On a bike ride

I’m getting ready to go on my first bike ride of the summer.  I’m not taking my camera, there’s something else I want to bring.  I hope I’ll see my four-legged friends, I didn’t see them all winter as I only take this road in summer and fall.  It’s a beautiful early evening, so peaceful on this rural back road as I’m going up the hill.  I see them farther in the field.   Every time I get there I stop to talk to them and each time they come to meet me.  I always wonder if they recognize me, especially after the long winter months without seeing me.  I open my backpack, I have something in there they really like, some pieces of apples and carrots.  I don’t give them too many, just a few.  I hang around for a little while, I tell them how beautiful and graceful they are.  It’s time to go now,  it’s getting darker.   I tell them I’ll be back soon and wave at them as I go down the hill.

Horses on a field at sunset

Two other horses I used to see on another bike ride.  I don’t see them anymore.  I wonder what happened to them.

Horses on a field

A nice encounter at Frampton Brasse microbrewery

Horse Frampton Beauce

I hope you are all doing well and are having a wonderful time this summer.  Until now it’s been rather cold here but I know warmer days are coming and I’m looking forward to them.

Happy week dear friends !

24 comments on “On a bike ride

  1. Céline says:

    Belles photos ! J’aime moi aussi beaucoup les chevaux🙂
    Bonne semaine !

  2. montucky says:

    Your kindness made their day!

  3. Beautifully composed photographs, especially the last one

  4. Ptck says:

    Very beautiful light on the first and great doucieur for the second – the horse is a great source of inspiration

  5. 1cruzdelsur says:

    Nice shot and beautiful story about your ride in the early summer in the north. I come here as a polar winter wave coming from Antarctica, now I’m writing with my wood burning stove, my dogs are playing outside the house but entered in a while to eat. Hope to see more stories of my friend from the north …
    Carlos😉

    • Jocelyne says:

      Thank you so much Carlos, that sounds like a quiet and pleasant winter day. I’m happy you like my stories and would like to see more. I’d like to post more often but it’s always the same problem, not enough time, it goes so quickly !
      Happy day to you Carlos🙂

  6. Anne Jutras says:

    Bonjour Jocelyne,
    Superbes images!Il se dégage une atmosphère champêtre qui nous séduit dès le premier coup d’oeil. La douceur de la lumière est magnifique!

    Est-ce que les pommes et les carottes les ont attiré? Nous en avions apporté, moi et mon chum, aux chevaux qui broutaient tout près de chez nous, mais au début, rien ne semblait les attirer, il a fallu lancer quelques quartiers de pomme dans leur direction pour piquer leur curiosité. LOL!

    Bonne semaine!😉

    • Jocelyne says:

      Désolée pour le délai de ma réponse Anne et merci beaucoup, ça me fait grand plaisir !
      À chaque fois que j’ai apporté des carottes et des pommes aux différents chevaux ça a toujours fonctionné, peut être que les tiens étaient juste plus timides. Ce qui marche à coup sûr et que j’ai pu constater à plusieurs reprises c’est d’emmener un chien avec toi, ça les attirent toujours !
      Bonne semaine à toi aussi avec un peu plus de chaleur j’espère…🙂

  7. Jenna says:

    Horses make such wonderful friends. It makes me wish I had one of my own. Your photos are so lovely. That first photo is especially poignant. Excellent shots! Happy summer to you!🙂

    • Jocelyne says:

      Hi Jenna🙂 Maybe I won’t have a horse of my own but there are many all around me so I’m happy with that. So glad you like the first photo, the light that evening was beautiful and the horses were friendly as usual. I’m glad I could take a beautiful photo of them.
      Thank you so much for your kind words, it’s always appreciated.
      Have a nice day tomorrow and a great 4th of July weekend !

  8. Merci pour ce partage… Bel été à toi, plein de douces promenades. Ici, dans le Nord de la France, la canicule est annoncée pour cette semaine. Biz

    • Jocelyne says:

      Merci beaucoup Evelyne ! Un très bel été à toi aussi, avec de la chaleur oui, mais pas trop !
      On annonce assez chaud ici aussi cette semaine, on va essayer d’en profiter dans la piscine🙂
      Bonne semaine ! Biz

  9. So so wonderful Jocelyne.

  10. Lyle Krahn says:

    That first photo looks like such a peaceful scene.

  11. tomwhelan says:

    You have a way with horse images, Jocelyne – they are all lovely, but especially the warm tones in the first.

  12. Lisa Gordon says:

    Oh, Jocelyne, they are just beautiful, and how wonderful that they come to greet you.
    They are such peaceful animals, and I always find that being around them makes me feel very peaceful too.

    I hope you are enjoying a wonderful summer, my friend. xo.

    • Jocelyne says:

      I feel the same Lisa, they are very peaceful and loving animals. I haven’t photographed some lately, I hope I can go soon and come back home with more beautiful images.
      Summer is beautiful this year, I hope you’re enjoying it too🙂
      Have a great week dear friend🙂 xo

I'm always happy to read your comments :) Vos commentaires me font toujours plaisir :)

