Country charm

Hello my friends !

This post is dedicated to my grandfather, my guardian angel, who passed away when I was only 5 years old but with whom I feel a strong connection.  He had a great love for the countryside and farming and one of his biggest dreams was to live there.  In his forties he moved with his family in the lower Laurentians in Two Mountains. A dream come true.

I was born a city girl.  I lived in Montreal until I was 8 years old and then we moved to Two-Mountains to live with my grandmother.  I spent part of my childhood, my teen years and early adulthood between Two-Mountains,  St-Eustache and the beautiful Oka village in the lower Laurentians.  I also often went to Montreal to visit my aunt and cousins.  These years spent in the lower Laurentians sowed a seed that was to become a great fondness for the countryside.  At the age of 28 I moved to La Baie, Saguenay, a superb region where beautiful scenic country along with great wilderness and a majestic fjord was my playground and the place I called home for ten years.  There, my love for the countryside grew stronger and took root deeply within me.  Now, after living in Beauce for the past ten years, I realize how the country was always a part of me, even if I was born in a big city, and how my path led me where my heart was.

My guardian angel has spread his wings over me, guiding my steps and illuminating my path, so that I shall find my place among the stars…❤

IMGP3967 PS CE red.640 sharp 2

#Old architecture

Gone fishing

IMGP1283 PS 150 ppi avec sharp 3

#cows #countryside

#countryside #barn #old architecture

Wishing you a happy week-end !

Jocelyne

44 comments on “Country charm

  1. Quel joli billet tendre et nostalgique… avec toujours en toile de fond tes magnifiques photos ! Cordialement. Evelyne

  2. I especially love the photo with the sunburst and the fishing rod vingnette

  3. David says:

    A very dreamy set, especially the beautiful home in the last photo.

  4. Beautiful images as always Jocelyne! The barn with the sunburst is my favorite. i grew up on a farm, so I know what you mean about the country always being a part of you. I’m not sure I could live in a city. I like my house nestled in a pasture with neighbors I have to walk to. 🙂 I hope you have a great weekend.

    • Thank you very much Mike ! You were lucky to grow up on a farm, I would have loved that even if I’m a little scared of cows… don’t ask me why, I don’t know ! I couldn’t live in Montreal, even if all my family lives there, but I could spend a few months in NYC (I fell in love with the big apple !) or Paris, or London !
      Have a great week-end too Mike🙂

  5. 1cruzdelsur says:

    Fine photographs for a sweet story that comes from your soul and heart, your guardian angel sure you already know of this note.
    Also one day I wrote a post about my grandmother’s history as an immigrant.
    It’s called the Magic Grinder
    http://1cruzdelsur.wordpress.com/2011/02/27/molinillo-magico/
    Greetings to you🙂
    Carlos
    A friend of the far south.😉

  6. Comme toujours, tes photos et tes textes sont magnifiques ma belle amie xx

  7. drawandshoot says:

    Just gorgeous Jocelyne. What a beautiful tribute to a special person. I have been to Tadoussac, and the Saguenay region is incredible! I love that part of Quebec and the St. Lawrence River. Stunning.

    • Thank you very much Karen ! I hope, when you went to Tadoussac, that you saw the beautiful whales. I went last summer, not to Tadoussac but near Les Escoumins, and I saw the great blue whale🙂 I agree, Saguenay is an incredible region, the wilderness is so beautiful !
      Have a great week🙂

  8. Jane Lurie says:

    Beautiful post and memories. The set evokes a wonderful mood of tranquility.

  9. Wow! Such delightful pictures, Jocelyne! The light, the composition, the colours..these images have your stamp all over them🙂

  10. Lisa Gordon says:

    Truly, what a beautiful tribute to your grandpa, Jocelyne.
    You are so very fortunate to have such wonderful memories.
    Your photographs are just beautiful.
    Thank you for sharing this here.

  11. JimR says:

    Great images Jocelyne.

  12. Beautiful pictures… I could comment on each one of them. Through your pictures you show the beauty of the countryside and your love for it..

  13. Jenna says:

    Beautiful photos, Jocelyne! I love the still life with the fishing poles. I have a true love for the country as well. Thanks for sharing.🙂

    • Thank you Jenna ! I too love the image of the fishing poles, it’s so rustic ! The chair was so old it almost fell into ruin. I had to level it with a piece of wood because it was sloping too much.
      I’m sure the country must be very beautiful too where you live Jenna.
      I hope you have a great day and week-end !

  14. Beautifully written Jocelyne! I know your grandfather is watching you from heaven and he is happy to see that you are happy and living a wonderful life in the countryside! I hope someday I can own a small cottage in the countryside🙂 I love cottages all of the movies that I have seen from Jane Austen made me love the countryside!

    • Thank you so much Adri ! I am sure too that my grandfather can see me and he is happy. Sometimes, when I bike in the backroads, I can feel his presence.
      I wish the cottage you would love to have one day will be a dream come true !
      I have to watch the movies from Jane Austen, I only saw one and really loved it !
      Have a great week-end Adri🙂

  15. Wonderful images as always Jocelyne and a post that has really touched the heart. We all often need our guardian angels and the memories of them that we hold so dear too us. Thank you. James

    • That is so true James. We sometimes need to lean on our guardian angels through difficult times and celebrate their memories.
      Thank you so much for your visit and beautiful comment. Have a nice week-end !🙂

  16. photocris says:

    je n’ai pas de maison aussi grande et belle que celle de ta photo …mais une petite maison au milieu des bois que du plaisir !

  17. Anne Jutras says:

    Tes photos sont toujours aussi belles! Le style champêtre avec une touche de raffinement qui me plaît énormément. Ta vache est vraiment cute. Est-ce la photo de la maison c’est chez toi? C’est un bel endroit, typiquement québécois. Ta canne à pêche nous invite à la détente, le chat semble ne pas trop soucier du temps qui passe (comme je l’envie). hihi! Bon week-end, ma chère! xx

    • Je suis très contente que ces photos te plaisent Anne ! La photo de la maison n’est pas chez-moi, mais Ohhh que j’aimerais habiter une maison comme celle-là ! Quand on se cherchait une maison en Beauce, il y a 10 ans, on regardait pour acheter une vieille maison Québécoise, mais les rénovations nous ont découragés. Il faut vraiment aimer retaper ces vieilles maisons pour en acheter une. Dans une de ces maisons que je suis allée visiter, il n’y avait aucun chauffage à l’étage… Ma maison est bien plus petite mais elle est très coquette🙂
      Passe une très belle semaine xx

  18. It’s lovely that you have such fond memories and have, as a city girl, developed an appreciation for the countryside. Your photos are full of texture and stories!

    -Karen

  19. Your beautiful pictures will make my evening commute on the traffic-choked interstate a bit harsher to take today! I can almost taste the fresh air. My favorite is of Bessy – she’s eyeing you, I believe.

    • Ha ! Ha ! Yes she was eyeing me, she was a very curious cow🙂 Thank you very much for your compliment on my photos. Never having to commute on a traffic-choked interstate, I can just imagine how it must be harder to be trapped in traffic while looking at these photos ! Thank you for visiting and commenting, and welcome to my blog🙂

  20. Sympa comme tout🙂
    Bisous,
    Lune

  21. Your idea of the fishing poles beside the rocker…genius!

  22. Beaucoup de douceur dans cette série de photos. Tu me fais découvrir de merveilleux paysages lointains. Merci.

I'm always happy to read your comments :) Vos commentaires me font toujours plaisir :)

