The end of a cold winter

“I wonder if the snow loves the trees and fields that it kisses them so gently ?  And then it covers them up snug, you know, with a white quilt, and perhaps it says “go to sleep darlings, till the summer comes again ”  Lewis Carroll.

This winter was very cold.  Most days were -20°C and I didn’t go out much on photographic excursions.  Now Spring is at our doors and before concentrating on flower photography and verdant landscapes I’d like to share these two images I took last December, a few days before Christmas.

It was a peaceful end of afternoon.  The only sounds were coming from my snowshoes sinking in the snow and, occasionally, from a little chickadee’s distinct whistle.  I could hear, way up above me, tree branches cracking in the wind.  I would stop, looking in the distance, observing, listening.  Silence, solitude, peace…

IMGP6139 Sous-exposée.  Essayer dans Camera raw de corriger 2 split toning red.72 ppi 4

Enchantment and gratitude to witness this beautiful end of afternoon.  You can see this photo with a better image quality here.  Scroll down if you’re interested to read a Behind The Lens story I wrote.

IMGP 6144 choisi Blog

We are now at the first days of Spring and it’s always with a bit of regret that I see the end of winter coming.  But at the first notes of the song sparrow I know I’ll be ready for Spring.

A beautiful weekend to all of you !

 

 

37 comments on “The end of a cold winter

  1. Jane Lurie says:

    Love the snow patterns on the trees, Jocelyne.

  2. Anne Jutras says:

    Bonjour Jocelyne,
    Un enchantement tes images! On regrette presque de voir partir l’hiver, surtout qu’il a fait si froid, que nous sommes sortie rarement. Tes images font rêver, et on ne peut qu’avoir hâte que le printemps se pointe de bout du nez. Reste à savoir quand…😉
    Bon week-end

    • Jocelyne says:

      Merci beaucoup Anne, ça me fait très plaisir !
      C’est terrible, je ne suis sortie faire de la photo que seulement 3 fois cet hiver alors je n,avais pas grand’chose à partager ici. Le printemps est vraiment tardif cette année, ça commence tout juste à fondre ici. Je suis prête pour les fleurs, la chaleur et les photos d’étés🙂
      Bon week-end à toi aussi🙂

  3. Lovely scenes Jocelyne🙂 I have always found snow on evergreens to be very beautiful and at the same time extremely challenging to create a photo that conveys that beauty. You’ve obviously succeeded with your pretty images🙂 The first one makes me feel as if there is a majestic mountain in the background with snow and cloud covered peaks – very magical. The second displays the snow so nicely on the trees and the path looks inviting. I always enjoy your work Jocelyne🙂

    • Jocelyne says:

      What a beautiful comment Jeff, thank you so much !
      You just gave me an idea with the first photo when you said you felt as if there is a majestic mountain in the background. I think I’ll try to do a composite with this image and add a mountain !
      It means a lot that you enjoy my work, thank you ! 🙂

  4. Lyle Krahn says:

    Carroll got it right and you showed why. Beautiful.

  5. Gloups, un bug ! J’ai voulu poster avec l’adresse de mon blog habituel et on m’a imposé mon compte WordPress alors mon commentaire : envolé !!!!!!! Je venais juste te féliciter pour tes beaux clichés. Doux printemps ! Biz Evelyne

    • Jocelyne says:

      Ça m’est déjà arrivé Evelyne et c’est frustrant ! Merci beaucoup pour ton beau commentaire qui me fait très plaisir et bon printemps à toi aussi ! Biz🙂

  6. I love both photographs. They bring forth the tranquility and peaceful moments of the winter. My favourite is the first one.

  7. 1cruzdelsur says:

    “I wonder if the snow loves the trees and fields that it kisses them so gently ?
    Very good your question and seeds who love sunshine to start birth and thus must grow each day, surely your heart also began to beat faster in this new spring and you will fill your photos by our eyes magical colors. I congratulate you for your post, letters and photographs of a hard winter…
    Carlos

    • Jocelyne says:

      I like the analogy you made with the snow and the seeds. These seeds are still dormant under the snow but in a week or two I should start seeing the first signs of nature’s rebirth and yes I’ll be so happy to see Spring return ! I’m glad you liked this post, thank you so much for your words Carlos🙂

  8. Beautiful photographs, Jocelyne!

  9. Jenna says:

    These are wonderful photos, Jocelyne! They capture that still silence of winter so well. The first one is especially beautiful. Happy Spring!🙂

    • Jocelyne says:

      Is it Spring ? We still have almost as much snow as in these photos ! 🙂 But I don’t mind, I love Winter🙂 I’m really glad you like these photos Jenna, thank you so much.
      Happy Spring to you too !

  10. Bonjour ma belle amie, Your photography elevates these beautiful snow-covered evergreens to classic winter scenes. I would love to see these pictures on holiday cards. They are moody and mystical and could even inspire me to venture out into the cold, although I am not as stalwart as you in that weather. Happy spring, Jocelyne, I’m looking forward to your photographic interpretation of this blessed new season. 🙂

  11. Jocelyne says:

    Hi Vivian, it’s great to hear from you !
    It’s so great to know these pictures could possibly make you want to venture out in the cold. It happens sometimes when an image will inspire us to create or try something new and I’m glad to know these beautiful evergreens in winter could tempt you to maybe have some snowy adventures someday🙂 The holiday cards is a really good idea, I might try that this year.
    Thank you so much for your comment Vivian and I can’t wait to photograph this beautiful new Spring and the verdant landscapes of Beauce later this Summer.
    A happy Spring to you too ! 🙂

  12. tomwhelan says:

    Beautiful images – love the skies. I got out this winter – the cold didn’t stop me – but later on the depth of the snow did.

    • Jocelyne says:

      Thank you very much Tom ! You’re better than me if the cold didn’t stop you. It was so cold this winter with -20°C to -25°C so often that I only went twice to take pictures. Now I’m not sure if I’ll remember how my camera works🙂
      Happy Spring !

  13. Lisa Gordon says:

    I somehow missed this post, Jocelyne. 😦
    Your beautiful images make the cold look just perfect.
    We had a really tough winter, here in NY. Historic cold, and for so long too.
    Finally some of the spring flowers are beginning to bloom, but it is still very chilly here, especially in the mornings.

    I hope that you are enjoying the beginning of a beautiful spring, sweet friend. xo.

    • Jocelyne says:

      Thank you very much Lisa and no worries about the post🙂
      This winter was very cold and spring is too. We finally had our first warm day today, a really
      beautiful spring day, it was about time !
      Thanks for visiting Lisa, I know you’re very busy these days, it’s much appreciated.
      Have a beautiful week dear friend🙂 xo

  14. Un petit passage sur ton blog juste pour te souhaiter un joli mois de mai. Biz Evelyne

  15. It is a new way to see this matter. It is interesting as well. http://www.bellofpeace.org

  16. Jeff Sinon says:

    Beautiful, just beautiful. I like the footprints leading into the trees in the first one, well done.

  17. Beautiful photos!! I live in Indonesia and it never snows here😦

I'm always happy to read your comments :) Vos commentaires me font toujours plaisir :)

