The life of a tree

Sitting quietly under a tree on a beautiful Summer day, hearing the soft rustling sound of the leaves in the breeze.

Crossing an open field on a bitter cold winter’s day and taking shelter from the harsh cold wind at the edge of the forest.

Admiring birds perching in a nearby tree.

Walking a trail in the woods under a canopy of trees, feeling at peace and united with nature.

Leaning against the trunk of a tree, embracing it and sensing its healing energy flowing in.

What would we do, what would we become without trees ?  We need them to survive much more than we think we do.

One of my favourite scientist and environmentalist David Suzuki wrote, along with writer Wayne Grady, a wonderful book about the life story of a tree, from it’s beginnings as a seed and expanding through the tree’s lifetime.  Suzuki and Grady describe how the tree grows and receives nourishment and what role the tree plays in the forest throughout its life. It acts as a home to a succession of creatures and plays a crucial role in the water cycle, in breaking rock down into soil, and in removing carbon dioxide and producing oxygen. Even after the tree dies, it provides a home for moss, ferns, and other plants, which use the tree as a nurse log, and it provides nutrients for insects and fungi. Tree also looks at the community of organisms that share the tree’s ecosystem and at the events going on in the larger world during the tree’s lifetime.

I went for a long walk a few weeks ago and was captivated by the great beauty of an old maple tree.

#maple tree #trees #érable #arbre

I took more photos of trees that day

#trees #arbres

#trees, #arbres, #winter #hiver

If you are interested in David Suzuki’s book “Tree A Life Story”, click here to go to his website and learn more about it.  I haven’t read it yet but I surely will.

I hope the weather will warm up here so we can really embrace Spring and see all the snow disappearing. We still have a lot here.  I wish you all a wonderful week !

Jocelyne

 

51 comments on “The life of a tree

  1. Beautiful images and thoughts as always Jocelyne🙂 I admire your vision and always look forward to your posts🙂 xo

  2. elisa ruland says:

    Your photographs have a gentle ethereal quality, a look I love, and along with your writing makes for a fabulous post! Take care, Jocelyne!

  3. Uncle Tree says:

    What a sweet tribute!🙂 Your photos are fab!
    Thanks for sharing the luvz! Uncle Tree ▲

  4. I like all of your photos Jocelyne, but looking at them again I’m drawn toward the first and second images which are powerful. I like the twists and turns of the branches reaching out in every direction and the feeling of texture in the bark which comes across well with the contrast and color. Well done🙂 I also am drawn to the second image with your framing choice, and the mixture of detail and softness. It’s very powerful to me in how I am drawn into the image🙂 Very nice! xox🙂

    • Jocelyne says:

      Jeff, wow, thank you so much for your wonderful comment🙂 I’m very happy you like the second photo. It was not easy to get that shot, I had to walk into deep snow and lay on my back on the cold snow, I was freezing🙂 I loved how the trees were forming a canopy overhead, it was special, I couldn’t get them all in the frame but I was happy with the result. I hesitated with the framing, there were so many possibilities, I’m glad you like it.
      I always love to read your appreciation of my photos, it means a lot🙂 xo

  5. Jenna says:

    Beautiful post, Jocelyne! I’m always happy to see a new post here. Your photos are all beautiful as always, but – wow, that first one? One of your very best pictures to date, in my opinion! Fantastic! I have many, many tree photos, and one of the trees here at my home looks almost exactly like this one you’ve photographed. Your photography skills continue to inspire me. Excellent camera work!

    …I hope to purchase a macro lens for the spring blooms. Not to change the subject, but do you have any recommendations for what I should look for for my Canon camera? I hope you won’t mind my asking…I really appreciate your knowledge for cameras. You can email me if you’d like to.🙂

    Again, stunning photos! You’re such a great photographer!

    • Jocelyne says:

      Dear Jenna, thank you so very much ! What a heartwarming and wonderful comment. it’s a joy to know I can inspire you, I’m glad🙂 I really love the photo of that tree too, I was so happy when I first saw it because it’s difficult to know when we take a photo if we’ll be happy with the result.
      I asked a professional photographer friend about a Canon macro lens, he has been with Canon for a long time, and I’ll send you an email very soon with his recommendations.🙂
      Thank you again Jenna for your very kind words, they mean a lot ! 🙂
      Have a great weekend !

  6. Elina says:

    Stunning photos Jocelyne, and I agree, trees are so beautiful! I hope the sun will melt the snow over there and bring you a lovely spring very soon!

    • Jocelyne says:

      Oh thank you very much Elina ! We see signs of Spring now, the snow is melting and the sun is shining and the birds are signing🙂 I hope you have a beautiful Spring too.
      I haven’t been to your blog in many weeks, I miss your photos, I’ll visit soon !
      Have a great weekend🙂

  7. Lisa Gordon says:

    Jocelyne, your photographs are just beautiful. I especially love the first one. It really is very special.

    Thank you for sharing the book information here. I will definitely be looking at it.

    Happy April to you, my friend! xo.

    • Jocelyne says:

      Thank you so much Lisa ! I’m going to buy the book to learn more about our friends, the trees🙂
      Happy April to you too and have a beautiful weekend dear friend🙂

  8. Céline says:

    Quelles belles photos d’arbres Jocelyne! J’aime particulièrement la dernière qui focus sur un détail mais en gardant le sujet principal flou en arrière plan🙂
    Comme toi, j’aime les arbres, j’aime énormément la nature car c’est notre “mère” à tous!🙂

    • Jocelyne says:

      Merci beaucoup Céline pour ton beau commentaire qui me fait bien plaisir🙂
      C’est bien vrai, la nature est notre “mère” et j’espère que dans le futur on saura tous en prendre meilleur soin.
      Passe une très belle fin de semaine Céline🙂

  9. photocris says:

    une fois de + je m’aperçois que je suis fan de tes photos
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/58867318@N06/?v=1

  10. David says:

    Gorgeous photos.

  11. Reblogged this on Carolyn Winter and commented:
    Interesting blog i found through my friend Jane Walker

  12. janina says:

    Now, what is that old poem about a tree, that we learned in school? Aahh, yes: “I think that I shall never see / A poem lovely as a tree.” Here’s a link: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trees_%28poem%29.

  13. Anne Jutras says:

    Moi aussi je suis attachée et fascinée par les arbres, plus ils sont contorsionnées, plus je les trouve beaux. Comme les bonsaï par exemple, mais ça, c’est une toute autre approche, qui me fascine également. Tes photos sont magnifiques, surtout la première avec toutes ces branches qui crées une jolie texture. Bisous et à bientôt! xx

    • Jocelyne says:

      Les vieux arbres contorsionnés sont vraiment parmi les plus beaux. J’aime aussi beaucoup les saules pleureurs. Merci de ta visite et de ton beau commentaire chère Anne, ça me fait toujours très plaisir de te retrouver ici🙂
      Passe une belle semaine ! xxx

  14. montucky says:

    The trees are enjoying the start of spring too! I wish that all people would give them the respect and care that they are due!

    • Jocelyne says:

      It’s so true montucky, trees should have our respect and we should care for them better than how we’re doing now. There’s so much deforestation everywhere on the planet, it’s very sad.
      Have a beautiful week !🙂

  15. Wonderful images – and I completely agree with you in what you write. My favourite picture is the first one of the old maple tree. You have captured its beautiful structured branches and the post processing adds to the sense of old, solid and wise if I may use such a word.

    • Jocelyne says:

      I wasn’t sure how I wanted to process this photo at first, but I finally wanted to give it a feeling
      of an old tree which probably is. I’m very glad you liked it Otto. Thank you very much for your
      appreciation.
      Have a great week🙂

  16. Tina Schell says:

    Wonderful work Jocelyn – and an interesting idea thinking about a tree’s lifetime. Imagine the stories they could tell! Particularly like the birdhouse and your final shot.

    • Jocelyne says:

      I’m sure trees could tell us wonderful stories and also teach us a thing or two. Thank you very much Tina for your words and visit, it’s much appreciated🙂
      Have a beautiful weekend ahead🙂

  17. Lovely photographs, Jocelyn. The first one really stands out in terms of composition – a truly artistic expression. And the third photograph is a story in itself! Jocelyn, your love and admiration for nature is clearly evident through these images. What’s best is that you easily translate those emotions into photographs which is a real challenge for every photographer.

    • Jocelyne says:

      Thank you so very much Uday🙂 It’s true, it’s not always easy to convey an emotion in a photo. We have to be open and in the “zone” to succeed in doing so. You are very good at this so I know you understand what I mean by the “zone”🙂
      Have a nice day !

  18. Wonderful images and the analogies are great!

  19. JimR says:

    Lovely post Jocelyne with great images. Outside our new home, behind our back garden, we are lucky to have quite a number of trees. On a sunny morning, after breakfast, we love to sit in the conservatory and watch the squirrels leaping between the branches. Amazing!

    • Jocelyne says:

      Hi Jim, thank you so much ! How wonderful that you have so much trees around your home, I think they add so much in our lives. It’s fun to watch the squirrels and I never tired to observe birds coming and going.
      I’m sorry for my late response, I hope you have a wonderful Sunday🙂

  20. Bel hommage à ces éléments de la biodiversité que sont les arbres, j’ai la chance d’habiter à côté de la belle forêt de Compiègne… Bonne journée ! Biz Evelyne

    • Jocelyne says:

      Merci beaucoup de ta visite Evelyne🙂 J’ai regardé des images de cette forêt sur Google images et en effet cela semble être une très belle forêt. Comme ça doit être plaisant de s’y promener.
      J’espère que tu as passé une belle fin de semaine de Pâques et je te souhaite une très belle
      semaine🙂 Biz

  21. Is this post a musing about times gone by? Or could it signify a yearning for a summer not yet arrived?

    The second picture of the tree snaking upwards into the sky jumps out at me. It seems to signify an aspiration and a yearning…

    Shakti

    • Jocelyne says:

      I’m very sorry for my late response Shakti, welcome to my blog🙂
      Times gone by was not what I had in mind when I wrote this post but it is certainly something I’ve always felt a longing for. I’m glad the second photo got to you. Our photos often reveals more about ourselves, and more than we think they do and as I look at it again it’s true that we can discern an aspiration or yearning in it. Thank you for your comment Shakti and have a beautiful day🙂

  22. Your writing is so meditative and poetic, Jocelyn, it draws me deep into stillness and peace. Trees are truly worthy of our reflection. I especially love your first photo, in which your processing preserves the architectural integrity of the tree and at the same time delivers an ethereal quality by illuminating all of those many delicate shoots at the branches’ ends. You have blessed us all with this lovely post. Ever kindly, Vivian

    • Jocelyne says:

      Vivian, what a pleasure to have you here and reading your beautiful comment. I’m so glad if my writing could draw you into stillness and peace. Thank you so much for your beautiful compliment on my photo. I’m sorry for the delay of my reply. I hope you have a beautiful Sunday. I’ll be visiting your blog soon🙂

  23. janina says:

    Hope all is going well with you, Jocelyne! Spring must be lovely in your neck of the woods.🙂

    • Jocelyne says:

      Hi Janina ! Yes, everything is going well, I hope it’s the same for you🙂
      Spring this year is not the best I have seen, we have lots of rain and grey days, I hope the
      weather is nicer in your part of the world.
      Have a nice day🙂

      • janina says:

        Well, jocelyne, the gloom won’t last…
        Here, our Autumn has been sunny and rainy too. Today it is sunny, mild with no wind. In fact, I saw some hot air balloons this morning, the ideal weather for them, took some pix too with my cellphone (one in the shape of a glass of beer…only in Australia!). Keep well!😉

I'm always happy to read your comments :) Vos commentaires me font toujours plaisir :)

