Quietude…

Hello my friends,

#barn, #countryside,

Quietude…  A deep inner feeling of peace of mind and heart.  Sometimes gripping us only just for a fleeting moment, leaving us longing for more, trying to make it lasts longer, to linger.  At other times descending upon us and taking roots deep within, leaving us centered and in perfect harmony with the universe.  Pure moments of bliss…

I wish there could be more of these moments.  In the image above, I liked the calmness that preceded a storm.  When I took these photos I was at peace, living in the present moment, enjoying quietude.  I was in the Middle Way.

#dogs #quietude

Peacefulness on the shores of St-Lawrence River where I went whale watching.  I saw the great blue whale on that day, after sitting patiently on these rocks for two hours.  It was a grand moment for me.

#landscape, #St-Lawrence River,

Quietude on a beautiful day at St-Simon Les Mines.

#horses, #quietude, #countryside

Something that gives me instant quietude is when I go kayaking.  There’s only me in my kayak, the river, the trees and the occasional sound of a bird.  Silence….  Perfection…

#Kayak, #Chaudière River

This summer I couldn’t do much kayaking.  We had crude oil in Chaudière river after the great train tragedy in Lac Mégantic, last July, where wagons transporting oil exploded, destroying half of downtown of the village and killing fifty-two people.  We had an interdiction to navigate and floating booms were installed in some places along the river.  Now the interdiction to navigate has lifted and I went on the river with my kayak to see how it looks.  I didn’t see oil, the floating booms are still there but they left corners open so we can go through them.

I hope you will all have a nice week-end.  As of me, if the weather cooperates I hope I can go kayaking and enjoy quietude on the beautiful Chaudière river.

Jocelyne

46 comments on “Quietude…

  1. Anne Jutras says:

    Bonjour Jocelyne, aussitôt que l’on regarde tes photos l’ont ressent une grande quiétude. Tes images évoquent le calme, la sérénité et une grande richesse qui nous rempli de l’intérieur. La photo des chevaux est sublime, le ton sépia et la douceur du décor sont bien choisi.

    Oh, je vois que la tragédie de cet été a eu des répercussions sur les activités de plein air, entre le kayak… Heureusement que la nature reprend ses droits! Dis, est-ce que tu apportes ton appareil photo quand tu fais kayak? Si oui, que fais-tu pour le protger?

    Je te souhaite une superbe week-end! Moi, les randonnées photos reprennent, l’automne nous attend. Bises xx

    • Anne, tu est si généreuse dans tes commentaires, je voudrais dire plus que merci et je les apprécient toujours.
      Je suis bien heureuse que l’interdiction de naviguer soit levée, j’étais sûre qu’on ne pourrait naviguer de toute la saison. Je ne vais pas faire du kayak à d’autres lacs, la plupart du temps c’est dans la Chaudière, alors disons que ma saison a été un peu “scrap” mais il ne faut pas que je me plaigne, je n’ai perdu personne dans la tragédie de Mégantic… J’apporte un appareil photo quand je vais en kayak mais jamais mon Pentax ! J’apporte plutôt un autre “Point and shoot” et je prends les photos en “Manuel”. Pour le protéger j’ai acheté un sac scellant, parfaitement imperméable. Ça se vend dans les boutiques de sport genre Mountain Equipment Coop. C’est fait exprès pour les sports nautiques et c’est entièrement étanche. Mais je ne me décide pas à apporter mon bon appareil, j’aurais trop peur !
      Je te souhaite aussi un excellent week-end et vivement tes randonnées photos, tu sembles avoir du succès avec celles-ci, c’est super🙂
      xxx

  2. JimR says:

    Beautiful and peaceful images Jocelyne, as I drift off to sleep. Have a great weekend.

  3. drawandshoot says:

    Hi Jocelyne, beautiful photographs full of peace. I love kayaking too; being out on the river is bliss.
    So terrible about that train tragedy. I’m glad you have your river (mostly) back.

  4. Thank you very much Karen🙂 Isn’t kayaking a wonderful sport ? But alas I’m afraid on more agitated waters, I’ll have to try it more often. Have a great week-end !

  5. Vey lovely message and images

  6. Mike says:

    Great images Jocelyne! I love your theme of quietude, which all of your images capture beautifully. The horses are my favorite though. Hope your weekend is enjoyable.

    • Thank you very much Mike ! I wasn’t thinking of a theme for this post but when I looked at these images that’s what I felt and remembered when I took them. I’m glad to know they could convey this feeling. Have a great week-end🙂

  7. elisaruland says:

    Jocelyne, I remember following the train tragedy in Lac Megantic last July, and it was interesting to read how it affected you, as a local. Nature is resilient and will heal, allowing you to enjoy her through your passion of kayaking…..hopefully soon! Your photographs are so lovely!

    • Hi Elisa🙂 This tragedy was so horrible… We were horrified when we heard the news. It affected us not just through the river but also in our souls. I didn’t knew anyone in Mégantic, but even though it’s an hour drive from where I live I could feel vibrations of distress and sorrows. I could have gone kayaking on Lac Mégantic, it was not closed to navigation, only on specific parts of the lake, but I didn’t go finally.
      Thank you so much for your kind words on my photos. Have a great week-end !🙂

  8. Merci pour ce doux billet et bon week-end à toi aussi ! Biz

  9. photocris says:

    le kayak …ta passion ! moi aussi j’adore l’eau je suis resté 25ans moniteur de plongée sous marine et je faisais aussi de hydrospeed sorte de luge d’eau pour descendre les torrents !
    tes photos sont très belles ! j’aime bien la 3 !

    • Bonjour Christian ! Je ne suis pas aussi brave que toi, je ne pourrais jamais descendre un torrent, j’aurais beaucoup trop peur ! Même en kayak j’ai peur lorsque l’eau est trop agitée. Quel beau sport la plongée sous-marine, comme tu as dû en voir de belles choses sous l’eau🙂
      Merci beaucoup pour ton beau compliment sur mes photos et passe une très belle fin de semaine !

  10. Lisa Gordon says:

    I LOVE this word, and these beautiful images are so perfect for it, Jocelyne!

    I wish you a wonderful weekend.

  11. All of these shots are great! You captured the sweet solitude and peace in each of them. My favorite is the one with the barn because I am just a country girl at heart. Have a great weekend.
    Debra

  12. Pantxika says:

    Un billet aux teintes douces… à l’ambiance apaisante … et puis ta dernière image avec la couleur tonique du kayak nous ramène à la réalité !

    Bonne journée Jocelyne !

  13. Kim's says:

    De superbes et paisibles photos, beaucoup de douceur et de poésie dans ce billet🙂

  14. David says:

    Beautiful photos. It’s always good to have a place to escape to, and clear the mind.

    Have a good week ahead.

  15. I can’t say I am feeling at peace right now, but your photos remind me of that state and bring it a little bit closer.

    • Life sometimes challenge us with more difficult experiences and finding peace is not always possible. I hope you can regain peace of mind and heart and I’m glad if these photos could have helped a little.
      Have a beautiful week-end Karen🙂

  16. Jenna says:

    What a wonderful, warm post. We all need to take more moments in life to stop and admire the beauty of nature and let the serenity wash over us. Thanks for the great post!

  17. Georgianna says:

    Dear Jocelyne, So much beauty and serenity in your words and images. I appreciate that you reach out and share your thoughts on a deeper level. I hope that you have many peaceful moments on your river and time to reach those special places of grace. Thank you, my friend.

  18. Anyluckypenny says:

    Beautiful Jocelyne! Your pictures make me wish I could be in them. You live such a beautiful and serene life! Each of your photographs tells a story🙂 the picture with the Labrador retriever reminds me of my dog Penny! Is it your dog?

    • Thank you so much Adri ! You made me a beautiful compliment by saying that my photos tells a story. The dog is not mine, I met him at a pub and he was very friendly, he was 10 years old.
      I hope you have a lovely week🙂

  19. Beautiful, beautiful pictures, Jocelyne! I can almost sense the calmness and tranquility of the place. Amazing indeed.

  20. Une très belle série ! J’adore celle avec les chevaux. Tes photos ont toujours ce petit rendu doux où la lumière est filtrée, où les sens sont apaisés. Merci de partager🙂

  21. What a sad story of the oil spill…I am glad you finally can get back on your beautiful waters.

  22. Judy says:

    Beautiful photos, as always~putting the feeling of quietude within me. Thank you. I thought of you this summer, when we heard about the train tragedy. I wondered how close it was to you. Incredibly sad for the loss of people, the town and the environmental damage.

    • Thank you so much Judy !
      Lac Mégantic is an hour drive from my home, but everybody here deeply felt this tragedy. Many people from St-Georges know people from Mégantic and we could feel the sadness, it was palpable.
      Have a great week-end Judy🙂

  23. Not sure how I missed this lovely post back in the fall. Lovely photos and they warm my heart especially to see them during this very cold winter!

  24. Jocelyne says:

    It was so cold and now we’re having 0° and +2°C with rain and we’re covered in ice… A very crazy winter this year ! A little extra warmth is always welcome and I’m very pleased these photos could find their way to your heart. Have a lovely week-end Jane🙂

  25. Great images illustrating the idea of quietude – which is a beautiful state of mind. Your images are so peaceful and serene. And I love how you have processed them.

    • Jocelyne says:

      Thank you very much Otto, I was really in that state of mind when I took these photos, I’m glad they could convey a sense of peacefulness.
      Thank you for visiting, I appreciate a lot🙂

I'm always happy to read your comments :) Vos commentaires me font toujours plaisir :)

