A touch of Summer in the heart of Winter

Hello dear friends !

Here are a few still life images I created this Summer who, I hope, will remind you that Spring isn’t so far away.

Creating images with flowers and trying to find new ways to capture these beauties is always a joy.

Signé SYS

IFacebook

IMGP5600 choisi vintage 2 choisi pour WEB red.640

# 6 choisi 2 pour FB

Renewing my creativity and trying new things with still life images is  always a goal, along with improving and refining my composition skills and post-processing techniques.  Lately I was inspired by the wonderful art of  Ukraine photographer Татьяна Скороход.  Her images are shot against dark backgrounds with superb lighting.  I really like the play of light and shadows in her stunning images.  You can find her profile on 1x by clicking here.  I also really like Tarek Art on 500 px, a photographer from Cairo, Egypt.  You can visit his profile by clicking here.  I did, just once, this kind of image using a dark background, it was 3 years ago when I was new to photography and one of my first attempts at still life.   Here’s the photo.

IMGP0653 Corel levels 245 J.Drossin Overlay 30

I will explore this style more in-depth, I hope I’ll be able to come up with some beautiful images and share them here.

Currently I’m working on an animated gif, snow falling on a winter image, and it’s Oh so not easy,  but fun to try.

Wishing you all a wonderful week-end !

Jocelyne

 

 

52 comments on “A touch of Summer in the heart of Winter

  1. Anne Jutras says:

    Bonjour Jocelyne, tes images sont toujours un délice à regarder! On souhaiterait voir arrivé le printemps la semaine prochaine. hihi! Faut s’armer de patience, ce n’est pas demain la veille.😉

    C’est super de t’inspirer d’autres photographes, ceux que tu nous présente ont un style bien particulier. J’aime le résultat final de ton image.

    Profite bien de l’hiver et à bientôt! xx

    • Jocelyne says:

      Merci beaucoup Anne🙂 Le travail d’autres photographes est toujours une source d’inspiration et tu en fais certainement partie. Tu sais d’ailleurs combien j’aime tes photos !
      Je ne suis pas encore prête pour le printemps, j’aime tellement l’hiver et oui, j’en profite pleinement🙂
      À bientôt Anne et passe une excellente semaine🙂 xx

  2. Jeff Sinon says:

    Wow, these are all quite lovely. Great use of light, composition and depth of field.

  3. Pat says:

    All in summer delicacy and fragrance !!
    good Sunday

  4. Jenna says:

    Jocelyne, your photos always are so uplifting and serene. I know I’ve said it before, but I always find them to be romantic. They’d make great cover art for novels. Great photos!

    • Jocelyne says:

      That’s one of the reasons I love flowers so much, they make us feel so calm and serene and that’s what I’m trying to convey when I create images with them. And, of course, also with this romantic touch that I love🙂 I’m so glad you like them. Cover art for novels, what a great idea !
      Thank you so much Jenna, it’s always a pleasure to read your comments🙂

  5. Lisa Gordon says:

    How thrilled I was to see you pop up in my reader, Jocelyne!!
    These photographs are truly so very beautiful.

    I hope you are doing well, and I wish you a most wonderful week, my friend. xo.

    • Jocelyne says:

      Hi Lisa ! I’m so glad to hear from you🙂
      I hope you’re doing well too and that you have a little time to take pictures. I’m looking forward to your next post 🙂 Thank you so much for the wonderful comment ! A wonderful week to you too dear Lisa xo

  6. Lyle Krahn says:

    Chasing creativity can be such a thrill. I’m glad to hear and see you are in full flight!

  7. Beautiful work as always🙂

  8. JimR says:

    Beautiful tranquil images Jocelyne. Natural light, I believe, is always best.

    • Jocelyne says:

      I agree Jim, natural light produces wonderful results and these photos were all taken under natural light. Thank you very much, your comments are always appreciated.

  9. Beautiful photographs. Your still life images are a pleasure to the eyes, Jocelyne!

  10. I think your last photo would look better with less yellow saturation

    • Jocelyne says:

      I agree Jeff, thanks for telling me🙂 My editing skills have improved over the years, I’ll lower the yellow saturation, it’ll look much better. Thank you ! 🙂

  11. Dear Jocelyne, Thank you for appearing like an angel at my blog and leaving me a lovely note. I am delighted to meet you here again in this ether-sphere. Your photographs become more and more beautiful with each successive year. You have such a refined eye for light and form, it is as if you make spirit visible. Hugs and many blessings to you from here, — Vivian

    • Jocelyne says:

      What a beautiful comment Vivian, I am touched. Still life photography is, for me, a work of love. I try to capture a sense of quiet and contemplation of the beauty all around us. I think each image conveys a different emotion, some will reach deeper within and will affect how we see the photo. I’m so glad you think I’m getting better at it, thank you so much🙂
      Hugs to you and I wish you a beautiful week🙂

  12. Sheila says:

    Those are so beautiful and delicate. I love how they look like glass. Thank you for your touch of spring!

  13. I would say based on your images that you don’t need to take Kim Klassen’s course. These are all gorgeous!

  14. Jocelyne says:

    I’m glad you told me this Elizabeth. I don’t think she mentioned the level of this course, thanks for telling me. Thank you so much for the beautiful comment !🙂

  15. Anyluckypenny says:

    I love flowers in mason jars! It looks so pretty I bought a mason jar from Micahel’s a few months back and I still need to find a pretty flower to put in it. I think you inspired me to use an iris lavender flower :)!!! Stunning photography🙂 I always love the lighting that you use in your pictures!

    • Jocelyne says:

      I love them too in mason jars Adri, it’s nothing elaborate but it’s vintage and just so beautiful !
      I’m glad I inspired you to find a flower, an iris will look wonderful in that jar. Thank you so much for the beautiful comment, it’s always a joy to see you here.
      Have a beautiful Sunday !🙂

  16. Ana J. says:

    Such delicate shots, such pretty arrangements. Thanks for making my morning all pink and pretty!

  17. Magnifique photo que celle avec les roses dans le vase blanc… Bon week-end ! Biz

  18. Wonderful Jocelyne and a joy to be reminded of the colours of spring and summer to come over the next few months. I do hope you are not having too much awful weather at the moment. Stay safe….best wishes, James

    • Jocelyne says:

      Hi James, I’m sorry for the late response. Thank you so much for you visit and comment.
      We have a very cold winter this year and it has not said it’s last word yet, but I really enjoy it and I’m looking forward for a few more weeks of cold and snow🙂
      Have a beautiful day !

  19. tomwhelan says:

    Beautiful flower photographs in lovely light – are those old roses? A welcome sight to me, with all the snow on the ground here in Massachusetts.

    • Jocelyne says:

      Thanks a lot Tom ! Those are not roses, they are peonies and they are simply gorgeous.
      We also have snow here but I can definitely smell Spring is in the air🙂

  20. John Doddato says:

    Jocelyne,
    I enjoy your new set of images. The light is soft and gives a velvet feel to the flowers. Your control of the light and keeping the color soft enhances the beauty of subject. It seems that the trend with digital photography is to crank up the color to an unrealistic level to make a make a strong statement of a weak subject. You have done the opposite and have taken a very simple subject and created a dreamy, quiet mood with the way you chose to handle the light and the processing of the image. Nice work. John Doddato

    • Jocelyne says:

      Thank you so much for a great comment John. I like my flower images to be soft and not over processed or with a strong saturation. I think it’s a question of taste. It reminds me of HDR images where some are overly processed and I think meant to be more artistic images. Those unrealistic colour levels falls into this category I think.
      Thanks again John and have a nice week🙂

  21. Jocelyn,
    It was such a lovely surprise seeing your beautiful photos again. Thank you for sharing your talent. Sometimes we need a little break from posting which allows us to regroup . Seeing your amazing still shots has lit up my day and reminded me that Spring really must be just around the corner. Tulips…lilacs….trilliums…iris…and oh so many more!

    • Jocelyne says:

      Hi Jane🙂
      I was really glad to hear that these photos has lit up your day, there’s nothing like flowers to brighten our days. I don’t post as often as I used to but it’s always a joy when I do and your beautiful comment has certainly lit up my day too !
      There’s still a lot of snow here in Quebec, Spring is a bit late this year but the days are warmer now and the snow is slowly melting, and yes, I can’t wait to see all the beautiful Spring flowers ! A happy Spring to you Jane🙂

  22. These images are delightful. I find it hard to create new images of flowers, but you certainly have in this series. My favourite is the first one.

  23. Anonymous says:

    J’aime tout….:)

  24. photocris says:

    que de romantisme ! j’adore ! celle du livre avec la fleur est remarquable !

I'm always happy to read your comments :) Vos commentaires me font toujours plaisir :)

