Flore demande labeur , pour en saisir mille signes ,
    Hors tu as l’oreille fine , au vu de telles douceurs.
    ~
    NéO~

  13. Jenna says:

    Beautiful photos, as always! I think you captured that light, floating feeling very well with your shots.

  14. Good Morning, Jocelyne

    Your photos do have a “lightness” about them and evoke, in me, feelings of peace and well-being.

    Beautiful.

    -Karen

  15. montucky says:

    These photos are terrific! You keep getting better and better.

  16. Wonderful shots Jocelyne and I have to say the first and last shots are my favourite. I hope that you have a terrific week ahead and I look forward to next weeks postings. Best regards, James

  17. La simplicité des marguerites, la délicatesse de la pivoine. Merci pour ce joli partage de photos et une pensée émue pour le drame ferroviaire qui touche le Canada… Biz

    • Je suis bien contente que ces photos t’aient plu Evelyne !
      Oui, le drame au Lac Mégantic, c’est effrayant… C’est à une heure de route de chez-moi. Ça m’a beaucoup bouleversée. On parle maintenant de 50 morts. Je ne pourrai pas faire de kayak cet été parce que j’allais toujours sur la rivière Chaudière et il y a maintenant une interdiction de navigation parce qu’il y a du pétrole dans l’eau. C’est un drame terrible et quand j’y pense j’ai le coeur serré.
      Passe une très belle fin de semaine Evelyne, et de belles vacances aussi !

  18. Beautiful pictures Jocelyne. I need to get out and take some more pictures of flowers. My daisies are just starting to flower and I have many growing in the yard. Some not were we would like them.

    • Thank you so much Marlys ! I have to visit your blog to see your flowers !
      Yes, daisies are very hardy and multiply and spread very fast, but it’s such a lovely flower🙂
      A happy week to you Marlys🙂

  19. Absolutely lovely🙂 I always have a great feeling when I see your work Jocelyne, thank you as always for sharing!

  20. Georgianna says:

    Your photos really do celebrate the beauty of each flower, Jocelyne! I especially think the iris is fantastic. And I agree, I like flower images to be light and ethereal, just like the flowers.🙂

  21. parth893 says:

    Wow , beautiful ❤ photos Lovely flowers nice work my friend😀

  22. “Practice, practice, practice”……. has paid off. Your images are lovely and very light. My favourite would have to be the first iris although I love all of them. The water droplets and the soft blue are so beautiful.

  23. tomwhelan says:

    All beautiful – but I think I love the first iris image the best, the closeup of the pale blue petals.

  24. Thank you so much Tom ! This photo was picked as a favourite by many people🙂

  25. Jane Lurie says:

    Gorgeous flower images, Jocelyn. Very nice composition, focus and color.

  26. You have beautiful flowers in your garden Jocelyne🙂 I love the color if the iris it has such a soft sweet color! I can imagine how lovely your garden must be!!

  27. Kavita Joshi says:

    beautiful pics dear🙂

  28. You obviously not only enjoy photographing flowers but you do it so well. These are all gorgeous images. I love how you use colour and depth of field to create those amazing photos.

I'm always happy to read your comments :) Vos commentaires me font toujours plaisir :)

