Flower photography – Summer 2013

Hi everybody  🙂

#peonies, #pivoines, #flowers, #fleurs, #still life, #natures mortes

Each time a flower blooms in my garden I am like a child receiving a Christmas gift.  I am focused on this one flower that has magically opened its petals and it never ceases to amaze me just how beautiful flowers are.  But flowers do not exist only for their nectar or for us to marvel at their grace and beauty. They have another important purpose and message.  A gift for us humans.

Flowers are among us to ease our journey

#peonies, #pivoines, #pink peonies, #pivoines roses

To lighten our hearts in the midst of storms in our lives

#wildflowers, #fleurs sauvages, #flowers, #fleurs,

To remind us to turn toward the sun’s rays instead of reaching in the darkness of our sorrows

#wheat, #blé

To open our hearts to heal

#wildflowers, #fleurs sauvages

To be happy

#flowers, #fleurs, #rudbeckia, #rudbeckie

To smile and laugh

#rudbeckia, #rudbeckie, #flowers, #fleurs,

To keep our child’s heart

#échinacée, #echinacea, #flowers, #fleurs,

And to love

#black and white flower photography, #roses, #photographie noir et blanc, #flowers, #fleurs

At this time of year, as the flowers begin to wither, I always feel a little pinch in the heart to see them go…

Another of my favourite photographers, especially in flower photography, is Kathleen Clemons.  Her photos are a real delight for the eyes.  She mostly uses the Lensbaby for her flower shots, a lens I am thinking of buying for flower photography.  The Lensbaby offers different lenses and optics which produces creative effects of selective focus with a sweet spot of sharp focus that I really love in flower photography.  Click here if you would like to know more about the Lensbaby.    Kathleen has made a beautiful slide show  of her flower photos on YouTube, click here to view it, it’s really beautiful.

Autumn colours are almost at their peak here, so I’ll try to take a few hours this week to capture these wonderful colours.

Have a beautiful week !

67 comments on “Flower photography – Summer 2013

  1. Your images are beautiful, Jocelyne. Although flowers are wonderful and I enjoy them in the garden, I also thrill at the sight of a colourful autumn forest on a crisp day. Those days will be here soon. Each season has it’s own beauty. Summer is showy, but autumn has a comfortable coziness.

    I’ll look forward to your next photos.

    -Karen

    • You’re so right Karen, autumn is a wonderful season and one that I really enjoy, even in November when all the bright colours are gone, but then we have all the beautiful browns, burgundies and yellows. So much to look forward to.
      Thanks you for your lovely comment🙂

  2. Mike says:

    Beautiful images Jocelyne. But it was your words that stuck in my head. I look forward to your fall color images.

  3. Hi Jocelyn,
    Like you, I feel some sadness when my gardens start to decline. Because it was not as hot as some years, I found that the flowers are a bit later and I still have some lovely ones in bloom. I’ll be sad when they are all finished. I am hoping though, that I will soon have more birds to photograph and they start to come back to the feeders.
    I enjoyed your photos very much.The flowers in the basket is my favourite although your monochromatic rose is lovely as well.
    Jane

    • Thank you very much Jane, I’m glad you enjoyed my photos. I also have a few flowers blooming, some asters and chrysantemum, and to my surprise, a clematis ! I don’t have much birds at the feeders too, but soon I’ll have the raccoons coming in the backyard and throwing the feeders in the ditches… I look forward to your birds photos, have a lovely week !🙂

  4. drawandshoot says:

    These are really beautiful, inspiring too.
    The foxtails are wonderful, I’ve been meaning to photograph some nearby all summer bit I haven’t gotten around to it.

  5. Shutterbug Sage says:

    Gorgeous shots! The lighting is just sensational!

  6. danivarbild says:

    Très belles photos et vos gentils mots à l’avenant. Les fleurs sont aussi pour moi une source d’inspiration pour le tir quand ils parlent de mon esprit et de mon cœur.

    Google peut traduire du suédois vers le français.

  7. Beaucoup de douceur sur ces très beaux clichés mais une ou deux photos sont un peu trop retouchées à mon goût.
    Mais je reconnais que c’est bien réalisé, le rendu façon peinture est bien vu.

    • Merci beaucoup David🙂 C’est bien ce que j’ai voulu faire avec ces 2 photos, une façon toile, et c’est vrai que soit on aime, soit on aime pas du tout ! Merci de ton commentaire, c’est très apprécié.🙂

  8. photocris says:

    Clemons Kathleen oui c’est beau mais je crois que tu n’as rien a lui envier ! elle sont si belles tes photos ! quand au lensbaby moi aussi j’ai toujours voulu m’en payer un ….mais le temps passe ! je croyais que toi a voir tes photos en possédais un …dans tout les cas continues comme ça ! j’aime tes photos !

    • Christian, quel beau compliment tu m’as fait, j’en suis très touchée. Je n’ai pas encore le lensbaby mais j’obtiens un beau flouté grâce à un objectif ayant une grande ouverture, à f1.8, et je ne saurais m’en passer ! Merci encore pour tes beaux compliments🙂

  9. Pantxika says:

    Explosion de jolies couleurs et de douceur… j’aime beaucoup ta façon de t’approprier tes photos en y mettant ta “patte” en véritable Artiste ! Bravo un vrai régal des yeux ! Bisous !

  10. Lisa Gordon says:

    Jocelyne, these are truly so beautiful.
    I especially love the first one.
    Such a beautiful composition.

  11. montucky says:

    Your photos are very beautiful, and the captions are perfect! A summer to be remembered.

  12. Wow Jocelyne! Your passion and love for flower photography clearly come through in these images. Appreciating the beauty of flowers is one thing but to be able to take meaning out of them and see them the way you do is quite another. Love your work:)

  13. danivarbild says:

    Très belles photos, en particulier de l’image n ° 3 et descendre.

  14. An absolutely enjoyable read Jocelyne and wow! the images are absolutely terrific in their composition, balance in exposure, a real feast for the eye.and a delight to look at again and again. If I had to choose a couple of images they would be number three and four, for the softness of colour and the d.o.f. But I should not choose because all of the images tell the story of your passion for nature. Hope you have a great week.

    • James, thank you so very much for your great comment, it really means a lot to me. I have a real passion for flowers and it’s funny to see how composition in flower photography comes naturally to me, as oppose to landscape or urban photography.
      It was great to read your comment and I hope you have a nice week-end !

  15. David says:

    Very pretty! Your depth-of-field work is most impressive.

  16. Je n’en reviens pas ! tes photos sont superbes ! Ces couleurs pastel sont incroyables. Les pivoines sont mes fleurs préférées, tellement rétro et romantiques (ce sont les fleurs de mon bouquet de mariée ;)) a bientôt !

  17. Merci beaucoup Marie-Charlotte pour tes beaux compliments !
    Moi aussi les pivoines sont parmi mes fleurs préférées et si je me mariais j’aimerais bien en avoir dans mon bouquet🙂
    Passe une très belle semaine🙂

  18. Anonymous says:

    Que j’aime la délicatesse du panier… Encore un travail magnifique de photographie… Belle semaine !

  19. These photos are stunning!! Love them all🙂

  20. Judy says:

    Your floral images never cease to inspire me, to make me smile and cause me to sigh with their beauty! They look as if you painted them….they are sooo lovely. You have such a way with the lens and composition. You are so talented, Jocelyne! I love to look at your work. Thank you so much for sharing.

    • Judy !! Hi ! I’m so glad to see you’re back🙂 Thank you so very very much for your lovely comment, it means a great deal to me. I saw you made a new post on your blog, I’ll go visit you soon ! Have a great day tomorrow🙂

  21. tomwhelan says:

    All beautiful, but the chicory and the grasses in the middle of the sequence are the ones that speak to me. Enjoy the fall – looking forward to seeing what you make of it!

  22. Anne Jutras says:

    Dire que je n’ai pas écrit de commentaires sur ce billet, mais où avais-je la tête?!? Il y a une lumière extraordinaire sur tes photos! L’éclat de ces fleurs et les couleurs en sont enrichit de façon spectaculaire. Celle qui me frappe le plus est la cinquième, la luminosité me fait pensé aux créations de… ah, zut! J’ai oublié son nom, je sais que tu la connais et aime bien ses photos.

    En tout cas, continue à nous éblouir et profites bien des couleurs de l’automne. xx

    • Merci beaucoup Anne pour ce beau commentaire qui m’a fait très plaisir !
      L’automne est magnifique cette année, il y a longtemps que j’avais vu un si bel automne.
      Passe une très belle semaine🙂 xx

  23. Jenna says:

    What a wonderful post on a much needed topic for people to remember – to find joy and a bright spot each day. Flowers certainly are uplifting and cheerful. Somehow, when I see a beautiful, sturdy flower, I find myself unable to resist cupping it in my hands and breathing the fragrance deeply. It’s wonderful. Thanks for the great post!

    • Thank you so much Jenna for your beautiful comment.
      I do the same thing you do with flowers, I often take them in my hands, it is something I just can’t resist doing🙂 I’m also glad you liked my words on this post, I really do believe flowers speak to us in their own way.🙂

  24. These shots are amazing! Really pretty!😀

  25. They are really beautiful flower photos.

  26. These are really really lovely photos. A pleasure to look through!🙂 I hope you have printed some of these. It’s becoming increasingly rare these days but these would look great as big prints behind glass!

    • Peter, how nice of you to visit and leave such a beautiful comment,thank you so much !
      I haven’t printed a single photo of mine yet… And to have big prints requires a good printer, which I haven’t found yet. It must be so satisfying to see our photos printed and framed and hanged on a wall. Have a great week Peter🙂

  27. Some excellent shots here. really lik ether. Glad you found me so that the opposite could also apply. MM 🍀

  28. These are absolutely stunning! I wish that I could create like you.

  29. Joe says:

    Your floral as well as other photography is simply gorgeous Jocelyne 😀

    • Jocelyne says:

      Thank you so very much Joe for this beautiful compliment, you are very kind🙂
      Floral photography along with still life is what I enjoy most, but recently I’ve become more and more interested in other genre, like photos that tell a story.
      Have a beautiful evening !

  30. Wonderful and beautiful Jocelyne🙂

  31. Gorgeous images. I don’t know which flower to pick, so to speak. They are awesome and with the own and different palettes and moods and compositions. It’s really a great bouquet.

I'm always happy to read your comments :) Vos commentaires me font toujours plaisir :)

