Bleu Lavande

Hello everybody !

Recently I went to a favourite place of mine, a place I hold dear and where I always love to return to.  At this place they grow a plant, a wonderful plant, one of my very favourite.  It is a plant of many virtues and uses and one that exhale an exquisite perfume.  If I had to escape to a remote island and could only bring a few plants with me, you can be sure that lavender would be on my list !

Cultivated in Fitch Bay in the Eastern townships on Appelgrove’s hillside, Bleu Lavande has a surface of 260 acres out of which 42 of them are exploited to produce lavender.  They extract essential oil from about 100,000 plants which serves to elaborate about forty products.  When I go I always return home with a few products  from their wonderful boutique, like bar soaps, linen water and body cream.  This year I also bought two more plants to add to the three others I have.  And, of course, I can’t go to Bleu Lavande without taking a few photos🙂

#bleu lavande #lavender #lavande #lavender fields

#lavender #lavande #bleu lavande

#lavender #lavande #bleu lavande #flowers #fleurs

I couldn’t resist capturing this tender moment…

#lavender #lavande #bleu lavande

Lavender from my garden

#lavender #lavande #still life lavender #still life #nature morte lavande

#lavender #lavande

Here I am in the fields of Bleu Lavande🙂

Jocelyne

If you are interested in growing lavender here are a few tips :

– Choose a cultivar that is hardy to your region.

– Plant lavender in a very poor soil and never add compost or other fertilizer.

– Plant lavender on a mound to ensure a good drainage.

– In winter, If you don’t have a good cover of snow, add a fair amount of straw to protect the plant      from frost.

– Lavender only loves lavender and it won’t do as good with other plants nearby.

Click here to have more tips from Bleu Lavande website.

In my garden, I am awaiting, with great eagerness, the blooming of my gladiolus, with which I hope to make some beautiful photos.   And next week I’ll have my family visiting, hopefully I’ll be able to do some portrait sessions !

Wishing you all a great week and a beautiful end of Summer.

Jocelyne

52 comments on “Bleu Lavande

  1. photocris says:

    comme le bleu lavande te va bien !tes photos sont pleines de romantismes ! j’adore

  2. As we say in french : une fleur parmi les fleurs… Jolies photos encore que voilà Jocelyne, merci pour le partage et bonne journée à toi ! Biz

  3. Lisa Gordon says:

    This is probably my favorite of all summer flowers, Jocelyn, and your photographs of it here are so beautiful.

  4. Anne Jutras says:

    Awww… tes photos sont superbes, comme toujours! Tu as su capturer un moment de tendresse auréolé de douceur, ce joli papillon qui a gentiment posé pour toi (rire) et cette germe de lavande reposant dans ce jolie seau rustique.

    J’y suis allée moi aussi, avec chéri, on a eu droit un massage de pied. Mmmm un délice! Sauf que les fleurs n’étaient pas tout à fait à leur meilleures, l’année prochaine je vais y aller plus tôt. Genre début juillet, pour vraiment voir les fleurs à leur plein floraison.

    Bonne semaine!

    • Moi aussi quand j’y suis allée les fleurs n’étaient pas à leur pleine floraison. Ça ne paraît pas trop dans les photos, j’ai dû ajouter un peu de couleur pour faire ressortir le bleu/mauve. J’y suis allée le 19 juillet je crois, ou dans ce coin-là, et moi aussi j’y retourne début juillet l’année prochaine. Mais juste la boutique ça vaut le détour !
      Je n’ai pas pu m’empêcher de photographier ce couple qui s’enlaçaient, c’était trop romantique !🙂 Si je les connaissais je leur enverrais la photo ! Merci beaucoup pour ton commentaire Anne et bonne semaine à toi aussi !
      p.s. aujourd’hui c’était mon anniversaire, ma dernière année dans la quarantaine…

  5. Oh such a truly beautiful day. I am jealous of you being able to enjoy such incredible lavender fields. Your photos are stunning. Love the soft features you’ve given them. My favorite one is the bucket.

    • Thank you so much Emily ! Your comment made me realize that not everybody have access to beautiful fields of lavender like these one’s. It makes me appreciate them even more ! There aren’t any in your area ? I would love to see those of Provence…
      Have a nice week-end🙂

  6. Anonymous says:

    Hi Jocelyn … very nice story and wonderful photos. Thanks for sharing.

  7. montucky says:

    What a beautiful place in which to grow such a crop!

  8. elisaruland says:

    Jocelyn, I’ve always been a fan of lavendar, and your beautiful photographs are a reminder why. I didn’t realize that lavendar only does well growing well lavendar, which explains the many pictures I’ve seen with row after row of this lovely plant. Take care, and have a wonderful day!
    Elisa

  9. Pantxika says:

    Tout est bleu lavande… on n’en devine presque les senteurs … la Provence n’est pas loin dans notre imaginaire ! Merci Jocelyne pour ce joli billet !

  10. Nothing like a Lavender! And your pictures of flowers are the best Jocelyne! The shot of the couple is so dream-like, my favourite:) Nice self-portrait too, there could not have been a better location for it:)

  11. I was admiring your photos and it reminded me of an old song I heard when I was a child. Here is the link: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lavender_Blue. The words are:
    Lavender’s blue, dilly dilly, lavender’s green,
    When I am king, dilly, dilly, you shall be queen.
    Who told you so, dilly, dilly, who told you so?
    ‘Twas my own heart, dilly, dilly, that told me so.
    Call up your men, dilly, dilly, set them to work
    Some to the plow, dilly, dilly, some to the fork,
    Some to make hay, dilly, dilly, some to cut corn,
    While you and I, dilly, dilly, keep ourselves warm.
    Lavender’s green, dilly, dilly, Lavender’s blue,
    If you love me, dilly, dilly, I will love you.
    Let the birds sing, dilly, dilly, And the lambs play;
    We shall be safe, dilly, dilly, out of harm’s way.
    I love to dance, dilly, dilly, I love to sing;
    When I am queen, dilly, dilly, You’ll be my king.
    Who told me so, dilly, dilly, Who told me so?
    I told myself, dilly, dilly, I told me so.

    Have a great day! Debra

  12. David says:

    Very pretty.

    Since lavender likes poor soil, we have plenty of it here. May have to try my hand at it.

  13. JimR says:

    Beautiful shots Jocelyne.

  14. Bonjour je découvre ton blog via Marie-Charlotte, d’Ici et d’ailleurs. Et quelle belle découverte😉
    J’aime beaucoup cette série de photos, j’ai l’impression de voir ma Provence… Et celle avec le papillon est sublime…😉
    A bientôt !

    • Bonjour Laulinea ! Bienvenue sur mon blogue🙂
      Merci beaucoup pour ton beau commentaire qui me fait bien plaisir !
      J’ai déjà visité ton blogue il y a quelques mois et j’ai beaucoup aimé. J’y retournerai bientôt pour voir tes nouvelles photos🙂
      Passe une très belle semaine !

  15. Wow, absolutely beautiful Jocelyn🙂

  16. Jenna says:

    What a beautiful sight! It must have been so wonderful to meander these gardens with such beautiful flowers. As always, you capture the romance of flowers at their best with your camera. Excellent photos – especially that one with the butterfly, as well as of the couple. I always enjoy “meeting” online friends through photos, so it is nice to see you in this post. It sounds like you had a wonderful time! Thanks for sharing.🙂

  17. Jenna thank you so much for your lovely comment, and I’m sorry for the late response. When I saw that couple embracing, really I couldn’t resist to photograph them ! I’m glad you like the photo. I really had a great time, Bleu Lavande is a favourite place of mine.
    I hope you have a great week-end !🙂

  18. A wonderful read Jocelyne and the images a romantically superb. Soft , delicate and wonderful compositions.

  19. Thank you so much for this beautiful comment James. I am such a romantic at heart and when I saw this couple embracing I couldn’t resist to photograph them🙂 I was then inspired to edit these photos in soft tones. I wish you have a great week !

  20. mtphotoii says:

    I love the smell of Lavender! Just doesn’t grow for me, though : (

    These are wonderful pictures!!!

    I really like the ethereal feel of the 3rd one with the butterfly
    and the Golden / Green feel of the 6th one.

    You look cute too : )

    – Michael
    http://AmazingPicturesBlog.com

    • Michael, thank you so much for your visit and your kind words. It’s a pity lavender won’t grow for you, it’s a wonderful plant. Thank you for the sweet compliment🙂
      I hope you have a great week-end !

  21. Anyluckypenny says:

    Such beautiful colors!! I am obsessed with pastel and light colors. The picture with the butterfly is gorgeous!! Your pictures always make me smile and happy🙂

    • Dear Adri, your comments always make me smile and make me happy, you radiate so much cheerfulness, it’s always good to see you here🙂 I’m so glad you love the photo of the butterfly, it’s one of my favourite. Thank you for your beautiful comment and a happy weekend to you !

      • Anyluckypenny says:

        Thank you Jocelyne! I’m happy to be back here too! I saved your picture with the butterfly if that is alright🙂 I am decorating my room right now (light pastel colors) and your picture made me think of my room. Right now it’s light blue, light yellow and light green. I don’t have lavender yet, so I was thinking of maybe putting your picture in a frame! I want to stop by Michael’s art supplies or Pier 1 Imports and get a nice picture frame for my room it needs some pictures! I want to get new curtains also..it’s a project in the making!

  22. How exciting Adri ! It’s so much fun to redecorate, so refreshing ! No problem, you can use my photo. I can send you one without the signature via Facebook if you’d like. Just let me know if you prefer that. 🙂

  23. Céline says:

    Bonjour Jocelyne,
    À mon tour de découvrir ton blog et tes photos! J’aime beaucoup la 6e sur ce billet ainsi que celles avec le papillon. J’ai visité le site “Bleu Lavande” moi aussi cet été: un vrai bonheur pour les yeux et le nez!!
    Bonne journée et au plaisir! 😉

  24. Hello Jocelyn,
    Although this response is long overdue, I wanted to tell you how much I enjoyed this blog.
    What a beautiful place and lovely photos. You always create such a soft, romantic mood.

I'm always happy to read your comments :) Vos commentaires me font toujours plaisir :)

